Nancy C. (Nuffy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 116 - Page:
All This Belongs to Me
All This Belongs to Me
Author: Ad Hudler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/22/2007


Loved it. Great story with heartwarming characters


American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 3/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The book is divided into four parts. I enjoyed, somewhat, the first two. The last two parts were tiresome, to say the least. She could have written an enjoyable and well written piece of fiction by cutting it in half. The last part was jammed together in a very unappealing manner and was ..boring. I was looking forward to reading it but I was enormously disappointed. The connection to the Bush family was remote at best.


An Act of Love (Act of Love)
An Act of Love (Act of Love)
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/29/2006


Another amazing Nancy Thayer novel. Could not put it down.
Had to know who was telling the truth and how the family would survive.


And Then I Found You
And Then I Found You
Author: Patti Callahan Henry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/19/2014


I really loved "And Then I Found You". I could not put it down, I was almost willing the outcome I wanted for all of them I did enjoy all of the characters. They were real and you could understand some of their behaviors as if you might do the same thing under similar circumstances. Early in the book, I did want Kate to behave differently but that turned around as I got into the story. I love this author and so for me it was another great read by one of my favorite authors.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/28/2007


Great story. Loved this book. All of Berg's novels are wonderful.


Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Jo-Ann Mapson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. I really loved it. It's a fabulous story about four women who come together under unusual circumstances whose friendship and commitment to each other is transforming....wonderful book.


The Ballroom on Magnolia Street
The Ballroom on Magnolia Street
Author: Sharon Owens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/26/2007


Fun fast read. A style not unlike Maeve Binchy. Liked the book a lot.
Vibrant cast of characters.


Beach Roses
Beach Roses
Author: Jean Stone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/5/2006


It's great story anxious to read more of her stuff. The characters are wonderful. Another good novel about friendships between women.


Behind the Seams (Crochet Mystery, Bk 6)
Behind the Seams (Crochet Mystery, Bk 6)
Author: Betty Hechtman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/17/2013


This was my first Crochet Mystery in the series. I picked it up at a Library sale and read it without going back to the beginning of the series. I found the setting which is Tarzana in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles to be an unlikely setting for the series. Most series like it {that I have read) have been staged in small towns and somewhat rural communities with a single police chief etc. The amateur sleuthing out policing the LAPD seemed a little un-plausible. That being said, it was fast moving and some of the characters likeable others not so much. The leader of the group, and chief sleuth is Molly. The story is largely about the murder/mystery and it's connection to her personal life. The jury is still out about if I pick up any more in the series. Reviews have generally been good of the previous books in this series.


Behind the Seams (Crochet Mystery, Bk 6)
Behind the Seams (Crochet Mystery, Bk 6)
Author: Betty Hechtman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/17/2013


This was my first Crochet Mystery in the series. I picked it up at a Library sale and read it without going back to the beginning of the series. I found the setting which is Tarzana in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles to be an unlikely setting for the series. Most series like it {that I have read) have been staged in small towns and somewhat rural communities with a single police chief etc. The amateur sleuthing out policing the LAPD seemed a little un-plausible. That being said, it was fast moving and some of the characters likeable others not so much. The leader of the group, and chief sleuth is Molly. The story is largely about the murder/mystery and it's connection to her personal life. The jury is still out about if I pick up any more in the series. Reviews have generally been good of the previous books in this series.


The Best of Me
The Best of Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 12/13/2013


I love Nicholas Sparks but this book just did not do it for me. The ending was awful. You get involved with the characters and then the ending is a real disappointment.


The Best of Us
The Best of Us
Author: Sarah Pekkanen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/6/2015


I like this author and have enjoyed her other books. This party on Jamaica to celebrate Dwight's 35th Birthday got wearisome after a bit. Some of the interactions among the participants was predictable with lots of drinking and partying. I related to a few of the characters, others were just tireing. Not my favorite book of hers.


The Big Love
The Big Love
Author: Sarah Dunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/16/2006


She was a new author for me. The story is both sweet and funny, very fast read!


Blessed Are the Cheesemakers
Blessed Are the Cheesemakers
Author: Sarah-Kate Lynch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/4/2006


Very fun! Great Characters!


The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 12/18/2005


It's a fun fast read. All done in e-mail format. The characters are quite intertaining.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 3/10/2006


It's a wonderful read. The characters are so real they become like friends. Really loved this book.


By Bread Alone
By Bread Alone
Author: Sarah-Kate Lynch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/21/2007


Loved this book. Heartwarming wonderful characters. Could hardly put it down.


Carbs and Cadavers (Supper Club, Bk 1)
Carbs and Cadavers (Supper Club, Bk 1)
Author: J. B. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 2/2/2018


It was "cute" but was not a serious enough mystery for me. Some of the characters were indeed likable. But I needed more. Reached the point that I have so many hopefully wonderful books on my shelf that I don't finish ones I can't get into.


Christmas in Cornwall (aka The Christmas Angel)
Christmas in Cornwall (aka The Christmas Angel)
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/27/2013


Let me just say that "Christmas in Cornwall" and "The Christmas Angel" is the same book. This is a warm and engaging Christmas story to cozy up with by the fireplace. It has a fairy tale quality to it. It's strong message is that family is not always defined by those to whom you are related by those with whom you share love,affection and a true sense of belonging. As the setting would indicate there is a strong sense of spirituality that runs throughout the book. The characters are richly drawn and well developed. The rich English countryside that we have come to love in Willett's novels is there for you again. I am a big fan of her books and although this somewhat different from her others, it's a memorable read to be savored.


Consequences
Consequences
Author: Penelope Lively
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I thoroughly enjoyed "Consequences". At first I thought of it as a multi-generational saga of women. But it's much more than that. It's a thoughtful and inspiring story about people, both men and women, whose lives are changed and influenced by the people and circumstances around them. It does focus on the historic setting of each of the three women beginning in 1935 and ending some 70 years later. The characters are all likeable and the story engaging. Relationships don't always work out but there is a central optimism to the novel that captivates you.


1 to 20 of 116 - Page: