karigig - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Aftermath: The Mars Arena / Iceblood
Aftermath: The Mars Arena / Iceblood
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/27/2007


A double treat, a book from the deathlands series and one from the outlanders series in one package.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 9/3/2008


"Angels and Demons" is Dan Brown at his very best!

This book is everything a good book should be; great characters, a well paced and thought out storyline combined with spot on writing. I loved everything about it and it was a welcome surprise after reading his (Browns) more shallow novels.

I highly reccommend this title, you won't regret it.


Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Author: Lincoln Child, Douglas Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 2/7/2007


An excellent novel with the ever mysterious Agent Pendergast. I loved it, from the first chapter to the last.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 995
Review Date: 12/8/2006


A good read.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1727
Review Date: 11/12/2006


Interesting story, it gives a nice insight into Italy and Italian believe it or not lol. It lacks the depth of Browns other works, almost like it was written at a childs level. A good evening read. I smiled alot while reading it.


Decipher
Decipher
Author: Stel Pavlou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 7/22/2010


Love love love this book! It's chock full of interesting characters and exciting events. I definately recommend it.:)


Deep Fathom
Deep Fathom
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 1/27/2007


Another good story line from Rollins! A great read.


Fireworks
Fireworks
Author: James A. Moore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was surprisingly entertaining, I actually could not stop reading and finished it in about 4 hours...I just had to know what happend!
Great read, I'll be checking out more books by this author.


The Forge of God (Forge of God, Bk 1)
The Forge of God (Forge of God, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Greg Bear is one of my favorite authors, so even though I was bored out of my mind by the 2nd chapter..I plugged on and forward. The book is actually very good, I love the concept! I can't say much without giving the story away..I reccomend this! read it..enjoy it:)


Galilee
Galilee
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 11/12/2006


A good book. It has quite a breadth to it, many interesting characters. At times I could not put it down, but at others I was skipping ahead. I suppose it evens out eh?


Holly
Holly
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 12/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great read with some surprising twists, you never know where you'll end up..or down? ha
Nice book for curling up in front of the fire.


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 438
Review Date: 1/4/2007


A good quick read with an "in your face" beginning and an ending you thought you weren't going to get. Very well done.
A good evening read.


Island in the Sea of Time (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 1)
Island in the Sea of Time (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 1)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 1/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! Another excellent take you away from it all, read by S.M. Sterling. I agree with some of the other reviewers that in spots it could get a bit slow. Overall the book was fantasic though- just as the other work's of Sterling that I have read are. Are there sequels to this book? Another commenter alluded to such. Does anyone know?


Mammoth
Mammoth
Author: John Varley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 2/7/2007


Good story with an ending I didn't expect.


The Miocene Arrow (Greatwinter, Bk 2)
The Miocene Arrow (Greatwinter, Bk 2)
Author: Sean McMullen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/3/2008


I fell in love with the Greatwinter trilogy when I discovered the first book (Souls in the great machine) in the series and I could not wait to get my hands on this one.

"The Miocene Arrow" lived up to all of my expectations and more! The story is solid and the characters literally come to life within your imagination as you read. You live, love, win and lose right along with them as the story progresses.

I love McMullens ability to introduce new characters and have you flow right along with them as the action happens. His (McMullens) major talent in my opinion is the magical way his writing carries you along and enables you to effortlessly change perspectives along with the characters (new and established) of the story.

I am looking forward to the final book (Eyes of the Calculor)in the series and I doubt I'll be disappointed.


Mr. Murder
Mr. Murder
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/30/2006


Another excellent Koontz read. I was somewhat able to predict the plot, but it did not take away from the pleasure of reading the story.


One Second After
One Second After
Author: William R. Forstchen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 4/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was built on the foundation of a great idea, a plausible idea. The problem is that the story it's self was built out of straw.
The characters were cliché, underdeveloped and "expected", the dialog is just so sad it's almost funny, not to mention repetitive. So much was repetitive, as if the author thought his readers to unintelligent to "get it" the first time, or the second time, and in some cases the third time. Ugg.
This is by far the worst and most disappointing apocalyptic fiction I've ever read. Bleh.
It's an insult to readers of books and especially to fans of this genre. Bad William Forstchen! Bad!


The Rescue
The Rescue
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1025
Review Date: 11/12/2006


The perfect book to relax in front of the fire with.


Shadowfires
Shadowfires
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 9/3/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Another great read by Dean Koontz?

While reading this I had the odd feeling that I was reading Koontz pretending to be Koontz. I know that makes very little sense but it is the overall impression I got from the book.

It's a good read with plenty of action and somewhat likeable characters. Perhaps that is where my odd feeling comes from. Usually I find myself liking and even identifying with the characters of his (Koontz) stories, this one was different. The chacters felt very "cardboard cutout" and I often felt the urge to scream at the utterly predictable and even ignorant things the characters did and said. The dialog in this book is HORRIBLE and often completely misplaced when applied to the situation(s) the characters are in.

This is definately a must read for any Koontz fan for the concept alone.
I would hope that this book is not an introduction to his work for new readers.

Bleh....


Shaking Earth (Deathlands, Bk 68)
Shaking Earth (Deathlands, Bk 68)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/29/2007


The lanuage is rather childish and repeatative at times, but the story line is addicting and you want another from the series as soon as you finish one. I got my first Deathlands book here on paperpackswap and now i'm buying them as well as trying to get them here. An addictive post-appocolyptic series! yaya


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: