Penny F. (mrsfox) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1431
Review Date: 7/13/2014


This was a fun read but not necessarily an easy read. This was not a book I could read in a day. Enjoyable though.


The Day the Falls Stood Still
The Day the Falls Stood Still
Author: Cathy Marie Buchanan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I finished it in 2 days. I could hardly put it down. I loved this book. I was iffy about the ending which is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I would highly recommend this book. It is kind of based off a real person which makes it that much more interesting I think.


Dorie: The Girl Nobody Loved
Dorie: The Girl Nobody Loved
Author: Erwin W. Lutzer, Doris VanStone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Proof that God can and will use anyone for His glory.


Dreamland
Dreamland
Author: Sarah Dessen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Good enough to read in a day but nothing life altering about it.


Embraced by the Light
Embraced by the Light
Author: Betty J. Eadie, Curtis Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I hated this book. It felt like lies. It was horrible to read.


Fat Girl : A True Story
Fat Girl : A True Story
Author: Judith Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Difficult to finish this book. Not enjoyable.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1383
Review Date: 7/13/2014


The characters were so life like. The style of writing made it very easy to finish this book in less than a day. Elizabeth Gilbert's review of the book was spot on when she called the novel smart and delightful and when she commented about forgetting (the characters) weren't (her) actual friends and neighbors. Loved this book!!!!


Guilty Pleasures (Harlequin Blaze, No 59)
Guilty Pleasures (Harlequin Blaze, No 59)
Author: Cathy Yardley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/13/2014


For a book meant to help you turn your mind off and not think, it was good. Nothing fabulous about it but it wasn't terrible.


I Never Promised You a Rose Garden
I Never Promised You a Rose Garden
Author: Joanne Greenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I read this book because it was one of my sisters favorites and she died just over a month ago. I read the entire book in one day. It was a great book. I disliked when one person came into the book. I liked how they explained the main characters feelings on a visit home. The book made me think though - do people enjoy books about being crazy out of curiosity or because we can empathize?


Living with PCOS: Polycystic Ovary Syndrome
Living with PCOS: Polycystic Ovary Syndrome
Author: Angela Boss, Evelina Weidman Sterling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Helpful and a quick read.


The Long Walk
The Long Walk
Author: Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I was really able to become friends with the characters and forget I was reading a book and that I didn't know the people. I cried. I loved this book!


Manic: A Memoir
Manic: A Memoir
Author: Terri Cheney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Hard to get into. I hate starting a book and not finishing it so this is just paused for now and probably for a long time.


Mountains of Spices
Mountains of Spices
Author: Hannah Hurnard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/13/2014


One of her other books is one of my all time favorite books so going into this book with that in my mind, this turned out to be disappointing.


Pets' Letters to God
Pets' Letters to God
Author: Mark Bricklin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Cute for the animal lovers... my cat loving daughter loved this.


Pictures of You
Pictures of You
Author: Caroline Leavitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I didn't care for the ending. I didn't care for the fathers behaviors. I didn't like that I found several mistakes in the book. I think it was an odd book with potential that it never reached. I wouldn't recommend it.


Rebecca
Rebecca
Author: Daphne Du Maurier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I loved this book! I'd recommended it to anyone and would read it again if I didn't have so many other books to read.


Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Author: Rachel Simon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I absolutely loved this book!!!! I'd read it again in a heartbeat!


The Ruins
The Ruins
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 364
Review Date: 7/13/2014


A very frightening read... ideas like this are scarier to me than monsters. Enjoyable book.


Standing Still
Standing Still
Author: Kelly Simmons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/13/2014


I finished this book in one sitting... it was good. There were a few things that were not fabulous but for the most part this was a really good book.


The Story of Beautiful Girl
The Story of Beautiful Girl
Author: Rachel Simon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Finished this book awhile ago and forgot to review it but I just realized who it was written by. I loved her book, Riding the bus with my sister. I also very much loved this book. It was not at all what I was expecting when I started but it ended up being so much more than I had hoped for.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: