Jessica J. (dumpysunshine) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Angus Lost
Angus Lost
Author: Marjorie Flack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/20/2007


This is one of the few books that I remember from early childhood. I adored Angus!


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The plot of this book was awesome. I shudder at the amount of profanity, however. It is a great book if you can tolerate the profane.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 997
Review Date: 2/28/2006


Typical Grisham. Great read.


Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was an excellent account of a mother and her daughter's journey through a tumultuous life. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing although it was difficult to read at times. The writing was so descriptive; it was easy to imagine being right there watching it happen.


The Everything Pregnancy Book
The Everything Pregnancy Book
Author: Maryann B. Brinley, Howard Berk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/4/2007


Good reference book for a new mom-to-be


Fourteen: Growing Up Alone in a Crowd
Fourteen: Growing Up Alone in a Crowd
Author: Stephen Zanichkowsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Excellent memoir of a trouble life growing up in a large family. Not for the faint of heart as it was very forthright and honest but also incredibly sincere.


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 523
Review Date: 4/24/2006


This was a humourous look at a normal life. I enjoyed it.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3396
Review Date: 3/4/2007


While I am sure the values of this book are numerous and the memoir intriguing, I was unable to get more than 25 pages into it due to the profound vulgarity and profanity found therein. Ms. Walls went through a horrific childhood and I do sympathize with her plight, but I do not need to experience the same profane language through her memoir.


The Holes in Your Nose (My Body Science Series)
The Holes in Your Nose (My Body Science Series)
Author: Genichiro Yagyu
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/24/2006


I was really excited about sharing this book with my daughter, but after reading through it and seeing that it uses the word "booger", I thought better of sharing it with her. We avoid that word and have chosen other alternatives to that word.


Lost and Found
Lost and Found
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is the best current fiction I've read since the last Jodi Picout novel. Great read! Especially if you love reality television.


Making Children Mind Without Losing Yours
Making Children Mind Without Losing Yours
Author: Kevin Leman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/24/2006


Dr. Kevin Leman is an excellent resource for parents.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5400
Review Date: 10/30/2006


This is, by far, the best book I've read in a very long time. It is poetic, but intriguing at the same time. I loved it.


The Messies Manual
The Messies Manual
Author: Sandra Felton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2006


This book is great for the Messies in the World. I have already started trying to be a Cleanie.


Nearer Than the Sky
Nearer Than the Sky
Author: Tammy Greenwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/3/2007


Excellent! Very gripping. Not for the faint of heart and not for one who has had experience dealing with someone with Munchausen Syndrome by proxy.


Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 6/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book in a thrift store for .50 cents! Can you believe it?
In any case, I found this book to be very typical Picoult. It was good, but not that good. While she did a good job of fictionalizing a real event (Columbine) and expressing feelings, etc... from the victims and relatives, I felt that it lacked depth. Really, how can you form into words the horror of a mass school shooting?


Review Date: 12/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I think this book is an excellent weapon in our arsenal of housecleaning supplies. I have read through it but find myself going back continually to look up something or see what the author says about a particular part of housekeeping. I've used several of her suggestions with great results. Her information is practical and not so out of this world that the average homemaker can't try out her ideas. I've encountered some books that recommend such outrageous "organic" ideas that I just toss the book, but this isn't the case here. I highly recommend this book to any homemaker that wants to make her home a little more natural and organic.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2409
Review Date: 3/7/2007


This book was horrible. It was full of profane vulgarity and it is a mark on the face of literature. However, I paid full price for it and want to at least get a trade out of it.


Songs of the Humpback Whale
Songs of the Humpback Whale
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 3/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Certainly not her best work. I give her some leeway as I think this was her first novel. Not sure how she made herself famous with this one though.


Thank You for All Things (Wal)
Thank You for All Things (Wal)
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/9/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book was a really good read, but I could have done without the massive amounts of profanity.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5269
Review Date: 2/26/2007


"A most untraditional love story...."

This was, by far, the best book I have read in years. It was an awesome tale that I could not put down. Despite the jumping around in time, it was enthralling. The author does a good job of documenting the time of the present chapter and makes it easy to keep of with the flow of time travel.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: