Elizabeth P. (Ireadtomuch) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Wisdom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 2/18/2009
Helpful Score: 5


The title sounded interesting, and the man eating bunny slippers were a neat idea. That's about where things ended for me. I didn't even finish this book before I posted it, I did struggle through 3/4th of the book, might have missed a really cool ending, but I don't think so. If you like the Betsy vampire series this book will probably be up your alley, I prefer the Anita Blake series, if that's your preference as well, then I suggest you skip this one. Of course, I did find this book useful for getting another credit to get more books.


The Acceptance (Servant, Bk 2)
The Acceptance (Servant, Bk 2)
Author: L. L. Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 2/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the second book in the series, it is better than the first. There is better character development and the lead character becomes someone that can be related to. In the first book, I had a hard time liking the main character, her behavior just seemed psychotic. I originally picked up this book because another author made a comparision to J.D. Robb's Eve Dallas character in the early In Death series. I didn't see the comparision in the first book, but it is definately evident in this book. So...if you like Eve, I recommend this series, and I'm looking forward to the next installment.


Before I Wake (Nightmare Chronicles, Bk 1)
Before I Wake (Nightmare Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 11/28/2008


A little slow in the beginning, but once I got past 150 pages,I couldn't put it down, I'll be waiting for future installments of the Nightmare Chronicles.


Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 6/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I see this book as being the natural progression of the series. To take a line from the book, Anita (and Richard) are just 'out-monstering the monsters'...because Anita won't back down from a fight...especially when it comes to protecting the weak and innocent.


Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 751
Review Date: 2/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


as I have been debating continuing to read this series, I jumped ahead a few books and read Dead in the Family. I have been pleasantly surprised by this installment in the series. I am looking forward to completing the series.


Good Omens
Good Omens
Author: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 589
Review Date: 4/13/2009


Wow, really makes you think about a few things. The ending is worth wading through the middle. If you liked the movie "Dogma" this is a book for you


Hotter Than Hell
Hotter Than Hell
Author: Martin H. Greenberg (Editor), Kim Harrison (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 11/29/2008


Nice collection of HOT short stories, introduced me to authors I hadn't read before.


Micah (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 13)
Micah (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 13)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1081
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I think that Micah deserves more...maybe another time. All the other men in Anita's life have been developed so much more that Micah has been so far. I hope that his importance in Anita's life is reveiled in more depth at a later date. All things considered it is an awesome series of the type that I don't usually read, but I sure can't wait for each book as they are released. The changes that Anita goes through in her life and the men that support her are why I keep reading.


One Silent Night (Dark-Hunter, Bk 17)
One Silent Night (Dark-Hunter, Bk 17)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 644
Review Date: 11/25/2008
Helpful Score: 6


While this book in the series isn't one of my favorites...let's face it, Archeron was amazing and will be a hard installment in the series to top. I think Styker's story was important to tell in the overall scheme of the series. I especially like the psychology that is threaded through the series, ie.family and friends. This book in the series will tide me over until the next one is released, I much prefer reading about the Dark Hunters and not the bad guys, but sometimes it's important to see the world from the other point of view.


The Rope (Anna Pigeon, Bk 17)
The Rope (Anna Pigeon, Bk 17)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 11/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


If I had read this book first as part of the series, I most likely would not have continued with the series. The placement of this book in the series is brilliant. I have been wondering for several books what motivated Anna. The Rope explains her motivation. Anna Pigeon continues to be an amazing character.


The V Book: A Doctor's Guide to Complete Vulvovaginal Health
Review Date: 1/7/2009


This book is written for patients. As a Women's Health Care Provider I even learned a few treatment tricks that have worked well for my patients from this book. It provides resources for further information, in a clear easy to read format. For anyone looking for answers to problems, a clearer understanding of what their provider has told them, or just wanting to learn more about the "V", this is the book for them.

I loaned my copy out to a patient and haven't seen it since, I think it says it all, usually my patients can't wait to get books back to me.


1 to 11 of 11