Irvina M. (isunshine) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
The Artist's Way
The Artist's Way
Author: Julia Cameron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/1/2008


The Artist Way opens up the channels of creative expression by use of various Spiritual practices. At first I thought it was very heavy on Spiritual disciplines but as I looked further ahead (and I admit, I cheated and looked ahead) I saw that the emphasis is on the end Creativity and she tells us to "Think of discipline as a battery, useful but short-lived". Julia shows us how to use the "battery" to start the vehicle of Creativity rolling. The book is set up to be used over a 12 week period, one chapter per week. It has a guide in the back for "Creative Clusters" (groups where people support each other in this artistic awakening process. There is also a table of contents, an appendix called "Trail Mix", a reading list, and an Index. This is a wonderful book set up in a very usable manner.


Astrological Tarot
Astrological Tarot
Author: Georges Muchery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is really a very basic book on astrology with some information on a tarot system (or maybe a deck) built entirely around astrology. The major portion of the book is going over the planets and their combination's in the houses of an astrological chart.


Celtic Devotional: Daily Prayers and Blessings
Celtic Devotional: Daily Prayers and Blessings
Author: Caitlin Matthews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2009


Very worth making a commitment to using this book daily, and for me that is a commitment! Following Caitlin's formula of a morning and evening devotion with attention to the Celtic cycle of the Seasons has enhanced my awareness so much. I have had difficulty with how the seasons are divided but I do believe this is authentic to the tradition. The emphasis is on the major Celtic holy days and how they color the whole season. This is a very good and valid/valuable emphasis, one which I do not naturally make.

The daily question (reflecting solar energy) work very well with a one card Tarot reading (this was my own thing, not something suggested by the book). The lunar meditations are just plain wonderful! I highly recommend this book.


Ceremonies for Change: Creating Rituals to Heal Life's Hurts
Ceremonies for Change: Creating Rituals to Heal Life's Hurts
Author: Lynda S. Paladin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/24/2008


I have used this book countless times back when my children were growing up and I did not know how to celebrate milestones in my families daily life. The book is full of ideas for simple to elaborate ceremonies, all told from a person point of view in easy reading prose. I first just read the book straight through because it made the idea of ritual and ceremony fun and approachable. Later I used it as a reference, thumbing through until I would hit an idea or two that fit what was going on for me. The only thing I feel it is lacking is an index but it has a table of contents and two appendixes and 16 Ritual Cards come with this particular ISBN.


Child Astrology: A Guide to Nurturing Your Child's Natural Gifts
Child Astrology: A Guide to Nurturing Your Child's Natural Gifts
Author: M. J. Abadie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/19/2008


I have owned this book for several years now and do not plan to let go of it quite yet, as I have grandchildren now. For the most part this is a very basic astrology book, covering the entire chart, each plant, each sign, each house with key concepts but applying these all to your child. In this case basic is not bad or even boring because of the slant of the application. The chapter I found most interesting was about the interpersonal plants, Jupiter and Saturn. With these two planets the author gives the basic interpretation but also traces the progress by age of your youngster. Fascinating! Also of interest was the section on family dynamics. But these two sections did not make up a large part of the book. If you are an advanced astrology student, you might find this book a bit too basic.


A Clubbable Woman (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 1)
A Clubbable Woman (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 1)
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/18/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This a the first in a very prolific series, where we can get to know Sergeant Peter Pascoe and Superintendent Andrew Dalziel, two police detectives in a small down to earth English town. I started reading the series somewhere in the middle, decided I wanted to read it from the beginning, and then had to hunt for this first book. These two main characters could not be more different from each other...thus they bring very different view points to every mystery they get handed. Dalziel is known as Fat Andy (among other, even less complimentary nicknames) and is old school and uncouth, but very brilliant for all that. Pascoe is a college graduate that often wonders what he is doing in this career, but every time realizes that it is more a calling for him than just a job.

This book starts off a little bit slow, and I have to admit that if this was the only one in the series I had read, I wouldn't have been as keen as I am about them. It is a very subtle introduction. But a good read nonetheless, if you get through the first 30 pages.


Daughters of Copper Woman
Daughters of Copper Woman
Author: Anne Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I am just finishing this book and I have enjoyed it tremendously. The outline of the matriarchal spiritual power of the Pacific Northwests aboriginal tribes from the first woman right down to the present is very enlightening. This book does not present a picture totally through rose colored glasses, it grapples with both the highs and lows of the people that lived here before white man ever came. I personally found it to be empowering and food for thought!


Daughters of the Moon Tarot Deck Color
Daughters of the Moon Tarot Deck Color
Author: Ffiona Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/3/2008


A wonderful feminist tarot deck. The round cards are very colorful and of good quality. My deck is almost 13 years old and only shows slight wear from the repeated usings. This is not truly a traditional tarot deck, you will need the book to make the adjustments to the Feminine that the authors included but once you get used to it the insights it will give you are fantastic. I have never used the deck in a reading for a man, I do not know if that would work well. I do use the deck as a mirror for my own self development -- it always reflects back to me the truth and then some!


The Fifth Sacred Thing
The Fifth Sacred Thing
Author: Starhawk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/29/2008


Starhawk is a very readable author, well versed in her art. The book description above is quite an accurate description of her story in this book. What it does not tell you is the feeling of wanting to live in her world or of the hope it gives ones soul to think that such a change in our world could be possible. I read this book years ago but from what I remember the story rang true enough with problems being address so you felt that it was not all just 'rose colored glass'. I would definitely recommend this book.


Review Date: 2/10/2009


I had my Dolphin Divination Cards for many years before I came upon the Guide to use them. If I remember correctly, the box the cards came in had a single sheet (small) how to with it. But this book is packed full of information on lay outs and meaning for these small, simple round cards. The book truly is the guide and tells how the cards came about, tells a lot about dolphin wisdom. This is a very positive oracle. I have loved using it.


Healing Spirits: True Stories from 14 Spiritual Healers
Healing Spirits: True Stories from 14 Spiritual Healers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2009


Very well written and thoughtfully executed book. You get to see the healing practice right thorough the healers own eyes. Show the common thread but surprisingly also how very different the approach can be from on Spiritual Healer to the next. Also has some resource information on each healer which is useful (eventually this part of the book will become dated). I would recommend this book to anyone interested in alternative healing.


The Hive: The Story of the Honeybee and Us
The Hive: The Story of the Honeybee and Us
Author: Bee Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/28/2011


Appropriately this book is enchanting since that is the effect Honeybees have had on humans from times long past. I would have never guessed the extent to which man has been involved with Honeybees... and in such diverse ways! Bee Wilson writes in such a way as to keep her readers engaged while passing along a host of information. Read and enjoy!


The holy book of women's mysteries
The holy book of women's mysteries
Author: Zsuzsanna Emese Budapest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/28/2008


This book is truly a classic in feminine spiritual studies. Z Budapest is a woman of natural inner power who inspires while sharing her journey.


How to Get Married After 35 : A Game Plan for Love
How to Get Married After 35 : A Game Plan for Love
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/31/2017


Brings up worth while points to consider especially if you are a bit older, but would not hurt younger persons to read this either. Always good to try to look at things & relationships objectively.


The Life of Pi
The Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of the most unusual books I have ever read. No way in the world could I have come up with this subject matter for a book or these characters! The story is about a boy who will not choose between his native Hinduism, Christianity and Islam but instead combines the best of them all. The story is about survival. About animals. About the mind. Very, very good read that keeps you guessing right until the end...and then as far as I am concerned, how you interpret the end is a totally individual thing!!


Medicine Cards : The Discovery of Power Through the Ways of Animals
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book and card set is a classic tool to become acquainted with your animal totems and guides. The authors state in the Introductions that they have received these teaching from many elders in the Choctaw, Lakota, Seneca, Aztec, Yaqui, Cheyenne, Cherokee, Iroquois and Mayan traditions. They call the cards (and book) both a divination tool and a way to become more connected to our intuition. There is information about what "medicine" means in the Native American traditions, about power and totem animals, about the Medicine Wheel and the Medicine Shield. They give 4 different spreads. Then each of the 44 different animals (birds...fish...insects...amphibians...) have their own 2-3 page sections with wonderfully astute information. Personally whenever I have consulted my cards, they have be right on reflecting wisdom onto my current situation. I have owned and used these cards for 20 years now. Mine are not up for swap, sorry. But I would highly recommend them!


Medicine Woman
Medicine Woman
Author: Carol Bridges
Book Type: Cards
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/3/2008


I resisted buying this deck for years, afraid that I would feel the author was just cashing in on Native Spirituality. But the deck kept calling me and I finally heeded the call ... and am I glad I did. I would only recommend this deck to you as a meditation tool BUT you have to have the companion book. The book makes the deck, it is well thought out and adds the depth to your time with the deck with guided meditations that are very effective.


The Mourning Handbook : The Most Comprehensive Resource Offering Practical and Compassionate Advice on Coping with All Aspects of Death and Dying
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book does just what the title promises: it covers all aspects of grief from the moment you find out that you are going to loose someone to way after the actual lose. It has a very detailed Table of Contents and Index making it easy to find the information you desire and need without having to think too hard. Some of the chapters I found most useful came under the dealing with the complications of grief and those things that make your experience of mourning more difficult. But it also very thoroughly covers the very basics of what grieving is and will it ever end. It is not a poetically written comfort book, but it does present all necessary resources in a thoughtful way. Very appropriate to the subject.


Murder at Hogans Corner, Washington: An American Destiny
Murder at Hogans Corner, Washington: An American Destiny
Author: Wallace L. Exum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/8/2008


This murder took place in an apartment that my parents lived first in and then above for about 8 years after I was married. This would explain why I have the book (my book is not up for trade) and why I read it cover to cover. But that is not why I am writing this review. I do not normally read true crime. Just not my cup of tea, so to speak. The story of this murder is very detailed, maybe because the community is so small and this was such a shock, or maybe because the author truly cared as he had met the victim once in passing. I found this to be a very readable book. I think it has enough information and is factual enough that it could be used to study what impact a murder has on a small town. So even though I found the subject matter to be brutal, I would recommend this book.


The New Beadwork
The New Beadwork
Author: Alice Scherer, Kathlyn Moss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/28/2009


A very beautifully done book of pure beading inspiration! Dozens of colored pictures of fine quality eye candy :). Not an instruction book except for a very few pages in the back on some very basic beading techniques. No this book is for looking, looking and looking again and then figuring out how to work it for yourself. Won't part with mine.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: