Mary O. (officergrammy) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Against the Grain: A Carpentry Manual for Women
Against the Grain: A Carpentry Manual for Women
Author: Dale McCormick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/20/2010


Excellently hand-illustrated manual for *anyone* who wants to build a shed onto their house or make a carport, or undertake a fairly involved renovation. Kinda feminist in that it has a 60's feel to it. Very nuts-and-bolts. The kind of training you would naturally have if your relatives were carpenters. This is the kind of practical knowledge missing from, oh, 90% of the population. If for no reason get this to educate the children. Get it to study up before a major renovaton. Heck with this YOU can build your deck. Or potting shed. Or little house out back for when the kids/aging parents/employers drive you nuts. Explains the baffling differences in nails, for instance, and screws, and the right hammer, and how to hammer (yes, there is a learned skill to it). How to order lumber without feeling intellectually challenged. After you learn this you can get plans from Home Depot or anywhere and not feel so lost.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 1/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


He is matchless in his first book. As an Irish-American child growing up in a Boston suburb this is the best way I've ever found to describe my childhood. The movie is superb also. His later books, notsomuch. On my list to have my grandchild read and see when se wants to know her ancestry.


The Bastard On The Couch: 27 Men Try Really Hard To Explain Their Feelings About Love, Loss, Fatherhood, And Freedom
Review Date: 5/13/2015


I applaud these men for sharing their thoughts and feelings on the difficulty with navigating our modern approach to adulthood. Through my own experience of several failed relationships I wondered how men were coping with the changing definition of masculinity in this century. I was curious enough to devote a semester's self study on the topic. I see my male friends struggle with what the world now expects and I see and appreciate their pain and frustration. This and the companion book "The Bitch in the House" made me realize my experiences were not unique. Wonderful book I almost wanted to keep forever but this message really needs to be shared.


The Footprints of God
The Footprints of God
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/5/2010


Lovely imaginative read for any computer geeks and lovers of mystery novels. He asks some important questions to ponder and leaves us with crossed fingers hoping our fears don't come true.


How Not To Become A Little Old Lady
How Not To Become A Little Old Lady
Author: Mary McHugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/20/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I found this offensive. How perfectly horriying a concept of a book. Take what is a natural process that is largely beyond one's control, and turn it into a joke for public scorn. We all get old, Ms. McHugh. May those who care for you then have compassion.
While I can understand and appreciate the attempt at humor, it far misses the mark.


Lion of Ireland (Celtic World of Morgan Llywelyn)
Lion of Ireland (Celtic World of Morgan Llywelyn)
Author: Morgan Llywelyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/19/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Not as "romance novely" as the cover would suggest. More an entertaining telling of history. As I am of the clan, I found this fascinating. It is listed in Wikipedia as a scholarly book of the clan, so I guess it has some validity. An engrossing read. I am keeping my copy for my grandchild.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2664
Review Date: 1/5/2010


One of those Read The Book First co-depictions. Epic in scale, meticulous of detail, superlative in depictions of time and place, haunting visuals in movie and book. It left me with much respect, and it wrung me out emotionally between twixt and between. Who cares if it is bio or fiction? It is a good story.


Without a Net : Middle Class and Homeless (with Kids) in America
Without a Net : Middle Class and Homeless (with Kids) in America
Author: Michelle Kennedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/13/2015
Helpful Score: 1


As an abused child, a single parent, a former domestic violence advocate, and as someone with a sociology background, this really hit home. It shredded my heart and then healed it. How close I have been and still may be. This story of a ferocious mother's love and her courage to forge a new life in an inferno of uncertainty is astounding. I get weepy thinking about what a wonderful legacy of perseverance and hope and trust in life these children have had...what resilience they will have. I wish I could buy 1000 copies of the book and give then to shelters of all kinds. THANK YOU Michelle Kennedy.


The Yeast Connection : A Medical Breakthrough; If you feel sick all over, this book could change your life
Review Date: 1/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book and the companion cookbook changed my life about 20 years ago. I am not understating that. With the diagnostic tools I scored off the charts. They aren't kidding about the "feeling worse before you feel better" thing. 20 years later and this way of eating is second nature to me, though it does require a person to make choices. Importantly--you get rapid results!
Bless you, Dr. Crook!
And bless all you who struggle to diagnose and heal.


The Yeast Connection Cookbook: A Guide to Good Nutrition and Better Health
Review Date: 1/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Many years ago I strugged with this syndrome, and this cookbook was instrumental in helping me recover. Yes, I said recover. Not an easy food plan to follow but you get rapid results. They're not kidding when they say you feel worse before you feel better, as the toxins die off. I lost 24 pounds in 2 weeks with this--though this IS NOT a weight loss book. It is a health recovery book. If you want to self-diagnose a candidiasis problem see his other book. I scored off the charts on his yeast syndrome book! I am very thankful I found these books by Dr. Crook years ago. And 20 years later I still naturally avoid the things they recommend, though no longer strictly.
Best wishes to you as you recover!
My blessings to you.


1 to 10 of 10