nelliebly1025 - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 142 - Page:
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 9/16/2009


Awesome. A great book in the Sookie series. I really like the vampire politics. Very cool!


Attack of the Fiend (The Last Apprentice, Bk 4)
Attack of the Fiend (The Last Apprentice, Bk 4)
Author: Joseph Delaney
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/19/2009


Joseph Delaney, you are awesome! I love these books. I start reading it and can not put it down.

Tom is really growing up into a wonderful young man, and Alice into a striking young women. This book tells more about the witch clans, Tom's Mam, Alice's past and the Spooks future. They get better and better every time. I am off to read the next one!


Beastly (Beastly, Bk 1)
Beastly (Beastly, Bk 1)
Author: Alex Flinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 6/22/2010


A great book that made me tear up. A modern version of Beauty and the Beast. Classic teen romance without the sex.


Betrayal (Volume 1)
Betrayal (Volume 1)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Reviewed by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com/

I am going to do this in a THE GOOD, THE BAD, THE UGLY review type.

THE GOOD:
The book was awesome! The cover art is so beautiful, it really draws you in. The story line was so cool and hypnotic in making you stay with it. I really love the way everything worked together to make it. Plus books about Greek mythology are always fun to read.

THE BAD:
It was way too long. Which I know is weird to say about a book that was awesome, but there were points that really could have been cut short. At one point, they are sitting around and talking at the table and I was about bored out of my mind because they just kept saying the same thing over and over and over and over again. Some editing in that department could have been done. Also, MILD SPOILER ALERT!

It took so very long for Cordelia to get her memory back, it was really annoying. I know they need to drag it out and she needs to do it on her own, but because it took so long, it was frustrating and not in a good way. It made the end happen too quickly. Also it was annoying because all Cordelia did was whine about how she wanted her memory back and/or wanted to go back to the future. Makes you want to smack her!

SPOILER OVER

THE UGLY:
UGH! The spelling and grammar was horrible! It really needs a fine tooth comb through to get it better shape. Words were misspelled or misused, punctuation was atrocious, there were a lot of question marks in place of periods, and then at times there were just blanks where words were left out. Please, please, PLEASE! This book is amazing, but send it to an editor and re-release it. You are going to get so many people turned off for little things like that. I

I am super excited for the series to continue, as long as the author gets an editor to help out! 4 1/2 out of 5 stars, and the 1/2 star off is only because of the editing issues!


Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 914
Review Date: 3/25/2009


I love this series! Zoey grows more and we learn more about the House of Night world.


Between Golden Jaws (Hallowmere, Bk 3)
Between Golden Jaws (Hallowmere, Bk 3)
Author: Tiffany Trent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/5/2009


I am completely in love with the Hallowmere series. It is a series about Fey, magic, ghosts and romance.

Corrine and her friends grow with each book, and Corrine finds out more about herself and her past.

These are books you will never see my putting on PBS! They will stay with me!


Bewitching Season (Leland Sisters, Bk 1)
Bewitching Season (Leland Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Marissa Doyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Reviewed by Bibliophile's Bestiary Blog at bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com/

Fantastic book. It is very well written and pulls you into the Leland twins world. This book mostly follows Persephone (Percy) Leland, who likes books more than balls and dresses. I did want to smack Persy a few times, but only because she worried too much. The twins are an amazing pair, and the magic in the book is a great read. The story line is perfect and the timing right on. A great first novel.


Blood Witch (Sweep, Bk 3)
Blood Witch (Sweep, Bk 3)
Author: Cate Tiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Wow. Awesome. That is all I can say about these books. I had them on my shelf for a while, and finally got around to reading them. I was so drawn into the way Morgan learns about herself, and the world of witchcraft and Wicca. The story and history of it is just amazing. I really love this series!


Blue is for Nightmares (Blue is for Nightmares, Bk 1)
Blue is for Nightmares (Blue is for Nightmares, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 7/19/2011


Review by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

I really enjoyed the magical aspect of this book. I liked how Stacey was very much into doing the rituals to help her and her friends and not abusing it.

The story was a bit creepy at times when you tried to figure out what was going on and "whodunit" but nothing gross or gory. I enjoyed the characters most of the time, but Amber was obnoxious and not necessary in the book at all. Drea's behavior you can understand under the circumstances. I liked Chad's character though.

I think there are points where the author could of gone into more detail or explained a little more about the history, but it is easy to follow along with if not.

MILD SPOILER:

Something that I didn't understand why was in the book about a teenager was her wetting the bed. Really? Do you REALLY have to have that? Couldn't it be something else that happened to her? I just think that anyone reading this book would be completely turned off by that idea. I almost was because it goes into much detail about her wetting the bed and what happens and all. I could have done without it and would have probably rated it higher if that wasn't a part of it.

I have the next two books on my shelf, but because of the disappointments from this book it will probably be a little bit before I read them. 3 out of 5 stars.


The Body Finder
The Body Finder
Author: Kimberly Derting
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Reviewed by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

WOW! Amazing book! Violets unusual powers lead her to find dead things. Not just people but animals as well. She becomes twisted into the hunt for a serial killer by unknowingly finding several victims. Along with Jay, her best friend since the 1st grade, she rushes to discover what is going on in their small town. Along the way she battles new feelings for her best friend, finding out more about her ability and the jealous rivalry of high school girls. It is a great mystery story and has great twists and plots in it. Very excited for the sequel Desires of the Dead coming out March 1, 2011. 5 out of 5 stars!


