Cyndi W. (tullydog) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
1491 : New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
1491 : New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
Author: Charles C. Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 4/16/2007


Very interesting and informative book. Makes you think about things a little differently on the conquering of North America.


Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 9/27/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Loved this book, I know its not historically correct but never the less I loved it, Could imagine how they were dressed and what life might have been like. Would recommend to any one who likes historical novels


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fantastic read. I couldn't put it down and was dad to have it end. Makes you think about how people lived in another era.


Blue Horizon ( (Courtney, Bk 11)
Blue Horizon ( (Courtney, Bk 11)
Author: Wilbur Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/16/2007


One of my favorite authors. A great adventure. Never a dull moment.


Cleopatra: A Biography
Cleopatra: A Biography
Author: Stacy Schiff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I had a difficult time getting through the book. Very dry and full of facts. I did get some information and a clearer picture of her.


Coal Black Horse
Coal Black Horse
Author: Robert Olmstead
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/16/2009


very gruesome read but i couldn't stop reading.


Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History
Review Date: 9/19/2011


This was extremely interesting to me. Made me think alot about both sides and gave me a whole different view on history and how it is written. If you like historical fact you will like this


A Fine Balance
A Fine Balance
Author: Rohinton Mistry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 1/4/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I have to say, even as brutal as this book is it rarely leaves my mind. It is an amzing look at life in India and makes me so grateful for where I was born. It is a very descriptive and huanting story. One of the top 10 books I've read


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 4/16/2007


As all Patterson books.. a great read.


Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Author: Jamie Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 574
Review Date: 6/22/2011


Loved this read..


Love First: A Family's Guide to Intervention
Love First: A Family's Guide to Intervention
Author: Jeff Jay, Debra Jay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2010


This has been the most helpful book I have read about dealing with a family member who is an addict and how to get them help. The only reason I posted this one is because I have a 2nd


Loving Frank
Loving Frank
Author: Nancy Horan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 8/7/2010


I just loved this book and have given it to many to read and they all feel the same way. the characters just came alive for me.


Moloka'i
Moloka'i
Author: Alan Brennert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 8/21/2007


I loved this book and all the characters in it. Was sad to have it end. I don't think alot of people are aware that we have a lepor colony in the United States.


Nefertiti (Nefertiti, Bk 1)
Nefertiti (Nefertiti, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 8/5/2012


Quick read...loved it


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1994
Review Date: 8/21/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I read this book because I started it and every one talked about it. I really disliked it. Very dark and disturbing.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2108
Review Date: 8/20/2007
Helpful Score: 3


One of my favorites. It is amazing to read about other cultures and what thyre women went through. I know this is fiction but it is historically correct about women's lives in that point of time. Thank goodness we live here and now.


The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
Author: David Wroblewski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 11/23/2008
Helpful Score: 7


I couldn't put this book down in the beginning, about 1/2 way through I completely lost interest and it was a struggle to finish it. It just got too far out there for me. I understand it was a struggle between good and evil but the end made no sense to me at all.


A Thousand Splendid Suns
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1562
Review Date: 4/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. Read it in two evenings. We American women are so fortunate to live here in the US and I know that I am so very fortunate to have a loving husband. The violence these women have put up with just boggles me. They are so strong.


The Visitation
The Visitation
Author: Frank Peretti
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Actually got this for some one else..he had all ready read it said it was a fantastic read


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4709
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A fantastic read. I devoured this book in 2 days. Very sad story and have thought about it for days.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: