Reviews - Kathryn G.

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
The Alienist (Lazlo Kreizler & John Moore, Bk 1)
The Alienist (Lazlo Kreizler & John Moore, Bk 1)
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/29/2006


"One of my favorite books!

FYI... mine is a library copy - stamped withdrawn on the page edges."


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 388
Review Date: 6/5/2006


"If you like historical thrillers, you'll like this book. Steve Berry writes well, but is not quite as literate or gripping a writer as Dan Brown. All in all, still a good read."


American Girls About Town
American Girls About Town
Author: Adriana Trigiani, Lauren Weisberger, Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 12/8/2007


"Some short stories are better than others, still a great book to carry around with you and read while waiting in line, at the doctor's office etc. The stories are quick and very easy to digest."


Assassin
Assassin
Author: Ted Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/14/2006


"A fast read. Very well written. Great action thriller."


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 737
Review Date: 2/14/2006


"I love historical(Renaissance and Elizabethan era)fiction and I LOVED this book. Beautifully written and totally engrossing."


A Body to Die For (Bailey Weggins, Bk 2)
A Body to Die For (Bailey Weggins, Bk 2)
Author: Kate White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 2/20/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"If you liked "If Looks Could Kill", you'll like "A Body to Die For" as Kate White uses exactly the same formula as the first book with one additional twist for her second novel."


The Book of Air and Shadows
The Book of Air and Shadows
Author: Michael Gruber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 6/20/2008
13 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was not nearly as good as I had hoped or as the critic's reviews had led me to believe. I had many of the plot points figured out halfway through the book and had to plow through another 200 pages to have all my suspicions confirmed. Gruber's use of language is often self-consciously over-intellectualized. Not a joy to read. Better than "DaVinci Code"? Just my opinion, but no."


The City of Falling Angels
The City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 12/30/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not as provacative as "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" but a pleasant read nonetheless."


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1979
Review Date: 1/17/2007


"Good chic lit..."


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/19/2006


"Le Carre does it again."


The Corset Diaries
The Corset Diaries
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 3/17/2006


"A cute, comical modern romance novel."


Coyote Blue
Coyote Blue
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 3/29/2006


"Funny!"


The Egyptologist
The Egyptologist
Author: Arthur Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/14/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I love egyptology and this was a strange reading experience for me. Hearing different sides of the same story as told by different characters throughout the book keeps the reader on their toes trying to figure out the real truth - has the Egyptologist made a major discovery? The ending will knock you out."


Ellen Foster
Ellen Foster
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 474
Review Date: 3/11/2006


"Beautifully written, but a very sad book. A typical choice of Oprah's book club."


Fire Sale (V.  I. Warshawski, Bk 12)
Fire Sale (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 12)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 9/16/2006


"If you like the VI Warshawski books, you'll enjoy this one."


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 4/9/2008


"A really beautiful book - well written and researched - I'm going to search out more of Vreeland's work to read! I have recommended this book to friends who are loving it too."


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 786
Review Date: 7/31/2006


"A really fun, quick paced read. Well written and engaging with Weiner's usual sense of humor thrown in. If you've enjoyed Jennifer Weiner's other books, you'll enjoy this too."


Hoot
Hoot
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 5/5/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Hiaasen does it better for children than he does for adults. Fun for grown-ups to read too."


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 361
Review Date: 2/28/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is absolutely hilarious! A fun, easy read for those of us who are "a certain age.""


If Looks Could Kill (Bailey Weggins, Bk 1)
If Looks Could Kill (Bailey Weggins, Bk 1)
Author: Kate White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/15/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very fun, fast read. Great book for reading on vacation or on your lunch hour... short chapters, easy to pick up and put down during the day."


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: