Marcy R. (justgodoit) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
365 Zen : Daily Readings
365 Zen : Daily Readings
Author: Jean Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/2/2007


An interesting read while sitting a few minutes at a time.


The Academy
The Academy
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Bentley Little is always good for a read that grabs your attention and won't let you go. Great "beach read", or terrific for a snowed -in weekend. But don't be alone. These kids are deadly.


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 12/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have added this author to my must read list. From the beginning he jump starts the adventure, and keeps the reader rockin' and rollin' through to the end. Some Indiana Jones, a little sci-fi, just a bit of romance, stuff blowing up and gunfire, with history, and eco. topics thrown in. Yee Haw! I've enjoyed 2 novels so far, and have noticed similar plot tricks in both. That will not stop me from reading anything else he writes.


Berserk
Berserk
Author: Tim Lebbon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 12/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Yikes! Scared me...but that was what I was looking for. Flet like I was watching a Quinten Tarrentino movie.


Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 8)
Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 8)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Pretty sexy stuff at times, beware.


Bloody River Blues (John Pellam, Bk 2)
Review Date: 4/2/2007


More great Deaver reading. This one moves quickly and holds your attention.


Bobby Gold
Bobby Gold
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/22/2009


Quick, mafia style read oozing with Bourdain's characteristic voice. Good stuff. Quick read.


The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
Author: James Reese
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 12/19/2007


Good read. Somtimes drags.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1035
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


We all know how this era of history ends. A sweet book with heart and soul. Hard to start, death's introduction take a couple of pages to digest. Then you're attached to these characters and thier place in fictional history. This book has a permanent place on my top ten list.

If you enjoy this book, once you've recovered your emotions, rent "the kid in the striped pajamas".


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1945
Review Date: 2/24/2011


Not sure why this book is so "classic". I couldn't stand the kid, or the way this story is written. As valuable as the now more "politically correct" MARK TWAIN.

Skip it.


City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 12/19/2007


Reads like a Quinten Tarentionn (spelling?) movie. Gory, exciting.


Coastliners
Coastliners
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 11/9/2009


I dearly love the books and stories that flow from this author. However, this one sorely disappointed me. I gave it up after 100 pages. Tended to drag and jump around too much. Might try it again later.


The Cowboy and the Vampire: A Very Unusual Romance
The Cowboy and the Vampire: A Very Unusual Romance
Author: Clark Hays, Kathleen McFall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Quick, fun reading.


Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 1/3/2007


Love this lady's writiting when I'm in need of an entertaining book that takes me to my favorite state-Colorado, and deals with some of my favorite things-mysteries, and food.


Everville
Everville
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Barker challenges the readers idea of reality. This one is worth the read with or without the 1st book.


The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 719
Review Date: 12/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Started reading these on the recomendation of one of my daughters. Enjoyed it, but keeping up with all the characters took more energy out of my reading experience than I cared to devote. Did enjoy seeing literature from someone else's perspective!


First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1705
Review Date: 12/19/2007


I want more of this series. Good characters, nice polt, quick entertaining read.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1897
Review Date: 2/24/2011


Quick enjoyable read without much depth. However, the characters become folks you want to care about.


From Beginning to End: : The Rituals of Our Lives
From Beginning to End: : The Rituals of Our Lives
Author: Robert Fulghum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Enjoy the simple humanity in these short chapters.


Heart-Shaped Box
Heart-Shaped Box
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 9/22/2009


Joe Hill is a writing force. Able to tell a gripper story without being as wordy as his famous father (Stephen King), This guy rocks! Scary, unexpected turns, nastyness, and can't put the book down until your starving and have to pee so bad you'll pop fiction.


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: