Stacey H. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 9/2/2008


It's a good book to read on vacation or in a hot tub.


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 987
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Maybe I picked a bad time to read it, but I got bored very quick with this book.


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 9/2/2008


I read icy sparks a while ago, so this is what I remember.

I loved the book. I was delayed at a train station for 2 hours but did not care because I had this book. I found the book to be very touching, parts I cried. I think it was excellently written and the more I read the more I was drawn in.

It was a book where I felt like I knew the characters.


In Cold Blood
In Cold Blood
Author: Truman Capote
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 735
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


It was slow at first, but I loved everything about it. I loved the attention to detail to the point I felt I was there. I loved the emotion that was expressed in the book. I love how he was able to take a true crime story that was so emotional, but at the same time make it a good read.

I've read many true crime stories and this was far my favorite.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2145
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Considering James Frey did not go through that experience, he did an excellent job of writing about it. It was first tried to be published as fiction, but it was turned down. Only when submitted as non-fiction was it published. Instead of making a big deal that many details were false, why can't we look at ourselves and question why it didn't make it as fiction.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1253
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I can't say more than it was one of the best books I've read.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I read it for a high school class. I found the story line to be incredibly depressing, but it can be refreshing to step out of the over glamorized life books and television and read something of a struggle. Although I think the author went too far with showing struggles to the point of being way unrealistic.

It was a long book, but a very fast read. It was a book I could not put down, even though parts annoyed me, but I had to know what happened next. Despite some changes I would make to the story line, this book drew me in and I was upset when it was over because I wanted more.

If you are looking for a depressing book that is addicting I suggest it.


White Oleander
White Oleander
Author: Janet Fitch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 836
Review Date: 9/2/2008


I could not get through it


1 to 8 of 8