yorkiemom19 - Reviews

1 to 20 of 104 - Page:
65 Below
65 Below
Author: Basil Sands
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/15/2012


This book was very fast paced and I would have rated it higher had the plot been more realistic. It was very inaccurate from a military standpoint. Lots of action and a different enemy than the usual Middle Eastern or Soviet bad guy.


The Abduction of Mary Rose
The Abduction of Mary Rose
Author: Joan Hall Hovey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/15/2012


Good murder mystery with quite a few twists. Characters were interesting and there wasn't foul language and gore. I've read other books by this author and have not been disappointed.


Another Hour To Kill (Volstead Manor, Bk 2)
Another Hour To Kill (Volstead Manor, Bk 2)
Author: Anita Higman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/15/2012


This is the second of the series and the second one I read from this author. I really wish I would have read them in order but nevertheless, it's a great book. Mystery, intrigue, and at the heart of it is the main character who makes you laugh or hold your breath as she gets herself knee deep in something dangerous. Nicely done book.


The Apothecary's Daughter
The Apothecary's Daughter
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 8/14/2012


Although this was listed as historical romance, I didn't see it as such. It was more the story of the young heroine searching for her mother for many years.
It took me several days to finish and I finished it only because I don't like leaving books unread. The first 75-100 pages were interesting but it just got boring after that.
The apothecary facts and references were interesting and I enjoyed that aspect of the book. However, there was so much going on with so many different people, I didn't enjoy the rest of the book.


Beyond Betrayal (Legendary Lovers)
Beyond Betrayal (Legendary Lovers)
Author: Christine Michels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/14/2012


This was a good book. I liked the setting, the time period, the fact a woman was doing a job that was not the typical occupation for women of that time. I felt like she was someone I would have been friends with. The author did a great job of making me feel I was right there with the characters. There wasn't a specific reason I enjoyed it so much; just an overall good book to read.


Bleachers
Bleachers
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 630
Review Date: 8/18/2008


Not the usual Grisham. The writing is good but I definitely prefer his legal books. This was too slow.


The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 8/18/2008


Great book! Full of action.


Breaking Cover
Breaking Cover
Author: J. D. Rhoades
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/14/2012


Very fast paced thriller that included some gruesomely violent death scenes. Initially, I thought the local cop was going to be a bumbling fool but was pleasantly surprised as the story progressed. I really liked Wolf and hope to read more about him in the future.


The Bride Wore Spurs (Inconvenient Brides, Bk 1)
The Bride Wore Spurs (Inconvenient Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Ihle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/13/2012


Started out decent, but I soon found Lacey's ignorance to be too much. Quite a few unbelievable parts: the love scene after nearly freezing to death, the fact she continually refers to herself as crazy and although I found it endearing at times, the whole Crowfoot story was far fetched.

Quite ingenious how he got his wife "gentled," however, if I needed a lesson in how horses mate, I would never have thought to read a historical romance. If I had to describe it in one word, it would be cheesy or silly.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 541
Review Date: 11/8/2005


Grisham does not disappoint. His usual style of twists and turns keeps the reader's interest.


The Burning Bed
The Burning Bed
Author: Faith McNulty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/18/2008


I read this book many years ago, long before the movie was made. It's a disturbing, well written account of one woman's solution to a horribly abusive husband. She saw no other way out other than to kill him before he killed her. Definitely a story that will stay with you.


Captive Rose
Captive Rose
Author: Miriam Minger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/13/2012


The setting was good and different than the typical historical romance. However, the characters were not impressive, indecisive and at times annoying.
He was a manly man who pretty much raped her a couple of times. She was just annoying in that she didn't know what she wanted other than to get away. Her mother had a "happy" marriage yet didn't tell her husband about sneaking her daughter out of town.


Carnal Gift
Carnal Gift
Author: Pamela Clare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 8/13/2012


I read this book over a couple of days in our pool and I couldn't tell what was hotter - the weather or the book!

Add me to the list of fans of Pamela Clare. She got me involved with Sweet Release on my Kindle Fire and I had to continue with the next book. It was hot, twisted, intriguing, passionate, had a terrific hero and heroine, awful villains and the historical aspect was spot on. Although I am very aware of the history from this time period, it still made me stop and think about the fact that Protestants and Catholics were forbidden to wed. Wow.

The books in this series definitely stand apart from the others.


Changes of Heart (Montana Skies, Bk 1)
Changes of Heart (Montana Skies, Bk 1)
Author: Paige Lee Elliston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/13/2012


At the risk of sounding like so many other reviewers, this book started out terrific. The author did a really nice job of describing the grief of the main character when she lost her husband. Unfortunately, it went downhill for me from about the snow storm to the end. Actually, the whole snowstorm part could have been pared down to a few pages. I had little interest in reading about the Monopoly game.

Besides the glaring error about Arabian horses, I felt like I was reading an advertisement for GMC trucks. Absolutely no GMC pickup - or any pickup - would go through ten foot drifts of snow, no matter what kind of tread was on the tires (and we read about the tread numerous times).

Then the ending, if you can call it that. As others have done, I checked my Kindle thinking I missed some pages or something was wrong with the device. It was like, poof! The husband just appeared at the window.

Two stars for the beginning and the beautiful Montana setting. Certainly cannot recommend it.


Chasing Rainbows
Chasing Rainbows
Author: Victoria Lynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/13/2012


Nothing spectacular here. A quick read that made me chuckle a few times. I really liked Jake, the handsome hero. Annie was a bit overbearing and unbelievably naive in many ways. Definitely worth a look but won't make it on my re-read list. Characters not that memorable and I know I've read another book about a heroine taking over a decrepit saloon with a bunch of soiled doves. The two main romance scenes seemed repetitious.


Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills, Bk 1)
Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/15/2012


I can't explain it, but I really enjoyed this book. Yes, it was somewhat predictable. Yes, the romance seemed lacking. However, the story itself kept my interest and I found myself cheering for the chieftan to rescue his damsel. I especially loved the descriptions of the Highlands and the time period.


Clifford the Big Red Dog Phonics Fun (reading program, pack 1)
Clifford the Big Red Dog Phonics Fun (reading program, pack 1)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2007


Complete set of 12 books for beginning readers. Great books to teach phonics with.


A Cold Heart  (Alex Delaware, Bk 17)
A Cold Heart (Alex Delaware, Bk 17)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 10/7/2005


If you like Kellerman, this is a good one.


Colorado Bride
Colorado Bride
Author: Leigh Greenwood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/13/2012


The heroine was very strong and wanted to be a success in a day when that wasn't acceptable. Good book.


The Crucifixion Murders
The Crucifixion Murders
Author: Dan Sprague
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2012


I found myself scrolling through too much excessive stuff that didn't add to the story. I liked Samuels and his tenacity to see the case through to the end. The rest of it I found difficult to read. Too many descriptors that didn't really add anything to the story.


1 to 20 of 104 - Page: