purplepassions1 - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
Allergies
Allergies
Author: T. A. Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


What can I say about "Allergies"? All in all it is a decent book. Not the greatest, but decent. In my opinion the book lacks a sense of flow during intense moments. For instance, when Ray sees Lou shift in front of him, and when Ray and Lou's mother talk for the first time. Each moment feels contrived, as if the author has not yet figured out how to execute anger from his mind to pen and paper. However, the author does nail intimacy very well. This is the first time I have read a book by this author and I will try another.


The Assignment (Valenti & O'Brian, Bk 1)
The Assignment (Valenti & O'Brian, Bk 1)
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 9/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love love love this book! If I was stranded on a deserted island and could only takes my top five favorite books with me, this book would be included. While some aspects of the book are a bit cliché and somewhat predictable it does not distract from the text. This is an easy and fun read that keeps you looking forward to the next scene. "The Assignment" is an absolute necessity for a summer read!


Bite
Bite
Author: Sean Michael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


There are several flaws in this book but one of the biggest is the lifeless and one dimensional characters. All Anton ever seems to think or say is "Mine, mine, mine, mine!" It's exhausting to read "mine" for 219 pages. Greg's character is no better with his stunted speech. With him constantly saying the word "Dude" I became bored very easily.

Another flaw is that the book reads as one continuous sex scene. Granted this is an erotic romance, however, around the 8th scene I found myself rolling my eyes at the ridiculousness of each lack luster sex scene. Every sex scene is the same. One of the main characters is a chef, you would at least think this would give the author a chance to be a little more creative...


Black Wade: The Wild Side of Love
Black Wade: The Wild Side of Love
Author: Franze, Andaerle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/12/2011


This book is by far my favorite purchase of 2011. "Black Wade" is much more than a comic book, it is in essence-- a work of art. The illustrations are so crisp and detailed every image automatically captures your attention and keeps dreading the end, yet longing for what you will discover on the next page. My only hope is that Franze & Andaerle are currently working on the second installment. I am glad I paid the $22.99 to buy the last copy on amazon.com.


The Blacker the Berry
The Blacker the Berry
Author: Lena Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/11/2011


The first story did not hold my attention. I found my mind wandering every other paragraph. The story was good but for someone reason it just did not grab me. The second story was a lot better. Tamara's humor pumped up the plot and kept me entertained. I also liked how the author incorporated Charlotte and Ty.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 8/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


While this is a cute story it is not the best story. I found it hard to get over all the exclamation points in the book. I know the author needs to emphasize certain sentences but come on, could there BE any more exclamation points in this book!


The Cat (Sons of Destiny, Bk 5)
The Cat (Sons of Destiny, Bk 5)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/12/2008
Helpful Score: 3


When I first began reading this book I had high hopes. Unfortunately, the book did not reach my expectations. The writer spends an unnecessary amount of time explaining the most minute details to the point of exhaustion. The reader does not need every detail explained, sometimes it is better to let the reader form their own perception. The three days it took me to complete this book felt like a life-time. I found the hero reserved and boring while the heroine comes off as self absorbed and annoying.


Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy, Bk 1)
Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 11/17/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I wanted to love this book. Unfortunately, I don't even like it. Throughout the entire book I found myself asking "Who is Ethan?" Adam is described as possessive-- the older dominate brother with a past love interest. Ryan is seen as stubborn, young, and coming to grips with his personal demons. What is Ethan seen as..? The "funny one" yet he never says anything funny! The author provides absolutely no background into who Ethan is or was before he met Holly.

In the midst of the author trying to create a realistic world where a woman has three lovers (who happen to be brothers) she continually left out an integral character. Ethan simply appears in the book as someone who is there to lend a "helping hand". For example, Ethan can play chauffeur when rushing to the hospital; agree with whatever Adam says for the betterment of their woman; and even play with a nipple when all other orifices are currently occupied. Ethan and Holly's "one on one couple time" in this book is signified by one event (the shower scene) where as Adam and Ryan continually have "one on one" sessions that last entire pages and are sporadically dispersed through the book. Ryan and Adam constantly touch Holly in loving ways ( a grace of a hand against a cheek, a peck on the lips, etc etc) Ethan shows his affection for Holly by giving an enthusiastic smile or a quick hug.

Other than the fact that the book gets off to a corny start ( I found myself rolling my eyes at several scenes depicted in the beginning) I really wanted to like this book. However, I just couldn't stop myself from asking "Who is Ethan, and what is his role in this awkward relationship?"


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 804
Review Date: 1/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


After reading the preface I should have known I would love this book and I hated it at the same time. The preface reeks of an unhappy ending. As you read the story you instinctively know exactly what is going to happen from one chapter to the other. Nothing is a mystery. This is one of those stories where you hope everyone ends up happy in the end, but the person your pulling for the most gets screwed.


A Elementary and Intermediate Algebra: Concepts and Applications Combined Approach (3rd Edition)
Review Date: 2/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Product Description
The goal of Elementary and Intermediate Algebra: Concepts and Applications, 4e is to help today's students learn and retain mathematical concepts by preparing them for the transition from "skills-oriented" elementary and intermediate algebra courses to more "concept-oriented" college-level mathematics courses, as well as to make the transition from "skill" to "application." This edition continues to bring your students a best-selling text that incorporates the five-step problem-solving process, real-world applications, proven pedagogy, and an accessible writing style. The Bittinger/Ellenbogen/Johnson series has consistently provided teachers and students with the tools needed to succeed in developmental mathematics. This revision has an even stronger focus on vocabulary and conceptual understanding as well as making the mathematics even more accessible to students. Among the features added are new Concept Reinforcement exercises, Student Notes that help students avoid common mistakes, and Study Summaries that highlight the most important concepts and terminology from each chapter. -


Fairyville (Fairyville, Bk 1)
Fairyville (Fairyville, Bk 1)
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 7/10/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Fairyville presents it's self as a romance novel with erotic undertones. However what you get borders on the cusp of homoerotic smut. While I have no problem with homosexuality, I did not expect this book to be riddle with more homoerotic scenes than heterosexual ones. The product description for this book mentioned nothing of the relationship between Alex and Bryan, yet their story is as prominent (if not more so) than the supposed feature story. I must admit that I am not the biggest Emma Holly fan. The majority of the books I have read by this author were not to my liking, however, I figured I would give it one last shot. I wish I hadn't.


The Forgotten Heroes : The Story of the Buffalo Soldiers
The Forgotten Heroes : The Story of the Buffalo Soldiers
Author: Clinton Cox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


From Publishers Weekly
In this well-researched, revealing book, journalist Cox ( Undying Glory ) tells the story of the all-black units of the 9th and 10th Cavalry, also known as the Buffalo Soldiers. The book focuses on the years between 1866 and 1891, when the Buffalo Soldiers rode hundreds of thousands of miles on the western frontier, mapping uncharted territory and laying the groundwork for the creation of eight states. They achieved these goals despite consistently being treated as inferiors, receiving the poorest horses and equipment, and being assigned tasks considered too dangerous for white soldiers. Of equal interest is the role the Buffalo Soldiers played in removing Native Americans from their homelands; the author effectively argues that the American government--George Armstrong Custer and Theodore Roosevelt in particular--used one oppressed group to systematically destroy another in order to win land for white settlers under the guise of patriotism. Cox eloquently articulates the dilemma many soldiers faced as they were forced to choose between their jobs and their consciences. Although the narrative sometimes falls into a cataloguing of expeditions and battles, it provides new insights into a fascinating piece of American history and challenges traditional visions of westward expansion. Ages 8-14.
Copyright 1993 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist
Gr. 7-12. After the Civil War, two U.S. Cavalry regiments of African American soldiers were assigned to the frontier to uphold law and order, protect settlers, carry the mail, and solve "the Indian problem." The irony of black soldiers in search of new lives helping to destroy Native Americans who wanted to keep their way of life intact is not lost on Cox. It colors his narration of the tragic and heroic events that occurred and is even apparent in his chapter titles. To keep his perspective intimate, Cox makes it a point to talk about specific men (white, African American, and Native American) by name, give their personal stories, and place them in our national history. Illustrated with black-and-white photographs and enlivened by quotes from primary sources, this is history as epic tragedy--the story of a people released from slavery but not free, and of a free people destroyed in the name of Manifest Destiny. Janice Del Negro --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Full Moon (Dark Guardian, Bk 2)
Full Moon (Dark Guardian, Bk 2)
Author: Rachel Hawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Lindsey is annoying and her indecisiveness drove me crazy. From page 1 to 245 the book is literally filled with incessant psycho babble that finally came to a conclusion within the last 8 pages. It was a struggle to finish this book due to Lindsey repetitive inner dialog that was spouted like a mantra. Lindsey questions everything from "Do I love Conner?", "Do I love Rafe?", "Do I deserve love?", "Do either of them really love me?", " Should I pick Conner?", "Should I pick Rafe", "What will happen to Conner if I choose Rafe?", "Is Rafe a killer?" and on and on and on!

I loved the first book in this series but Lindsey's installment was a utter disappointment. If I didn't already own books 3 and 4 I would probably discontinue reading the series. Hopefully the other two books will be better.


Interacciones Spa 201/202
Interacciones Spa 201/202
Author: Emily Spinelli, Carmen Garcia, Carol E. Galvin Flood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/17/2009


INTERACCIONES is an all-inclusive intermediate-level text that allows the student to build on their prior knowledge of Spanish language and encourages them to progress beyond what they have already mastered. While focusing on the four-skills of language learning, INTERACCIONES also teaches the student to function within Hispanic culture by providing many opportunities to practice using the language in real contexts.

Review
"the Panoramas, Culturales, Perspectivas and Interacciones sections have worked well providing both good opportunities to read and listen and speak, as well as presenting interesting topics to discuss."

"We liked the fact that it is a very complete textbook with an adequate number of chapters to teach in our two-semester sequence of intermediate Spanish."

"We are currently using INTERACCIONES, mainly because of its good review of basic Spanish, good supplementary exercises, clear grammar explanations, and online web page. Our students are thriving with this program."

"Although we have looked at an array of texts, we still prefer the content that we find in INTERACCIONES. The multimedia components are a key factor in our consideration of this textwe are drawn to the book because the basic content is solid and features good exercises that reinforce the material."

"Rarely have I found a book that is as clear in its explanation of relative pronouns, if clauses, and other more complex grammar points. It is one reason that this book stands out from the others."


Into His Keeping
Into His Keeping
Author: Gail Faulkner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/25/2011


First of all, being called "My little whore" is NOT a turn on!

For a guy who cherished Jill so much he sure did call her a slew of unsavory names: "whore", "cunt", "bitch", "slut". Honestly, could you call your partner those names (truly believe them every time you use those terms) and still profess your undying love? Or if the situation was reversed would you really want to be with someone who constantly called you degrading names? No one's nickname/pet name should be "my little slut."

Another thing that bother me is Holdin continual being referred to as a "wild beast" or "predator"; more so than any shifter I have read about in a paranormal romance.

On a positive note the author did a good job of maintaining the story line while infusing erotic elements, but for me the "terms of endearment" were a bit too much.


Leave Me Breathless
Leave Me Breathless
Author: Trista Ann Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 10/25/2009
Helpful Score: 4


For the life of me I could not get into this book. The dialogue did not seem genuine, the characters were lacking, and the over abundance of sex was unnecessary. If your looking for a better read from this author I suggest "Their One and Only". There is a bit more character development and the dialogue is slightly more believable.


The Millionaire Tycoon's English Rose (Rinucci Brothers, Bk 6) (Harlequin Romance, No 3992)
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Product Description
Swept into the Italian's arms... Independent and strong-willed, Celia Ryland never lets her blindness affect the way she lives her life -- she thrives on feeling free! Gorgeous Italian Francesco Rinucci has never met a woman with such a zest for life -- he loves everything about Celia. But he finds himself wanting to wrap her in cotton wool to protect his precious English rose from all that's dangerous in the world... And although Celia is falling fast for passionate Francesco, she needs to show him that truly loving someone means letting them be free...


My Prerogative (Dungeon, Bk 5)
My Prerogative (Dungeon, Bk 5)
Author: Sasha White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 3/25/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I think "My Prerogative" is one of the best erotic romance stories I have come across in a long time. The story focuses on Kelsey's journey to self discovery. A journey which unveils the scariest of her inner truths; that she does not embody the qualities of the person she believes herself to be.

Always deemed the outsider, or singled out due to physicality, she projected a self imposed barrier to protect not only her heart, but her mind as well. However, in her efforts to allude others into believing she was the equivalent of a modern day superwoman, she also became alluded by the illusion. It is not merely love that makes Kelsey see the error of her ways. It is acceptance.

I believe every woman can read this story and recognize a piece of Kelsey in herself. It may not be the raunchy sex or clothes, or the over indulgences. Instead, you may recognize the wants and fears. Wanting to be loved, wanting to be accepted-flaws and all, wanting to feel a part of something special.


Nine Tenths of the Law
Nine Tenths of the Law
Author: L. A. Witt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/3/2011


The author started out with a great premise: can two people really build a relationship on hate and sex? And if they can, should they?

For all of the romanticism in this book there is a lack of true love. The author does not make the reader privy to any facet that binds these two together. Honestly, the only thing these characters have in common are Jack, incredible sex, and a good sense of humor. Each conversation between the two main characters is either about trust or Jack. What else do they have in common? The author does not explain.

The characters exhibit a strong sense of passion toward each other, but each encounter is marked by sex, or the beginning of an argument. The story is told from the sole perspective of Zach (which may have been a mistake.) The author does not delve into who Nathan is besides the fact that he is lawyer who has been in several bad relationships. The author also does not describe what Zach looks like.

There is no resolution in terms of their relationship and Jack. With how persistent Jack was throughout the book I doubt his last angry phone call would have been the end of his involvement in their relationship. The author did not even attempt to explain how these two would truly move past Jack and trust one another besides simply stating "I trust you." In the end they come to the resolution to trust each other, but still what do they have in common and what truly brings them together as a lasting couple?

Samhain Publishing is marketing this book as a m/m "romance". When I think of a romance novel I envision less sex and more character/ world building. If this was marketed as a erotic book I may have been more receptive to the lack of characterization.


Polar Reaction
Polar Reaction
Author: Claire Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


*Sigh* I should have known this book was not my cup of tea when I zoned out on the first page. Nothing about the book seems authentic. The characters lack substance, the plot is somewhat inconceivable, and the writing is subpar.

What can I say about Polar Reaction. I waited a long time to read this book and when I finished it, I could not have been more disappointed. I think I may have amped my expectations because I was so eager to read this m/m/m romance with a great synopsis. I struggled to finish this book and it is definitely a title I will not read again.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: