Laura R. (isitfriday) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 171 - Page:
20 Times a Lady
20 Times a Lady
Author: Karyn Bosnak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/19/2008


I found this book very cute. it was one that i was able to fly through, and i laughed a lot, it was light, and adorable. Yes, there are typos, and little things you will see, but they do not take away from the cute story.


21: Bringing Down the House - Movie Tie-In: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions
Review Date: 7/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book a lot, having been to vegas and atlantic city many times, this book shows a side of the casinos that i would never have been privy to. I am looking forward to seeing the movie now!


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: Andrew Gross, James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 11/3/2011


I like this series, this was a good mystery, and a very quick read, I like how the chapters were so quick. Looking forward to number 3!


After the Party: A Novel
After the Party: A Novel
Author: Lisa Jewell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/1/2012


loved Ralph's party and this was a welcome return to the characters and the story of Ralph and Jem. loved it. sad when it was over!


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 1/10/2010


very cute, nice story, good characters, fun read that kept me interested.


An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
Author: Ann Vanderhoof
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/23/2012


i liked this book! it made me want to take off from the rat race and live on a boat for a few years! loved the stories and the recepies too. great book.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


i loved this story, much more than the follow up 'TIS. This story stays with you and brings his childhood to life. well written, and very moving.


Apologize, Apologize!
Apologize, Apologize!
Author: Elizabeth Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/6/2010


I enjoyed this book. the characters were so colorfull and the story was both entertaining and heartbreaking yet full of promise for the future. Elizabeth Kelly's style is very matte of fact, never judging the character's motivations, just telling it like it is. i Liked the book a lot and was sad when it was over!


The Art of Fielding
The Art of Fielding
Author: Chad Harbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/22/2012


I really loved this book. Great story, I was sad when it was over. I would love to see this turned into a movie.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 1/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the point of view of the dog Enzo that was creative and interesting, being a dog person. The race car stuff was interesting too, as it was a world i am not familiar with and found it very cool. The family things were okay, however I would have much preferred to have more of the dog's adventures and less of the 'twins'. I am glad i read it, as it will stay with me, as I look at my dog, I will wonder if he is thinking and would like to say.


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 8/16/2009


it was cute, not the best book ever, not the worst, fun light reading, no real story just a bunch of short ones.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 974
Review Date: 8/3/2008


i liked this book a lot, it was a good story, and one that i could relate to, as my husband and i both made the decision not to have children, so a lot of this story hits very close to home for me. I did like something borrowed and something blue more, but this book is still a great read.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I enjoy Jane Green, however i found this book to be slow moving and a little boring. not one of my favorites, a pleasant read but not a MUST read in my opinion.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/9/2014


I loved the characters and the story I was sad when I got to the end of the book!


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 518
Review Date: 3/30/2008


I love the way Barbara Kinsgslover writes, it is like poetry, so vivid and beautiful, this was the first book of hers that i have read, and i am looking forward to more. i love the way she brings a scene to life - you can picture it all in your mind, even the smells. Very talented writer.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 5/8/2010


i loved this book it was fast moving, fun and the characters were great. Jennifer Weiner is a fantastic author that writes about real women and real issues but has a sense of humor. this book was adorable, and i loved it!


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 5/22/2012


I liked the book, it was pretty predictable, but for cheesy chick lit it was good. a very fast read, and one that made me think about my sisters.


The Book of Joe
The Book of Joe
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 8/13/2012


Another great book by J Tropper, i just love his writing, i feel like i get a glimpse into the male mind, his characters really are great, damaged and he speaks about dysfunctional families and relationships in a great way. his humor allows him to discuss tough subjects in a way that makes you feel deeply for the characters. a great read.


Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 4


A quick read - but very interesting and entertaining. I found Steve Martin to be a very smart man, and more human than i had expected from such a huge star. It gave me a greater appreciation of his talents, and i was not a huge fan of his, prior to reading this book. both my husband and i enjoyed reading about his growing up in OC and his rise to comedy fame.


Bouncing back after dropping the ball
Bouncing back after dropping the ball
Author: Carla L. Garrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/30/2015


Not having gone through anything like what the author had, I found it amazing how well she coped with such a bad situation.


1 to 20 of 171 - Page: