Laura K. - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 9/27/2014


A long book with many characters that Una the main character comes across. It looked to me that the author put a 20th century woman's way of thinking into the Una 19th century setting. She addresses slavery, and many women's issues. Good book, would recommend if you like a character that is progressive


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 12/8/2013


Excellent book, written in a third person, a lonely man that loved his wife too much and never would get the love returned. The story goes into human behavior that most of us would never think anyone capable of, but no one knows unless they have been in their shoes. Good story, Anita Shreve is so good, you'll love this one.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love Steve Berry, I have read most of his books. I especially enjoy the bits of history we receive while reading the story. This book however good as it was lacked believability in the story, with all the tough characters in the book to have the story end as it did left me wondering what?


The Book of Fate
The Book of Fate
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 9/22/2013


Book was slow and unbelievable. I like others kept waiting for this book to get "good" This book came recommended but I will not do the same.


Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, Bk 2)
Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, Bk 2)
Author: Hilary Mantel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/13/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I read a lot, but I just could not get into this one, I tried and tried and finally I gave up and ready to pass it on to someone who can get into it. I found the story to be boring and having to read parts over to understand what was going on.


The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 9/29/2013


It was a pleasure to read a book that kept my attention from page one. Lighthearted and written for the times it was worth the ride!!!


The Cobra
The Cobra
Author: Frederick Forsyth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/24/2013


A bit slow in places, but the end is fantastic!!! Worth the read


Fall of Giants (Century, Bk 1)
Fall of Giants (Century, Bk 1)
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 10/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book, but very long. I thought the last 150 pages could have been cut and the story would have been just as good. I will not read the next book, not getting as good of reviews. Good read, but not his best


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 2/21/2016


Book for some wasn't all what they thought it would be, but the book does put everything into play and then we read something we didn't expect in the end.
The book does take you out of your comfort zone and makes you think a bit, you suspect all the characters.
Its good, I agree there are plenty of better books out there but this one did have plenty of suspense....


The House I Loved
The House I Loved
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/23/2014


This book was a good account of the modernization of Paris in the late 1800's. It isn't her best but worth the read, it'll only take you a day to get this book finished.


Light on Snow
Light on Snow
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 8/25/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This story takes you from the New Hampshire where a father and daughter try and start their lives over after the mother and daughter die in a auto accident. It takes you to a scene where they find a baby in the snow and the mother coming to them to thank them for finding her. Not her best, wasn't reality in some areas.


The Lion's Game (John Corey, Bk 2)
The Lion's Game (John Corey, Bk 2)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/22/2013


Once again DeMille puts the reader into the action of the book. You will not put this book down until you finish, and when you do you will want more. DeMille tells such a good story that combines reality with fiction. Excellent book, get it


The Long Way Home (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 10)
The Long Way Home (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 10)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/11/2016


I have read all her books and enjoyed all of them. This book was disappointing, I felt it was written only to honor a deadline with the publisher. The subject matter wasn't worth a full book. Hopefully her next one will get back on track...


The Machiavelli Covenant (Nicholas Marten, Bk 2)
The Machiavelli Covenant (Nicholas Marten, Bk 2)
Author: Allan Folsom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/4/2012


I have read all of Allan Folsom, his best being "The Day After Tomorrow", since then he has given us a character in Nicholas Marten that is too much of a "super Hero". He seems to always show up in places that are unbelievable. I feel he needs to get rid of Marten and just write good novels without worrying about "the next novel in line in the series"


Night over Water
Night over Water
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/18/2013


Night over Water was a good story line but predictable. The characters did not have any consequences for their actions and story lines didn't fit their characters.
Not his best, but an easy read


Sandstorm (Sigma Force, Bk 1)
Sandstorm (Sigma Force, Bk 1)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 5/3/2014


Not the best for James Rollins, unbelievable in some areas


The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 9/14/2013


Another disappointment, I am also waiting for the book that keeps me up at night and not just the same writing. I want to be entertained and Cornwell isn't delivering


Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 9/8/2013


Deaver hit a home run with this book, well written, kept the reader wondering what was going to happen next. It has been awhile since I read a good mystery book, most are written like there is a deadline to meet. You will love reading this book


Testimony
Testimony
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 2/21/2012


This book will not disappoint you, first person narrative.
It will grab you from the beginning and will not let you put the book down until you finish it.


1 to 19 of 19