The Body Finder (Body Finder, Bk 1)
The Body Finder (Body Finder, Bk 1)
Author: Kimberly Derting
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Reviewed by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

WOW! Amazing book! Violets unusual powers lead her to find dead things. Not just people but animals as well. She becomes twisted into the hunt for a serial killer by unknowingly finding several victims. Along with Jay, her best friend since the 1st grade, she rushes to discover what is going on in their small town. Along the way she battles new feelings for her best friend, finding out more about her ability and the jealous rivalry of high school girls. It is a great mystery story and has great twists and plots in it. Very excited for the sequel Desires of the Dead coming out March 1, 2011. 5 out of 5 stars!


Book of Shadows (Sweep, Bk 1)
Book of Shadows (Sweep, Bk 1)
Author: Cate Tiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Wow. Awesome. That is all I can say about these books. I had them on my shelf for a while, and finally got around to reading them. I was so drawn into the way Morgan learns about herself, and the world of witchcraft and Wicca. The story and history of it is just amazing. I really love this series!


By Venom's Sweet Sting (Hallowmere)
By Venom's Sweet Sting (Hallowmere)
Author: Tiffany Trent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am completely in love with the Hallowmere series. It is a series about Fey, magic, ghosts and romance.

The left over students work their way to Scotland in hopes of finding Rory and the rathstone he has taken, but when they get there, they find things they thought they wanted but it may be too early to have.

These are books you will never see my putting on PBS! They will stay with me!


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1623
Review Date: 12/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Reviewed by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com:

I started this almost immediately after finishing book 1. While there is a REALLY big twist in the book, you could kind of see it coming at the end of the last one. Although it doesn't make it any less shocking. The story carries on similar to the first book. Downfalls: Katniss has become a wimp in this book! She was so strong and hardcore in the first one, now it seems like she can't tie her own shoe without being a baby about it. Near the end of the book, she got a little better, but still. Also, the love-triangle between Katniss, Peeta and Gale. For the love of God, choose one already and stick with it. She isn't being fair to either boy or herself. My word! Otherwise, it was still an awesome book, and I HATE where it ended, but lucky me, Mockingjay (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) is already out and I don't have to wait to read it! 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/27/2010


Reviewed by http://bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com:

I started this almost immediately after finishing book 1. While there is a REALLY big twist in the book, you could kind of see it coming at the end of the last one. Although it doesn't make it any less shocking. The story carries on similar to the first book. Downfalls: Katniss has become a wimp in this book! She was so strong and hardcore in the first one, now it seems like she can't tie her own shoe without being a baby about it. Near the end of the book, she got a little better, but still. Also, the love-triangle between Katniss, Peeta and Gale. For the love of God, choose one already and stick with it. She isn't being fair to either boy or herself. My word! Otherwise, it was still an awesome book, and I HATE where it ended, but lucky me, Mockingjay (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) is already out and I don't have to wait to read it! 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.


Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 863
Review Date: 3/25/2009


These books just keep getting better! If you like modern day women heros, vampires and sexy guys, these are great books!


Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2698
Review Date: 6/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The best Sookie book yet! Every book just gets better and better. Sookie is kick-butt in this one. Also, more male figures are in her life, I am not sure which I want her to be with the most. I have #4 in my hands as we speak, I cant wait to read it!


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/26/2009


I read this after being drawn in by the Wideacre series. It did not disappoint! I love Philippa Gregory's work, she is am amazing writer!


The Coven (Sweep, Bk 2)
The Coven (Sweep, Bk 2)
Author: Cate Tiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Wow. Awesome. That is all I can say about these books. I had them on my shelf for a while, and finally got around to reading them. I was so drawn into the way Morgan learns about herself, and the world of witchcraft and Wicca. The story and history of it is just amazing. I really love this series!


Crescendo (Hush, Hush!, Bk 2)
Crescendo (Hush, Hush!, Bk 2)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 10/10/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Reviewed by Bibliophile's Bestiary Blog at bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

I received an Advance reading copy of this book, it is due out October 19. While I usually don't have spoilers in my reviews, I will in this one, so be warned.

**********SPOILER ALERT*************

After reading hush, hush, and being severely disappointed, I hoped Crescendo would make a strong comeback. My hopes were quickly destroyed. I had to force myself to finish it. This book is even worse than hush, hush! The characters have gotten more annoying, and the story line is completely out of whack. Here are my words to describe Nora, the lead character, annoying, stupid, liar, thief, and idiot. Vee, her best friend is even more annoying that last time. Patch is on the tip of driving you crazy, but thankfully he isn't in this much. It is just the same thing through the entire book, Nora and Vee, "Lets play spy like we are 10 years old!" "Yea good idea, lets steal things that aren't ours, stalk people, and break into place illegally!" Lame. They honestly do this four or five times throughout the book. After the second, it gets really old. Nora steals things left and right, yea thats a really good example. Then she thinks its a good idea to follow and stalk people that are obviously dangerous. She purposely puts herself into dangerous positions even though she tells herself it is wrong.

The story line is completely bogus. It doesn't keep track with anything that is going on. Once, Nora gets a card from Patch that has a drug in it that makes her pass out, and the next day she feels safe enough to talk calmly to him. WHAT?!?!? If you don't trust this guy, and he is obviously involved with someone you hate, why are you being so naive? UGH!

It is just an awful book. The characters lack character, the plot is a plop. I do admit, the ending was better than I had hoped for, but not by much. I am sorry to all hush, hush fans, but this book sucks. 0 out of 5 stars. And I only gave it half a star on here because I had to do something to write this review.


1 to 20 of 142 - Page: