Brendan M. (crookedbird) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Angelwalk Trilogy/Angelwalk/Fallen Angel/Stedfast
The Angelwalk Trilogy/Angelwalk/Fallen Angel/Stedfast
Author: Roger Elwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/1/2008


An interesting trilogy from the point of view of angels.


The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This is a great series for all ages. Quick light reads that are quite entertaining.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This is a great series for all ages. Quick light reads that are quite entertaining.


Better Than Life (Red Dwarf, Bk 2)
Better Than Life (Red Dwarf, Bk 2)
Author: Grant Naylor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/2/2008


This was a fairly quick read and a lot of the material is the same as the series. I was dissapointed with this book though because they changed things from the series. I think it could have been written better to add to the series rather than attempt to make them different.


Children of the Mind (Ender Wiggins)
Children of the Mind (Ender Wiggins)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/30/2009


Nice conclusion to the saga. Thought provoking, but felt there was too much going on.


The Children's Room: Step-By-Step Projects for the Woodworker (Traditional Woodworking Series)
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This has some really cool projects for people interested in making things for their children. I am just starting to get into woodwork and am looking forward to trying some of the projects in this book.


The Complete Encyclopedia of Pistols & Revolvers
Review Date: 8/1/2008


A great coffee table book.


Dune
Dune
Author: Frank Herbert
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This was much better than the movie...most books are of course. I really enjoyed listening to this book.


Ender's Game (Ender, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Ender's games is a must read. It is a book full of material that makes you think. I have also found that as I re-read it as I mature I glean more out of it. Card is a great author who intellectually entertains.


The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl, Bk 3)
The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl, Bk 3)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great series for all ages. Quick light reads that are quite entertaining.


First Meetings : In the Enderverse (Enders, 3)
First Meetings : In the Enderverse (Enders, 3)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This collection of short stories is a must read for those who enjoyed the Ender books or for those looking to start reading them. The first two stories take place before Enders game and give a great background to Enders parents. The Enders game short story I didn't think much of because I had already read the book...but for those who haven't read it yet it is great. It will make you want to read the full version. I highly recommend this book.


First Strike (HALO, Bk 3)
First Strike (HALO, Bk 3)
Author: Eric Nylund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 8/1/2008


The Halo books are great for those interested in the Halo story. They fill in the gaps and I found myself wanting more.


The Flood (HALO, Bk 2)
The Flood (HALO, Bk 2)
Author: William C. Dietz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The Halo books are great for those interested in the Halo story. They fill in the gaps and I found myself wanting more.


Foundation (Foundation Series, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette)
Foundation (Foundation Series, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette)
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This is a book that was good to listen to rather than read. I think I would have had trouble with it. An interesting story, but I found it dry.


Ghosts of Onyx (Halo, Bk 4)
Ghosts of Onyx (Halo, Bk 4)
Author: Eric Nylund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/1/2008


The Halo books are great for those interested in the Halo story. They fill in the gaps and I found myself wanting more.


Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers (Red Dwarf, Bk 1)
Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers (Red Dwarf, Bk 1)
Author: Grant Naylor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fairly quick read and a lot of the material is the same as the series. I was dissapointed with this book though because they changed things from the series. I think it could have been written better to add to the series rather than attempt to make them different.


The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl, Bk 5)
The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl, Bk 5)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This is a great series for all ages. Quick light reads that are quite entertaining.


Love & Respect (Workbook)
Love & Respect (Workbook)
Author: Emerson Eggerichs, Fritz Ridenour
Book Type: Workbook
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great book that is very biblically based. It works too. My wife and I have read this book several times and given several copies away to friends. Anyone looking to improve their communication with their spouse would do good to read this.


Love for a Lifetime: Building a Marriage That Will Go the Distance (Dobson, Dr. James)
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This book was worth the read, and my wife and I read it together. However it is a one time read in my opinion.


Pyramids
Pyramids
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/2/2009


This was a quick, entertaining read. I enjoy the books with the Night Watch in them more however. Worth reading though.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: