Glenda W. (MagicWord) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 54 - Page:
The 80 Proof Cookbook: An Introduction to Cooking With High Spirits
Review Date: 3/2/2006


This book offers delicious recipes for appetizers, veggies, main courses and desserts that contain a secret ingredient --- distilled liquor! In addition to traditional standards like Plum Pudding and Irish Rarebit, there are more than 80 exotic, delectable and easy recipes including Brandy Pate, Paella Aruba and Italian Rum Cake. Yum!


Absolutely Green (Ginger, Bk 4)
Absolutely Green (Ginger, Bk 4)
Author: Elaine L. Schulte
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/24/2006


a great pre-teen book for kids dealing with divorce in their families or those around them


Aircraft
Aircraft
Author: Bob Munro
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/28/2006


Clear, breakaway photos of jets, helicopters, gliders, fighters and passenger planes for anyone who loves knowing about things in flight. One of my son's favorite books!


At Our Core: Women Writing About Power
At Our Core: Women Writing About Power
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/2/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Another anthology from the woman who brought us "I Am Becoming the Woman I Wanted." Unique exploration of the concept of power in women's lives. Insightful and courageous...


The Beauty Book: It's a God Thing (Young Women of Faith Library)
The Beauty Book: It's a God Thing (Young Women of Faith Library)
Author: Nancy Rue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/11/2006
Helpful Score: 2


For ages 8-12. Focuses on REAL beauty --- inner beauty --- yet covers all the physical beauty tips/concerns that young girls have. Recommended!


" Better Homes and Gardens": Planning and Decorating: Kids' Rooms
" Better Homes and Gardens": Planning and Decorating: Kids' Rooms
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/10/2006


I like this book because it accounts for a wide range of ages, has wonderfully bright & useful photos and even gives painting techniques and useful storage options. My (now teen) kids love their rooms --- largely inspired from this book.


The Ceremonial Circle: Practice, Ritual, and Renewal for Personal and Community Healing
Review Date: 3/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Practical information about shamanic practic and how to create ceremonies and rituals by working with the tools and techniques of the Sacred. Includes interviews with Starhawk, Anna Halprin, Brooke Medicine Eagle, Vicki Noble and others.


Copier Creations: Using Copy Machines to Make Decals, Silhouettes, Flip Books, Films, and Much More!
Review Date: 2/14/2006


Fun, fun, fun book by Newbery Award winner Paul Fleischman who gives clear step-by-step instructions. My daughter and I loved this book, especially the personalized stationery ideas and the mobiles. Great stuff!


Courage to Grieve
Courage to Grieve
Author: Judy Tatelbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is not a book to keep --- but to share, much like you'd give a shoulder to a friend. Helps to cope with the loss of a loved one with what we need most --- understanding. It's an excellent and tactical book with important ideas about self-help and letting go. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross calls it, "A well-done book written with wisdom and love, and makes people aware that every ending is also a new beginning."


The Dante Club
The Dante Club
Author: Matthew Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 2/24/2006


Carefully plotted, it's a whodunit with intellect. Recommended!


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1498
Review Date: 7/3/2006


A not-to-be-missed affirmation of the friendships of women... You won't regret this read!


Divorce Is Not the End of the World : Zoe's And Evan's Coping Guide for Kids
Review Date: 8/25/2006


Written for kids who are going through the process of their parents' divorce, BY kids going through it themselves. One of the BEST books I found that kids can read to understand that neither their circumstance nor their feelings are unusual. It says, "You're not alone and you'll get through this" better than any other book I've found. Highly recommended!


Do It!: Let's Get Off Our Buts -- A Guide to Living Your Dreams
Do It!: Let's Get Off Our Buts -- A Guide to Living Your Dreams
Author: Peter McWilliams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/24/2006


A great motivator that is full of quotes and helpful anecdotes for both the reader and others.


Erte Fashion Paper Dolls of the Twenties
Erte Fashion Paper Dolls of the Twenties
Author: Susan Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


From the studio of the world famous theatrical and fashion designer Erte' come these fabulous designs (43 in all) and six sophisticated fashion paper dolls who were made to wear them. Wonderful book!


Evidence Not Seen: A Woman's Miraculous Faith in the Jungles of World War II
Review Date: 12/17/2006


Fabulous and inspiring story. It's too good for me NOT to share!


Fire in the Soul: A New Psychology of Spiritual Optimism
Fire in the Soul: A New Psychology of Spiritual Optimism
Author: Joan Borysenko
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/3/2006


Reveals the power of spiritual optimism: a philosophy that sees life crises as opportunities for personal growth and spiritual transformation. If you haven't had those yet yourself, read this book as a primer! Practical wisdom here...


Freaky Friday
Freaky Friday
Author: Mary Rodgers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


My middle-schooler read and liked this book. It's a good read for reluctant readers because it's a direct tie-in to the film(s). (Which WE loved!)


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 1/25/2006


The plot unfolds backwards through time, leaving you guessing. My Book Club loved this book!


Growing Up with Divorce : Helping Your Child Avoid Immediate and Later Emotional Problems
Review Date: 2/14/2006


Endorsed by Dr. Spock and the Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, I also found this to be one of the best books on the topic. Especially useful are the sections based on the AGE of the child, something that is critical. I thought it was a great resource and I hope it will help someone else.


Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
Author: Marc Weissbluth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/2/2006


If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. I'm an avid reader of parenting books (my oldest child is now 16), but if someone told me I could have only ONE book on the topic, this is the one I'd choose. Weissbluth explains the single most important thing for healthy kids --- sleep --- in logical terms. This book is the BEST.


1 to 20 of 54 - Page: