Theresa L. (theresapus) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
Amazing Grace in the Life of William Wilberforce
Amazing Grace in the Life of William Wilberforce
Author: John Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/11/2010


I've been fascinated by William Wilberforce ever since I first saw the movie, Amazing Grace. This book really explains WHY he did what he did and where he got the motivation to work so tirelessly for the abolition of slavery in England. It really was a fascinating book, but was sometimes hard to follow.


Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/22/2007


A great finish to the Dakotah Treasures series!!


Before I Was Born: Designed for Parents to Read to Their Child at Ages 5 Through 8 (Gods Design for Sex, Bk 2)
Review Date: 12/4/2009


I liked this book. I got it for my 6 and 7 year olds. It's a clear picture of what sex is designed by God for. It opened up a great dialogue for the kids and I. It also helped answer some of their questions regarding their new baby brother or sister that will be born in a few months.


Big Sharks!
Big Sharks!
Author: Tori Kosara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/6/2011


My 7 year old son is into sharks big time right now and this book was great for him. He loved the easy to read information and the pictures are great!


Blueberries for Sal
Blueberries for Sal
Author: Robert McCloskey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 8/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A really fun story of 2 mothers who get their babies mixed up! Great read for kids! Robert McCloskey's illustrations are just beautiful!


The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Review Date: 12/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book is great!! It explains things to girls in a clear, concise, and "cool" way.


Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Author: Jeff Pollard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/23/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I wasn't impressed with this book. The author spent most of his time bashing the swimsuite industry. He offered no practical tips on dressing modestly, just, basically said, that all the evil in the world is because of the bikini. Not really helpful.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 6/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book. It's just a good, heart-warming story about a cat who touches so many lives. I highly recommend it, especially if you're a cat person.


Fair Is the Rose (Lowlands of Scotland, Bk 2)
Fair Is the Rose (Lowlands of Scotland, Bk 2)
Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 10/6/2010


This whole series is great!! I couldn't put them down!!


First We Have Coffee
First We Have Coffee
Author: Margaret Jensen, Harvest House Publishers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/14/2008


Very uplifting.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a GREAT book! A must read for every pregnant woman! It's funny and real.


God Gave Us You
God Gave Us You
Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren, Laura J. Bryant (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a sweet little book to read to your kids! It will remind them (and you!) how special they are. You may want to have some tissues handy, though! It's hard to get through without choking up!


Grace in Thine Eyes
Grace in Thine Eyes
Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/7/2010


A great conclusion to an awesome series!!


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1342
Review Date: 2/10/2007


I loved this book! It was such a great read! A great installment to the HP series!


How The Grinch Stole Christmas!
How The Grinch Stole Christmas!
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/8/2009


A classic that is a favorite at our house!


I Stink!
I Stink!
Author: Kate McMullan, Jim McMullan
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/22/2010


This is a great book for little boys. It's the story of a garbage truck doing his daily rounds. My 4 year old godson loves it! The pictures are bright and there's even a page to review letters on. The truck eats something starting with each letter of the alphabet. Really fun!!


Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Author: Max Lucado, Rosanne Kaloustian (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/4/2017


This book is so sweet! It's the perfect message that every child needs to hear about his/her uniqueness in God. So beautifully told!


Let's Make Rabbits
Let's Make Rabbits
Author: Leo Lionni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/11/2010


A really fun book for kids! The illustrations are awesome, too!


Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe
Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe
Author: Todd Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A must read for every homeschooling mom!! Todd Wilson is so funny and he really "gets it".


Little Men : Life at Plumfield With Jo's Boys (Focus on the Family)
Review Date: 6/29/2015


I really enjoyed this book. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars was that it was a sequel and the author assumes you know things from the first book, Little Women. Having never read Little Women, I found it hard to follow in certain parts and characters coming in I knew nothing about. However, it was a very sweet story with morals and values that need to be read by children of today. My 11 year old also enjoyed it.

Highly recommend, but read Little Women first.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: