Reviews - Heidi V.

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
The Atonement Child
The Atonement Child
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/15/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Though it has been awhile since I've read this book, it is one of those stories that stays with you. Francine Rivers lovingly and thought-provokingly broaches the subject of abortion. Many people feel that abortion is warranted when a pregnancy is due to rape, but this book will make you think twice. The Atonement Child takes into account how bringing a new life into the world can bring healing, rather than adding another hurt to the already searing wounds of the rape victim. In light of Jaycee Dugard's story, and her proclamation of the love she has for her two daughters who were fathered by her captor, I feel this is a timely read about love and the value of human life."


Blood Orange
Blood Orange
Author: Drusilla Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 2/4/2011


"This book was a very enjoyable read. Interesting story with a hint of mystery. This book will make you think about spirituality, justice, love, and how the choices we make can affect our lives forever. Author did a great job telling the story in a way that keeps you involved and keeps you wondering what really happened. I give it 4 out of 5 stars for an enjoyable and thought provoking novel."


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 11/3/2011


"Very inspirational. For those who truly believe God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly beyond anything we ask or even think--this book is for you."


The Edge of the Sky
The Edge of the Sky
Author: Drusilla Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/26/2011


"I enjoyed this book. I have read 3 of this author's books and her books are very character driven vs. plot driven. The story is good, but it seems her writing tends to investigate feelings, discoveries and experiences more than tell a mind-blowing story. That being said, the material makes you think. I think it is also very believable and relatable."


Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 7/3/2011


"A tragic love story about young love and loss. It is also a story of redemption and forgiveness. The plot is a bit far-fetched and unbelievable at times, however."


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 10/28/2011


"This book was well written and heartbreaking. Laci's death was a compelling and sensational news story when it hit the media. The country was in shock that a husband could kill his gorgeous pregnant wife. This book will help you get to know the real Laci Rocha Peterson. Getting to know this family from Sharon's perspective will drive home the true evil of what Scott Peterson did. Even though I knew the outcome, I was compelled to keep reading. Sharon Rocha's pain and loss is searing, but Laci's light shines through in this tragic book about one mother's very personal loss."


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 6/28/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Made me realize that my perception of my man is really not always accurate. It opened my eyes to the struggles men face, their inner thought lives, and it explains some of their behavior. Very insightful. A must read for all married women."


Ghost Girl
Ghost Girl
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 7/26/2011
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"While well-written and gripping, this book was very disturbing to me. As another reviewer said, the things in this book are not things I want in my mind. I have also read Just Another Kid and One Child and I loved them both, but the images of abuse and violence are almost beyond what I could handle. I did however, stay up really late reading this entire book because I wanted to find out what really happened to Jadie. Warning to sensitive readers --this book is very graphic and the images and content, while true events, are extremely disturbing."


Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 7/2/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was wonderful. Todd Burpo, a small-town minister from Nebraska, encounters the supernatural through the near-death experience of his son Colton, age 4 at the time. Todd tells the story of a series of family hardships, including his son's sudden and life-threatening illness, and Todd's battles with God during that time. He later discovers that God was with Colton during that time, and that Colton experienced a number of extraordinary encounters with the supernatural. Including a firsthand glimpse of heaven. This book will make you laugh and cry, and boost your faith. I would love a follow-up book by the little boy Colton Burpo when he is older, to see if he can recall any of this experience first hand and how it has affected his life. I give this one 5 stars."


I Am Hutterite: The Fascinating True Story of a Young Woman’s Journey to Reclaim Her Heritage
Review Date: 7/24/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this book was an eye-opening journey into the secretive lives of the Hutterite community. I felt the author was honest and did a wonderful job of portraying her feelings and experiences as a child on the Hutterite colony. I liked her quote "Freedom is found neither on the colony nor off the colony, it is an inside job." And though sometimes non-fiction and memoirs are somewhat boring, I thought this book read like a fiction book and there were lots of events happening that kept me turning the page."


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 604
Review Date: 1/23/2011


"Good book. Not a favorite."


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5577
Review Date: 1/13/2011


"Fascinating, well-written and heart-wrenching."


Leota's Garden
Leota's Garden
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/28/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very interesting story with some interesting points regarding aging and the value of human life as we age. I enjoyed the characters and the story. Not my favorite Francine Rivers work, but worth the read."


Like Dandelion Dust
Like Dandelion Dust
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 7/3/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I couldn't put this book down. I wanted to so badly to know how it ended! I did end up skipping some of the middle of the book because I just really wanted to know the end! Definitely a tear-jerker."


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 7/3/2011


"I couldn't finish it once I started reading it. I had great expectations because of all the good press and hype about the book. I found it strange and not my style at all."


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1373
Review Date: 7/3/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"One of my favorite books. A simple story about an ordinary family, but this book will speak to the soul and touch your heart. I laughed hard and cried too. I also loved the movie which was pretty true to the book. Great read."


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 868
Review Date: 4/3/2011


"Loved it. I saw the movie a few years back and was worried that having seen the movie would ruin the book experience for me. Fortunately, I only saw the movie once and didn't remember what happened between the main character and the chairman. There is also a lot of detail in the book that is not in the movie. I would read and read and look up and realize that I'd been reading for several hours. A story that is very easy to get into."


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5330
Review Date: 1/13/2011


"Not a bad read. I enjoyed it, but certainly not an all-time favorite."


The Mistress's Daughter
The Mistress's Daughter
Author: A. M. Homes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/2/2011


"Hearing the story from the viewpoint of the adoptee as an adult was very interesting. I felt like many people don't realize how it feels to be adopted unless they are in that position. But as another reviewer said, I tired of the self-pity. I felt like the book was one big complaint about her life. I also felt like the book got a little boring at times. I didn't get to the end because I got tired of hearing her complain."


My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 7/10/2011


"Read this book wanting something lighthearted, naughty and funny. This book was downright nasty and kind of depressing. I guess it was just too much for me. The "escapades" were not really funny. I found this to be over the top raunchy and it kind of disgusted me. Sorry Chelsea."


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: