Andrew C. (ceyton) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Conflict
Conflict
Author: Poul Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2011


A book of short stories with the titular central theme. Very enjoyable, though after the first several few stories standout. They are all well written, and certainly worth the time. This is the serious side of Poul, no Space Traders or medieval tomfoolery. High standard works from an exceptional author.


The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop
The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop
Author: Saul Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/24/2012


I enjoy Mr Williams' art and music very much. I love the layout of the book and the backstory he gives. However the poetry is really just lyrics written down and frankly wouldnt be as enjoyable if i couldnt hear his delivery in my head. Doesnt hold up as well as stand-alone poetry most of it. Considering his prose introduction/backstory, i would be excited to see him stretch out further into the written word.


The Doctor Who: Programme Guide (Doctor Who)
The Doctor Who: Programme Guide (Doctor Who)
Author: Jean-Marc Lofficier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/1/2012


Great. Brief synopsis of the original shows.


Foucault's Pendulum
Foucault's Pendulum
Author: Umberto Eco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 9/12/2011


One of my favorite books ever. Dense intellectual games with a qabalist's sense of humor.


Hip Hop America
Hip Hop America
Author: Nelson George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/5/2011


as good as a pocketful of journalism gets


Know What I Mean?
Know What I Mean?
Author: Michael Eric Dyson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2018


A collection of conversations more than essays but they have that distinctive Dyson voice.


Notorious C.O.P.: The Inside Story of the Tupac, Biggie, and Jam Master Jay Investigations from the NYPD's First "Hip-Hop Cop"
Review Date: 11/5/2011


A little full of himself. And for someone who 'was there' he quotes alot of other people's books. Good read though.


The Rough Guide to Classical Music
The Rough Guide to Classical Music
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/31/2012


Exactly what the title sounds like. Great start to finding great recordings


Royal Canadian Air Force Exercise Plans for Physical Fitness, Two books in one/Two famous basic plans: XBX / 5BX
Review Date: 11/5/2011


Great stuff


1 to 9 of 9