L M. (leeser) - - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Aaron's Way: The Journey of a Strong-Willed Child
Aaron's Way: The Journey of a Strong-Willed Child
Author: Kendra Smiley, Aaron Smiley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/5/2007


Want to know what's going on inside the head of that bright and strong willed child? This book is quick and insightful.


Dream Healer: A True Story of Miracle Healings
Dream Healer: A True Story of Miracle Healings
Author: Adam
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/28/2008


Adam conveys his story in simple language which makes it easier to visualize what he sees and how he uses his gifts to heal. His observations about the flow of energy through all living things, and the various yet untapped modes of healing was helpful to me in my own journey of healing. I look forward to reading his other books.


The Enneagram in Love and Work : Understanding Your Intimate and Business Relationships
Review Date: 5/31/2007


I am fascinated by The Enneagram. Palmer offers a unique perspecctive and it's a great addition to my library.


Flow : The Psychology Of Optimal Experience
Flow : The Psychology Of Optimal Experience
Author: Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/3/2007


Good, basic information for anyone who wants to improve self awareness.


Healing the Soul in the Age of the Brain: Why Medication Isn't Enough NOT Becoming Conscious In An Unconscious World
Review Date: 2/20/2007


I skimmed the interesting chapters and it is very good. Especially for someone who is considering an alternative to medication, or even for psychiatrists who want to offer an alternative means of treating patients with anxiety and depression disorders.


He's Just Not That Into You (The Newly Expanded Edition): The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys
Review Date: 9/10/2015


I regret reading this book. It redeems itself at the end but overall it left me with a really empty feeling which didn't help answer my question. We each need to look into our own heart and judge our relationships with what we know. We cannot possibly know what we don't know until we know it. I'm throwing this away. I will not send it to another woman.


How I Reversed My Hashimoto's Thyroiditis Hypothyroidism
Review Date: 11/9/2011


This book opened doors for me. I was not getting well on Armour or Synthroid and reading this gave me the courage to try an alternative, holistic approach to my hypothyroidism. I didn't use the author's exact formula for wellness; but learned that very similar changes in diet and lifestyle were the key to healing.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1033
Review Date: 9/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I was working at Emory University when Chris disappeared. I remember being disturbed by this story. I'll always wonder what really happened to him....what he was running from. I enjoyed reading Krakauer's other books too.


Invitation to Solitude and Silence: Experiencing God's Transforming Presence
Review Date: 3/13/2007


This was one of the first books I read on my journey into solitude and silence, which has turned out to be the single most meaningful aspect of my spiritual life. This books is an invitation to you to meet God deeply and fully outside the demands and noise of daily life.


Lit From Within : Tending Your Soul For Lifelong Beauty
Lit From Within : Tending Your Soul For Lifelong Beauty
Author: Victoria Moran
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/13/2007


This author also wrote Creating a Charmed Life, which is one of my favorite books.


Natural Hormone Balance for Women : Look Younger, Feel Stronger, and Live Life with Exuberance
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Not what I was expecting. The word "Natural" in the title is a bit misleading. Despite his reference to certain hormones as "natural," they are still US Pharmaceutical grade hormones synthetically made in a laboratory. There is no information on herbal substitutes and the author even goes as far as saying that if the herb raises hormones then you're taking hormones. This is false information. I'm also skeptical of any male doctor that promotes progesterone as a cure for most hormonal issues.


Sappho: A New Translation
Sappho: A New Translation
Author: Mary Barnard (Translator), Sappho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/8/2007


This is a modern english translation of Sappho's works and it was enjoyable read for a college research paper. Most of her poems are emotional and personal. I thought it was interesting that some were usually dialogues between Sappho and her friends.


Soft Selling in a Hard World: Plain Talk on the Art of Persuasion
Soft Selling in a Hard World: Plain Talk on the Art of Persuasion
Author: Jerry Vass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/13/2007


The Vass system is a good one, but it takes practice to bring it off and still not look like a salesman. Since learning ths system, I have found other systems that work better for me.


Soul Ties
Soul Ties
Author: Elaine Rose Penn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2007


This book was not at all what I expected. It may be helpful to some who are struggling with ending ties to previous or existing relationships. It includes teaching on bloodline soul ties, soul ties produced through oaths and covenants, forged through unforgiveness, parent-child, marriage and with demons. It outlines the biblical steps this writer believes are necessary to restore the soul for those who are bound to multiple lover soul ties.


The Tenth Door: An Adventure Through the Jungles of Enlightenment
Review Date: 10/21/2011


Loved her story overall but wishing for fewer details on her daily routine and more details on her relationships with fellow yogis and her personal relationship with Walt Baptiste.


Tranquilities Series for Stress: Emotional and Spiritual Support for Life's Challenges (Stress)
Review Date: 11/28/2008


This is an excellent program which includes 5 CDs and 5 small bottles for aromatherapy. It was especially helpful to me to overcome anger and anxiety.


1 to 16 of 16