Angie A. (sh0rtstak) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 90 - Page:
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 441
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


My first taste of Patterson and I wasn't disappointed. I loved that it has a strong female character with believable weaknesses that the outside world doesn't see. Superb suspense/mystery with a side of heartwarming romance. I've already ordered the rest of the series!


23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting read. Not what I expected hell to be described as.


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 7/18/2009


Obviously second in the series but no second class mystery/suspense here! This one gets more into Lindsay's background but also hits home with the other members of the murder club. It was a nice change of pace with plenty of action. With it being written by a man but such a great female lead, I'm truly amazed & hooked! Can't wait to read the next in the series!!


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good read. Being a paramedic, I especially enjoyed certain parts. The only flaw was alot of repetition.


Any Minute
Any Minute
Author: Deborah Bedford, Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/4/2010


After reading the books description, I had high hopes. This book was just okay. One would think after a near death experience and truly wanting to change the course of your life, that you would make some significant changes. I'm not sure the main character did that. The ending was rather disappointing. The whole reason she went off the bridge in the first place was a little unrealistic. This is one of those books that does make you think about your life afterwards but still comes up short with any substance as a novel.


Before I Die
Before I Die
Author: Jenny Downham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/6/2012
Helpful Score: 3


After seeing such high reviews for this book I had high hopes. After reading it, I'm left wondering why people give it such high ratings. I work in the medical field and I have seen many different reactions from people who know they don't have long to live. The main character in this book, Tess, reacts in a way that is rather appalling to me. This book reminded me of "A Walk To Remember". Both have a teen girl dying, young love, and things to do before it's time to check out. How they deal with it is where the similarities end.
Tess decides to make a list of things she wants to do before she dies. Forgive me if I think having sex with a complete stranger, doing drugs, stealing a car, and shoplifting are things most people wouldn't put as a high priority. She's also cranky with her father who gave up his life to be there for her, her younger brother, and her best friend. While I can't say for sure how I or even my own teenage daughter would react when faced with the reality..I can pray we'd want to go out with a little more grace.
I know some people may argue and it's not my intention to offend anyone, I just think this book was less than even good. While I should have felt sorry for the main character, I felt more sorry for the people in her life she hurt along the way.
As a side note - This is written in British dialogue.


Body Brokers : Inside America's Underground Trade in Human Remains
Body Brokers : Inside America's Underground Trade in Human Remains
Author: Annie Cheney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Being in the medical field, the book had my interest piqued. The book started off decent but after a few chapters it fizzled out and got downright boring. Who cares about specific names in the past and their role in the underground remains department? Get to the good stuff! I felt this book repeated itself so many times, it could have been half its size and lost no information. This is definitely an interesting topic, too bad the author couldn't deliver without boring a reader to "tears". (and you thought I was going to say death) *grin*


Bone by Bone
Bone by Bone
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/17/2009
Helpful Score: 5


LOVED this book! Was a nice breath of fresh air after some disappointing "thrillers". This had all the elements of mystery, suspense, thrills, whodunnit, tragedy, some romance (tho twisted at best). This one lost no momentum from the first page to the very last and definitely keeps you guessing. Just when you think you know who did it, think again. Was my first by this author but won't be the last!


The Brave
The Brave
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I had read several reviews on Amazon before starting this book and wasn't sure what to expect; people either loved or hated it. I was in the middle. The story does go back and forth each chapter to a different time frame in the characters lives so you do have to keep up.

It starts out with Tommy who's 13 and visiting his mom for the last time before she goes to the gas chamber. The rest of the book weaves the lives of Tommy, his parents, his sister, and goes between the U.S. and England. The biggest help while reading it is to remember: Tommy = childhood & Tom = adult.

I have to agree with past reviews that the title of this book really has nothing to do with the book itself. The story is good with a few shocks but overall I just felt a little let down by the time it ended. I feel I can't say too much without giving much of the plot away. Was it worth the read? Yeah. Would I read it again? No.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3514
Review Date: 7/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this series. I will say the last book left me a little disappointed in some areas, tho it still finished the saga quite well. I read all 4 books in 4 days and struggled to find another book that could hold my interest even 1/2 as well.


Breakneck (Kitt Lundgren, Bk 2)
Breakneck (Kitt Lundgren, Bk 2)
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/26/2009


My first book from this author but won't be the last! Non-stop action from the first chapter. A great whodunnit with several twists & turns.


Breathless
Breathless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 8/4/2010
Helpful Score: 6


Ok, I am a Koontz fan but I'm beginning to lose faith in his recent works. This book was a big waste of time! There are 72 short chapters. Each chapter jumps back and forth between several different stories/characters. Some of the stories have NO relevance when it comes to the end of the book. It's like a hodgepodge of short stories that make you wonder, "what the heck?!" when you get to the end. It takes 300 of the 337 pages to build up a web of characters and stories that you think are going to go somewhere and somehow intertwine, only to cram the last 30 pages to a quick ending where you're left with more questions than answers and asking what did half the book have to do with the other half. I'm glad I got this on PBS. Had I paid full price for it, I would've asked for my money back.


The Brethren
The Brethren
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 7/18/2009


This was my first book by this author and I must say I was disappointed. This story did nothing for me. Exploiting others for money by using the means it did was appalling. I found myself struggling to get thru this book and it just irritated me. I'm sure there's better writings by this author but for now i'm shelving the idea of reading anymore. This book just sucked.


Review Date: 11/22/2010


Hilarious! There are several post-its marking one liners that had me in tears. I don't know how Jen does it, but she takes an everyday narcisist attitude and makes it downright funny! I liked this book so much better than Bitter is the new Black. This one's a keeper and I look forward to reading more of her work.


The Butterfly Garden: Surviving Childhood on the Run with One of Americas Most Wanted
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It still amazes me how some parents can treat a child, especially when it's the only child...or is it? A well written story I'd recommend.


The Butterfly House
The Butterfly House
Author: Marcia Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I just didn't care for this book. The story flowed decent enough but the subject matter may leave a bad taste in your mouth. If it's any consolation, I did enjoy learning more about a butterfly life cycle... Overall this book left me more angry at the end than anything else.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This books has some great laugh out loud moments and is a fun read. I like the characters personality and I enjoyed this book much more than Remember Me?. The only thing I had to adjust to were a few terms as the book is written in Europe english vs. US english. (Like asking a person "to get on" isn't a term I'd heard before...)


Candy Apple Red (Jane Kelly, Bk 1)
Candy Apple Red (Jane Kelly, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Bush
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I don't know why anyone would say this book is comparable to Evanovich's Stephanie Plum. This book wasn't funny but rather annoying. I couldn't even get a 1/4 way thru the book before giving up. Very disappointed..


The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (Cat Who...Bk 13)
The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (Cat Who...Bk 13)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/7/2010


Ok, I read the reviews and people seemed to love these books. I have to say I was sadly disappointed. This is my first book by this author and will be my last. I foster & rescue cats so I thought I'd enjoy the series. ack. It was slow and ridiculous. I ended up skimming the last 2/3 of the book just to get to the end and see if the ending was as predictable as I thought...yep. Complete let down. I hope the next person enjoys it more than I.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1622
Review Date: 8/4/2010
Helpful Score: 3


You MUST read The Hunger Games (the 1st in the series) before you read this one. Catching Fire picks up where the first left off... or should I say where the first left the readers hanging? The 2nd book does not disappoint! Just when you, the reader, thought you knew what would happen; think again! The rollercoaster ride continues...
and oh what a ride it is!


1 to 20 of 90 - Page: