ChrissyVas - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Betrayal
Betrayal
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/2/2013


At 374 pages this book was a very quick read. If I didn't have so many distractions it could have been read in one day rather than two. I came across this book when looking at the newest reviews. It sounded like something I would read so I requested the book and I'm glad I did.

The beginning is a little slow at first but quickly picks up the paces and has you at the edge of your seat for the rest of your read. You really feel for Kate as she is going through what must be hell for someone in their position.

Kate and her husband Alex have a kennel for breeding dogs which used to belong to Kate's parents before Alex purchased it from them. Her parents pass from a terrible car crash before they have the chance to see their daughter and Alex become a couple and get married. Alex's best friend from grade school visits him and his wife often with their two daughters Emily and Sara. Sara is totally spoiled beyond belief and it's no wonder how she turned out the way she does. Emily is the oldest and is nothing like her parents where as Sara is the spitting image of her mother.

Sara accuses Alex of molesting her and that's when Kate and Alex's hell begin. Sadly Alex's best friend Don doesn't believe him despite the fact that he knows his daughter is a lying little brat. I don't want to go into more detail as that would give away to the book but it really does get good from the time the trials begin till the ending of the book that have surprises in between.


Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont, #15)
Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont, #15)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 2/21/2008


Beau is on vacation and trying to keep his sanity while he is stuck situated at a table with a group of women. One of which is a very crass woman that doesn't know when to keep quiet. This woman falls over board and there is controversy of whether she commited sucide or if she was murdered. There are undercover FBI agents on borad that ask for Beau's assistance. Can he stay on the wagon and out of trouble while he helps out?


Bless This Mouse
Bless This Mouse
Author: Lois Lowry, Eric Rohmann (illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/11/2011


The writer shows such creativity with this quick and light read, took only a matter of an hour or so. Originally I downloaded this from our library to my kindle to see if it would be something I would read to my 9 month old daughter based on the cover of the book. The library didn't have any info on the title, just a picture of the cover. So I was assuming this was a picture style book for little kids. This turned out to be a short novel for a child around 8-10 years of age.

This is about mice that live in a church. They are "humanized" so to speak with their own culture, "president" but called Head Mousetress, and their own problems. The head moustress has to ensure the saftey of her fellow mice, keeping track of the events that take place at the church so that she knows when it is safe for them to hunt for food etc.

One of the mice has another liter of baby mice and is warned that she should not have anymore as they are trying to stay hidden, and do not need the Father of the church to become aware there is an infestation of mice for fear of another "X". The time of the "X" as they call it, is when the Father of the church realizes there is an infestation and he calls an eXterminator. They lost almost half of their population.

They get wind of another "X" that is to come and try everything to avoid the minister calling the "great X" with no luck. Head Moustress has to safely guide everyone outside to sleep for 2 days to avoid another castastrophy. The mice have other worries to contend with and the head moustress and her close friend have to figure out a way to be able to go back inside after the exterminator leaves with all of the traps they are sure will be hidden in the church.

Very cute little story of courage and faith. Your child will be sure to love it.


Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 11/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was another wonderful read, I could not put the book down. The town of Lake Eden is preparing for the winter carnival that they have each year and this year is especially special because they are having a celebrity chef joining in their festivites, Connie Mac. They consider her televisions cooking sweetheart and the mayor and other businesses want to please the pain in the rear end.

The mayor asks Hannah if she would give Mrs. Mac a tour of Lake Eden as she has requested Hannah to be the one to give her the official tour. Hannah agrees to keep the mayor happy and she is sorry she accepted the task. She sees first hand how rude this cooking "sweetheart" treats and manipulates everyone. Hannah learns that her best friend from childhood (Janie) is the stars personal assistant and she feels sorry for her, and anyone else that has to work with her.

After her encounter with Connie she is glad to go back to the Cookie Jar to be able to be away from the wicked with of the west. But it is short lived as Janie calls her at the store to ask her a huge favor, Connie's delivery truck that was carrying the carnival cake had crashed and was ruined. She needed to use a commercial kitchen to make a new cake in time for the winter carnival. Hannah agrees only because she doesn't want the star to take out her anger of rejection on her assistant.

The next day the star is found murdered and there is a long list of possible suspects including her childhood friend. Hannah knows that Janie didn't do it and she wants to clear her friends name. The book takes some twists and turns with more secrets and lies. It didn't take long to figure out who the murderer was but was still fun to read. I was glad to have been done with Connie Mac after a few pages, she's someone that you would just want to slap silly.

The whole is the sister pregnant thing got annoying, you would think after already having one child she would have figured out that she was pregnant with child number two or at least take a pregnancy test just to shut Hannah up after being told repeadedly that she was. The only other flaw of the book is that the author really needs to have Hannah just pick a guy already, she keeps going back and forth. The author really needs to make the relationship between either Norman or Mike stick and be more adult and not so juvenile. I hope in the next book she has Hannah pick one already or kill one of them off, SOMETHING!

Overall, great read! The blueberry muffin recipe and the grilled cheese recipe sounded yummy, I can't wait to try them, yum!


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1632
Review Date: 6/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Suzanne Collins does not disappoint in this book. She makes you "hungry" for more. With some unexpected and not so unexpected twists and turns in this book I just couldn't put it down. Then to be left with such a cliffhanger. I can hardly wait to read the third book in this series.

After the first book Hunger Games when Katniss and Peeta won the hunger games by beating the Capital at it's own sick games. They each live in brand new houses with never having to fear a lack of food or anything for that matter. However Katniss can't seem to shake the feeling that she, her friends and family will be punished by what the President sees as rebellion by choosing to try and commit suicide in the arena when she and Peeta are the remaining players as neither one can kill the other. She is haunted by her nightmares and every knock at her door makes her jump as she thinks it could be someone coming to take her into custody.

The love triangle of Katniss, Peeta and Gale is questionable. You would think by the way the first book ended that she would have chosen Gale. In this book it seems that she is still somewhat torn between the two. I hope there is a more definite answer of whom she chooses in the third.

Months later there is what they call the Quarter Quells, in which they have another drawing of names only this time it is of the Victors. Where a new arena awaits, and is more deadly than the last as it seems the capitol doesn't want any survivors, perhaps to crush the spirits of every person in each district to gain control of the rebelling that has been happening. The book certainly leaves you hanging for the final book. Overall, great read.


Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 10/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book and was finished in a day and a half, it was a quick and easy read. At first I didn't think I was going to enjoy reading this book, it seemed like a cheesy who done it mystery in the beginning. I was trying out the library borrowing via download onto the kindle and figured I might as well read the book after figuring out how to download it.

I am very glad I downloaded this book and stuck through the first two chapters. I became sucked in to trying to figure out the mystery as well as craved cookies after the first few recipes. Hannah's pushy mother Delores was irritating most of the time trying to play match maker to her eldest daughter Hannah.

The only thing that was obviously wrong about the book was the fact that Hannah's brother-in-law Bill the detective was allowing Hannah to question people and become part of helping to locate who the murderer was. No detective in their right mind would allow someone, let alone a family member go around asking questions to help figure out the identity of the killer. Despite that, the book latched on to my attention and I didn't want to put it down. I went to bed late one night and got up early before my 9 1/2 month hold to get some reading in. I can't wait to read the next book. So many books, so little time!


Coffee, Tea or Me? The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses
Review Date: 9/10/2011


This was written back when homosexuality was an issue in the public eye. So if you're not open minded perhaps you should skip this book as it describes the era of flights. I don't believe this is meant to be offensive, it was just a different time back then. It gives you an idea of how the stewardesses of this time period had to represent the airlines, and the crap they had to endure with their passengers. They recount funny moments, serious ones, and risqué situations as well...for their time frame. An easy light read with short chapters and drawings that perhaps are to take up space? Take it or leave.


Dying Young
Dying Young
Author: Marti Leimbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/21/2008


This was a wonderful book! I have kept a copy of this so that I can read it again and again. This is about a woman that is hired to take care of a young man that is diagnosed with lukemia. They fall in love with each other and try to ignore that he is sick. At times it eats her up inside, because he will not seek treatment. He's tired of the doctors and of being sick so there are many days where she goes out because he sleeps all day.

She ends up meeting another young man and has an affair with him for a short while. The man with the disease can be very vulgar, rude, and tends to have a bit of a dry sense of humor. The book makes you want to scream at times and others it makes you want to start crying so be ready for a roller coaster ride.


The End of the Road
The End of the Road
Author: John Barth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2013


CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!!! CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!

In the beginning the book was very boring, so much so that I read the book on and off having to start over several times. The main characters Jake Horner, Joe Morgan and his wife Rennie Morgan debated/argued over the dumbest insignificant things, for example:

"Hello?"
"Jacob? This is Rennie Morgan. Will you have dinner with us tonight?"
"Why, for God's sake?" This Jacob Horner was an irritable type.
"Why?"
"Yes. Why the Hell are you all so anxious to feed me dinner?"
"Are you angry?"
"No, I'm not angry. I just want to know why you're all so anxious to feed me a dinner?"
"Don't you want to come?"
"I didn't say that. Why are you all so anxious to feed me a dinner? That's all I asked."

(Most normal people wouldn't have pressed the issue and would have just basically written them off as one less person to have to see and deal with in life.)

This went on for at least two pages. YAWN! Not to mention other discussions/arguments/debates were all pretty much this way. Pointless, and needless in the book. Took up most of the book and in my opinion was really just a LOT of filler. The real interesting parts were mostly more than half way through the book.

Jacob refers to the weather a lot when he refers to his moods which I found odd. He even has a dream about it which is even more bizarre. I understand the time frame in the book to be in the early 1950's when striking a woman, even beating her was acceptable but seriously it just made the characters very weak when in fact what primarily Rennie was made to be more of a strong type. It was rather appalling to say the least knowing the the original copyright of the book was of 1958 almost in the 60's when a lot of women started not putting up with such crap.

Joe has Rennie give riding lessons to Jacob to keep Rennie sharp on her ability to debate at least that's how I saw it really and not as a hook up. While he worked on his paper. Joe is portrayed as the domineer type that is always in control and a rather annoying know it all figure. What makes me hate Joe even more is that his wife Rennie things he is all strong and nothing can take him down and that he is so perfect in every way, even though a real man would never hit a woman whether or not she is his wife. The writer shows Jacob as someone that doesn't have anyway to make his solid decisions but rather wear a different mask with each question or argument depending what the subject matter. Rennie seemed to be a people pleaser even though she's supposed to be free of those types of qualities.

My favorite part of the book is when Jacob and Rennie come back from a ridding lesson and they spy on Joe while he is in his study room alone.......

"Want to eavesdrop?" I whispered impulsively to Rennie. "Come on, it's great! see the animals in their natural habitat."
Rennie looked shocked. "What for?"
"You mean you never spy on people when they're alone? It's wonderful! Come on, be a sneak! It's the most unfair thing you can do to a person."

.......blah blah blah, a couple of paragraphs later.......

"It is indeed the grossest of injustices to observe a person who believes himself to be alone. Joe Morgan, back from his Boy Scouts meeting, had evidently intended to do some reading, for there were books lying open on the writing table and on the floor beside the bookcase. But Joe wasn't reading. He was standing in the exact center of the bare room, fully dressed, smartly executing military commands. About face! Right dress! 'Ten-shun! Parade rest! He saluted briskly, his cheeks blown out and his tongue extended, and then proceeded to cavort about the room-spinning, pirouetting, bowing, leaping, kicking. I watched entranced by his performance, for I cannot say that in my strangest moments (and a bachelor has strange ones) I have surpassed him. Rennie trembled from head to foot. Ah! passing a little mirror on the wall, Joe caught his own eye. What? What? Ahoy there! He stepped close, curtsied to himself, and thrust his face to within two inches of the glass. Mr. Morgan, is it? Howdy do, Mr. Morgan. Blah bloo blah. Oo-o-o-o blubble thlwurp. He mugged antic faces at himself, sklurching up his eye corners, zbloogling his mouth about, glubbling his cheeks. Mither Morgle. Nyoing nyang nyumpie. Vglibble vglobble vglup. Vggiggybloo! Thlucky thlucky, thir. He jabbed his spectacles back on his nose. Had he heard some sound? No. He went to the writing table and apparently resumed his reading, his back turned to us. The show, then, was over. Ah, but one moment-yes. He turned slightly and we could see: his tongue gripped purposefully his lips at the side of his mouth, Joe was masturbating and picking his nose at the same time. I believe he also hummed a sprightly tune in rhythm with his work."

I was glad to see that Joe wasn't so high and mighty after all, probably the best part of the book mind you.

It also shows Jacob as being in a bus station at one time, probably would have been better if it had started that way other than waiting almost half way through to show how he became a professor at a college. He runs into a doctor at the bus station that is supposed to be a psychiatrist and ends up going to his rehabilitation farm as the doctor calls it to be cured from being in a state of paralysis. I thought the doctor was a quack. Probably a nut job that escaped a loony bin himself and pretended to be a doctor running an illegal practice.

Of the craziest things Jacob and Rennie have an affair while Joe is out of town. The two of them only do it once and for the life of either of them they can't remember who engaged in it first or why they did it at all. The odd way that Joe deals with it by wanting his wife and "friend" to continue to do so until they can give a why is just as crazy. I think they're all a little nuts.

Rennie keeps stating that Jacob doesn't exist even before they have an affair, she says this several times in the book as does Jacob, especially after Rennie ends up pregnant. When he leaves in the end to follow the quack of a doctor to the new location that is when he no longer exists, he is giving up his life to be free of having to think for himself and essentially to not "exist". It's his guilt of Rennie's death from the illegal abortion that makes him not want to exist anymore in my opinion. Thus calling it the novel "The End of the Road" is quite fitting. I think for the time frame of the book, it was probably quite shocking when a book of this nature came bout and talked about adultery, and abortion as those were such taboo things in that time period.


Exit Wounds (Joanna Brady, No 11)
Exit Wounds (Joanna Brady, No 11)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 2/23/2008


Excellent story! Three dead women, two of which are reports that were working on a cult (The Bretheren) story which involve young children. The third woman was part of the cult years ago when she was a child and was saved from the hell that she lived every day and was ready to tell her story to make others aware. The women in this cult are worthless according to the cult and are sold and traded like items they no longer need.

By the age of 12 young girls are sold and married off to old perverted horny men. One wedding in which was seceretly filmed and given to the reporters to make public. They find Carol dead in her trailor with her 17 dogs shot to death. And they find the reports in a field striped naked as if it was a case of sexual assult.

Who is the killer? Is it someone from "The Brethern" that does not want their existance known or is it Carol's own father that doesn't want the world to know what he did to her.

At the end of most of her books she gives an explanation of how she came to writing her story. Mostly she'll find something factual that most people don't know about or are unaware of and uses it to create one of her many stories.


Fluffy Chick and Friends (Touch and Feel)
Fluffy Chick and Friends (Touch and Feel)
Author: Roger Priddy
Book Type: Rag Book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/14/2011


Our daughter loves this book! We got this for her when she was a newborn. She is now 9 1/2 months old, my hubby reads it to her just about everyday. He has the book memorized by heart. We have others but I think this is still her favorite. Probably because of the emphasis he's able to put into it. For example:

"With a red comb on it's head, the rooster crows, "GET OUT OF BED!" (the capital section he says in a high pitched sing song roster like crowing sound, if that makes sense.)

When the duck is swimming in the lake, "quack, quack," is the sound she'll make. (he puts an emphasis on the quacking sounds.

"The sheep has a coat of soft white wool. She munches grass until she's FULL!"

"Here's a cow looking at you. Feel her nose, she might say, "MOOOOOOO"

"With a curly tail, here's a pig. Lots of food makes him big!" When he says the word big he makes the pig's tummy look bloated by pushing up the back and squeasing the sides. She laughs at that.

"The goose has a beak, webbed feet and wings. Can you touch one of these things?" He flapps the wing at her and she usually grabs at it and throws the book at him. ha ha ha.

Can hardly wait for her attention span to be a bit longer to really be able to enjoy the other books we have for her. This is a great beginners book. Each animal has different parts on their body for the children to touch while the adult reads aloud. Also very bright and colorful. I will probably buy her a few more of these type of books since she seems to like them so much.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1898
Review Date: 9/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a pretty good read, I wasn't so sure I would like it quite as much as I did considering that I primarily read mystery novels. A friend of mine read the back cover and said it reminder her of Fried Green Tomatoes, perhaps I'll pick that one up next.

The character Georgia makes her tough situation by the choices that she made and turned them around for the better for and her daughter. No matter your path in life there is always a way to change it but it is always up to you do so with or without help.

The women in her knitting shop are of all experience level's and they all have minor stories within the main story. Kind of like their background of how they came into the knitting circle. Each on is different and unique in their own way.

Georgia also shows that you can be a strong person, and still be able to forgive those that hurt you deeply in the past if you are willing to put the hurt aside and try to make your relationships work. Her daughter Dakota is her life and she would do anything for her but also not make her spolied and teacher her right from wrong even when she's so tired from having to do it all.

Dakota's dad comes back into the picture after 12 years of abondonment and needs to make things right with his ex and his child. He realized he was missing out on a good thing and has to prove to Georgia that he was a changed man.

Overall this was a wonderful book, the ending was a bit tough to swallow and makes me wonder how the second and thrid books will be. I guess I'll just have to read on to see if it will keep my interest.


The Happiest Baby on the Block : The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Newborn Baby Sleep Longer
Review Date: 9/17/2011


I have to say that in the beginning this book was a life saver. But once my body stopped producing milk for some unknown reason and we went on to formula she developed severe colic. The techniques did work to an extent and made life a little more manageable. However I do not agree with constantly holding a baby, as a result of continually holding a baby our daughter is now use to it and at 8 months of age while awake we can not set her down without her screaming bloody murder unless we are right next to her playing with her. I would recommend to any mother that once the baby has fallen asleep that they place them in their crib or bassinet and allow them to get use to waking up in their own bed. The book says you cannot spoil your baby by always holding them, phooey! While it has been a challenge with our daughter we are now having to pay the price with our hearing and having to break such an ugly habbit, it's very difficult. Should we decide to have another child we will go about the whole approach quite differently when it comes to holding the baby but otherwise still use the other techniques. With the swaddling, shhhsing sounds and etc.


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2288
Review Date: 6/2/2013


I was surprised at how much I would like this book. It's pretty much about survival in a messed up society beyond belief in an almost dictator kind of way. The world is broken down into what they call 12 districts and each year they (the Capitol, or mayor's of each district) pick a young girl and boy between the ages of 12 and 18 from each district to compete for wealth and survival. When they hit 12 the name of the child gets placed on a piece of paper for each year until they are 19. For extra grain and oil which can last a year their names go into the pot on several more slips of paper.

It's as if they've taken a step backward as opposed to forward in this futuristic book. First they have a fashion show with interviews as if they are major stars and have a huge feasting in what they call the Capitol. The 24 children are treated like royalty before they are sent to fight to the death. Their living conditions prior to that depending on where they live are horrible, people starve to death have crappy jobs that don't pay them near enough to survive on. They are provided medieval weapons in which they have to fight for to obtain once they are in an arena that is being filmed live. When things get "boring" and the ratings start to drop the ones controlling these "hunger games" as they care called, can control the environment that the children are in by placing wild animals, throw bombs at them etc to flush them out so that they are face to face with each other to fight.

Katniss is one of the main characters of the book and she takes her younger sisters place as she has just turned 12. Never did she think that on her first year her sister would be called to fight. It is also the first time someone has volunteered to be a replacement. She leaves behind her mother, sister and best friend Gale that she met when she found a way out of their district to hunt for food in an area that was forbidden. The book is interesting and can be read in a day, I am looking forward to the next book.


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 665
Review Date: 10/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


The book is well written and hard to believe it is non-fiction. The story shows gross misconduct with the sloppy police work, lazy judges and lawyers that just didn't give a damn about the innocent men. It seems they were all quick to point fingers and speed an unfair trail along so that they could put someone behind bars and send the "guilty" to death.

One could never imagine a worse hell than what the victim had to go through before being killed and their faimly of having to find her body as well as go through an emotional trail. Not to mention what the accused and thier family had to live through before finally being aquitted. Living in a small cell for over 11 years is enough to drive anyone crazy, especially if they did not commit a crime that would justify their stay behind bars.

Even after being released from prison, Ron has to live in a constant "jail" (his mind). Although he did nothing wrong and did not commit any crimes, after living in jail and in a federal prision, it still haunts him. People are upset of his release, and he has to live with the constant feeling that they can find "new" evidence that could send him back to his nightmare. The guards would toture him with thier words because they knew just how disturbed he was mentally and they got a kick out of making him fly off the handle.



There are a lot of twists and turns in this horrible true story. If you enjoy non-fiction crime books. This is a good read as John Grisham has done another wonderful job at having all of the detailed placed percisely, without having any slow moving chapters.


Knit the Season (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Knit the Season (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/27/2011


I feel that this is a great end to the series and am hoping this is indeed the last book. I enjoyed the first book very much, and was excited to get the second book and then quickly disappointed when I read it.

This book was more tolerable than the last book, however there were a few things that could have been changed. I'm happy to see that the writer dropped the racial issues with Dakota, that was really annoying in the second book.

There was a bit too much opinions from the friends of the group about where Dakota should be during the holidays. To me it felt as though too many characters were trying to guilt trip her into doing what they wanted her to do and not consider how it would affect her and her feelings of what she was excited about. As Dakota says in the book, "sometimes you have to cut the cord."

I found Catherine to be less slutty and more grown up compared to the previous book. She actually acts her age and is an adult. Anita's son Nathan however does not grow up even though he is in his 50's and has a wife and children of his own. He acts as a selfish, needy, inconsiderate adolescent. When he was mentioned in the book I wanted to just smack him.

It was unbelieveable that the writer chose to wait until the end of the book to disclose Perri's decision about the job offer in France. It didn't have to be dragged out through the entire book.

The length of the book could have been shorter, I feel there was too much of Georgia's memories that were typed in italiacs. It was wasted space. There were only two or three instances where that would have flowed nicely otherwise it was overdone and was just filler.

Otherwise this was the perfect way to end the series. So if you've already read the second book might as well finish with the 3rd book.


Knit Two (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 2)
Knit Two (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 2)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 9/22/2010


After reading this book it makes me wonder if I should waste my time with the 3rd book. It sort of dragged on and on. It fast forwards to 5 years after the death of Dakota's mother Georgia. In the begining she seems too much of a spolied brat with an annoying way of carrying herself around the adults. Not to mention the fact that they carried over the annoyance of the she's half black and half white and no one will understand attitutde. If the book were written for a different era when that would matter it wouldn't have been as annoying but to be written in present day, let it go already!

The father seems a bit over bearing for someone not in her life for the first 12 years. Too much of a control freak in what he expects her to become once she's graduated college. There are parents that can be that way to a fault but to not allow her to become a pastry chef because he sees that as lowering herself to serve the "white" world is ridiculous, again too much attention is brought on that subject. There could have been another way of having him tag along to Europe with his daughter that would be babysitting for their friend KC while she did some filming of a rock star. But again they play the race card. They could have just left it at he didn't want her going alone and he could do some work out there while she did her baby sitting gig, but sadly the writer chose not to go that route.

Darwin was somewhat less annoying, and seemed actually helpful in some small ways. However, I really could have done without the mini stories of the happenings with the shop since the majority of the main characters were in Europe. The writer kind of wasted paper and ink with most of those parts.

Catherine, was actually more annoying in this book than the last. She's too needy and a bit of a tramp. To make the excuse of we're both adults, there's two bedrooms, and we should both stay in Anita's home with her married son Nathan was just down right wrong, especailly since this Anita is supposed to bebsomeone that is her friend. To sleep with her son in Anita's room or house for that matter was just down right gross. It was actually quite funny to find out that Nathan told his mother Anita that he slept with her because she kept coming around the apartment when she did not initially make the first move. And to make himself seem as though he was just minding his own buisness and made himself appear to be innocent, was just too funny.

Somehow I can see Catherine is either going to try and hook up with James or just have him as another sexual romp until the writer is bored and one of them ends up dumping the other for some stupid reason or the writer will tease the idea of them getting together just for it to fall apart and nothing ends up happening. Maybe Marco the wine guy that Catherine has telephone flirtations with will come back into the picture and create more drama. Well we shall see. Hopefully the 3rd book is her last.


The Last Victim (Charlotte Stone, Bk 1)
The Last Victim (Charlotte Stone, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Dr. Charlotte "Charlie" Stone witnesses a murder in her friends house as a teenager that chills her to the bone, and she sees who the killer is. A night she will never forget. 15 years later she has grown up and become an expert in criminal pathology, trying to learn how serial killers tick.

Doing her research in a prison she is seated across from a man that lured women by his looks and when alone he murdered them, seven total. She is going through her routine when she is interrupted by FBI agents that need to speak with her.

In her office they tell her that either the same person that killed her friend 15 years ago or a copycat is back at it again and they need her assistance. She reluctantly takes the job offer.

She is followed by a "ghostly" spirit that has attached himself to her. He was a former inmate. Throughout the novel they have this love hate relationship, which is rather unbelievable but written very well. He seems to appear during only the most inappropirate times and seems even rather helpful yet dangerous all the at the same time.

While on the job with the FBI agents she is outed on national television about being the sole survior that saw the killer 15 years ago (the media called the murderer the board walk killer). If it is the original killer 15 years ago he now knows what she looks like as an adult and will most likely try hunting her down as well.

The book takes you on all kinds of twists and turns, it had me saying out loud, "oh I didn't see that coming." There were even moments of laugh out loud funny parts. I stayed up until 2 a.m. because I just didn't want to stop reading. It took a total of two and a half days to read. As long as you're not anti ghosts and have a hard time believing in their existence or can set it aside for some fun fiction this should be a worth while read otherwise you may get bored really quick.


The Lost Boy: A Foster Child's Search for the Love of a Family
The Lost Boy: A Foster Child's Search for the Love of a Family
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 907
Review Date: 2/21/2008


This is one of those books that I don't think I could read again. Don't get me wrong, it was very well written. This is about the unthinkable, a mother abusing her child for whatever reason. A child that never knew why he was in trouble and always trying to be a "good boy." He had other sibblings that were never treated in such a disturbing way, at least not until the end of the book. As the reader it made me want to jump into the book and smack that mom silly. You're heart will go out for this poor abused boy.


Love Story
Love Story
Author: Erich Segal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/2/2013


I found this book at a thrift shop for seventy five cents. The cover was interesting and when I read it was copyright was 1970 I thought what the heck, it might be neat, compared to most of the typical thrift store books you'd find. I am so glad I found this diamond in the rough.

I spent a total of two hours reading this book from start to finish in one sitting. For just a few short pages this book had me hooked which it doesn't have a lot of time to do being that it's a mere 131 pages long. It's the typical poor girl rich boy love story but better. The characters are honest, witty, sarcastic and loveable. They love each other deeply and it shows, you laugh and you cry with this book. Although you know that Jenny dies it still doesn't take away the effect of sadness. Knowing this was made a movie, I will have to find it somewhere and watch it. Being that Erich Segal wrote the script, if it's as well written as his novel it should a good movie. I highly recommend reading this quick brilliant read.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: