Debra M. (deb-n-jeff) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Basic English Revisited: A Student Handbook
Basic English Revisited: A Student Handbook
Author: Patrick Sebranek, Verne Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2006


This is an invaluable tool for students.


The Best Of Enemies
The Best Of Enemies
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/6/2006


Great story, kept me guessing. Good subplot too!


Home Economics Teacher's Guide Curriculum
Review Date: 1/27/2006


Complete Daily lesson plans, list of recommended readings, list of texts, 4 quarter EXAMS with key. This is the guide for teaching Home Economics from a Christian perspective. Easily adapted for home schooling.


The Lightkeeper
The Lightkeeper
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 1/10/2006


Loved this book, the details made it seem so very real.


Little People Learning Fun!: Thinking Logically, Rhyming Words, Money Awareness, Letter Order (Kindergarten II)
Review Date: 11/24/2006


Great activity tablet with tear-out pages and an answer key.


My Day as a Bridesmaid
My Day as a Bridesmaid
Author: Caroline Plaisted
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Book is a lovely keepsake for a child attendant. There are places for the child to record remembrances, draw pictures, collect momentos, etc. It has explanations of each aspect of the preparations and the service to help a child understand what to expect along the way.

From the back of the book:
My Day as a Briedesmaid lets you record everything as the preparations progress from the fitting of the bridesmaid dress, the hair stying, shoe buiying and rehearsals, until the Day istelf! Each section has a special place to keep a photograph or picture and theres an envelope a the front to collect the invitation, service sheet andmaybe even a piece of wedding cake! THe perfect present for a perfect day.


The Official Looney Tunes Cross Stitch Book (Leisure Arts Leaflet 2723)
Review Date: 1/17/2006


Fabulous assortment of all the favorite Looney Tunes characters. Great way to dress up a child's room, lunchbox, or clothing.


Review Date: 1/16/2006


This book was GREAT for keeping my car out of the shop. Made it possible to perform several smaller repairs at home. Great cost savings!


The Screwtape Letters
The Screwtape Letters
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book in college as much as I enjoyed Narnia in gradeschool.


State of the Union (Scot Harvath, Bk 3)
State of the Union (Scot Harvath, Bk 3)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a LARGE paperback nearly the same size as a hardback copy.

A great thriller, really kept me guessing.


Sunshine and Shadow
Sunshine and Shadow
Author: Sharon Curtis, Tom Curtis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found it hard to enjoy the story-line of the book due to the author's lack of research. There are such blinding errors in the amish way of life and beliefs, that it kept my mind racing off to "what? that's not right!" The idea that an amish widow would allow herself to be persuaded to act in a hollywood movie is just insane -- they refuse photography for religious reasons! The simple lifstyle inacuracies (like embroidered faces on dolls) were annoying. Pigs inside the house? Come on! That's a juvenile prank, not something they would do -- if the bretheren were wanting her to reconsider her actions(not that she would REALLY have been doing such things) they would have sent the bishop over to talk with her. I just could not enjoy the book.


Under the Northern Lights (Alaskan Quest, Bk 2)
Under the Northern Lights (Alaskan Quest, Bk 2)
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Really leaves you hanging waiting for the next installment!


What a Girl Wants (Ashley Stockingdale, Bk 1)
What a Girl Wants (Ashley Stockingdale, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Billerbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 2/9/2007


Great fun read, can not wait to read the next one!


1 to 13 of 13