Cheryl C. (moondance120) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 423 - Page:
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Josie Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 8/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Jenn McKinlay writing as Josie Belle introduces the bargain hunting women of St. Stanley, VA. The ladies band together to find a killer after one member is accused of murder. A high school flame returns to town as the new sheriff and causes trouble for our heroine, Maggie. A quick, cute summer read. 3.5 stars


Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 4/17/2012


Lucy Valentine is back! This story involves a mysterious stranger tossing money in the square, a pair of former foster children with sketchy pasts, a missing terminally ill man and the usual characters. I really like the way the relationships are building and growing. Fun read! 4 stars


The Accidental Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 7)
The Accidental Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 7)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 3/17/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Victor's story is as enjoyable as all the other Argeneau clan. Elvi's misconceptions as a new vamp are humorous tinged with sadness. Each story can stand alone, but I strongly recommend reading them in order to understand the family dynamics.


Accidentally Demonic (Accidentals, Bk 4)
Accidentally Demonic (Accidentals, Bk 4)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 4/24/2011


Wanda's sister, Casey, wakes up in jail and has no memory of why she is there. Clayton Gunnersson is a vampire with the answer. He accidentally spilled demon blood on her in the bar. At times laugh out loud funny. The interaction between Nina and Casey is hilarious!! 3.5 stars


Accidentally Wolf: A Seraphine Thomas Novel (Volume 1)
Accidentally Wolf: A Seraphine Thomas Novel (Volume 1)
Author: Erin R Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/20/2014


"Hold your positions until Thomas gives the go," Frank said into our earpieces.

Special Agent in Charge Seraphine Thomas is working undercover to take down an arms dealer when he suddenly shifts into a werewolf and infects Sera. She loses her job with her unit and is transferred to the Mystical and Non-Human Specially Trained Regional Squad of the FBI. Sera learns that her shifting abilities are more advanced than most new wolves. She also has the ability to enthrall other paranormals.

Things I like about this book:
A strong kick-ass heroine
The MNSTR Squad
Quick, easy read

Things I did not like about this book:
Sera' s new abilities were overwhelming
The storyline became very much like Anita Blake with the vampire/werewolf minions that craved sex with Sera.

Even with the downside of the story I would read the


Adventures in Funeral Crashing: Funeral Crashing Series / A Kait Lenox Mystery (Volume 1)
Review Date: 10/25/2012


A teenage girl becomes fascinated with funerals after her mother's death. Kait crashes funerals for comfort. Crashing the funeral of a young college student puts Kait in a pickle with a popular boy from school. Kait and Ethan team up to prove that his sister di not overdose. Cute story 3.5 stars


Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Elle Jasper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Urban fantasy set in Savannah, GA. The book takes a bit to pick up steam and flow. The characters become more likable as the story progresses. I was a bit annoyed with the constant detail of clothing that Riley wore. The Dupre family is a close knit family of vampires that come to Riley's aid when her brother is attacked by "bad" vamps. OK read. 3 stars


All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
Author: Rose Pressey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/11/2016


Seeing a ghost didn't shock me as much the second time around.

Cookie Chanel has provided a film company with vintage clothing for a movie set. Her second ghost appears after Cookie discovers the film's lead actress dead in a pond. The actress is wearing a dress that once belonged to the new ghost, Alice. Cookie has been ghost free for a while but Charlotte appears soon after Alice comes on the scene. Cookie feels the need to solve the murder (along with some prodding from the ghosts) even though potential suitor Detective Dylan Valentine asks her to stay out of it.

I enjoy Cookie, her friend Heather, Charlotte and Alice. Their interaction amuses me. Add in a psychic cat that can use a Ouija board and read Tarot cards for a fun filled read. The introduction of another possible love interest is irritating. I am not a fan of triangles. I had pretty much figured out who the murderer was before the reveal but it did not distract from the book. I enjoy this series and look forward to the next installment.

3.5 stars


All My Patients Are Under the Bed: Memoirs of a Cat Doctor
Review Date: 6/9/2013


Good memoir of a NY vet that made housecalls.


Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter, Bk 1)
Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter, Bk 1)
Author: Katie Reus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/9/2013


Good book with a female alpha. Ana is trying to protect her pack after losing members to poisoning. Connor returns to her after being away for 50 years. Good characters and strong storyline.


Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 10/1/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Wow! Rachel Vincent really delivers with the final installment of The Shifters series. Faythe, Marc and Jace are accused of treason and murder. There are major changes in the Council and Cal Malone is once again showing how truly evil he is. Faythe is once again fighting for her life and that of her Pride. The last two books in this series have touched me so many ways. (At least I wasn't sobbing on a plane while reading this one!)You can lose yourself in this series and feel like you are a Pridemate. 5 Stars!!


Amazing Gracie
Amazing Gracie
Author: Dan Dye, Mark Beckloff, Three Dog Bakery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful story! Gracie is an albino, deaf Great Dane that changes the lives of all around her. Funny, touching and absolutely a tearjerker. 5 stars!


And One Last Thing ...
And One Last Thing ...
Author: Molly Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What a way to spend an afternoon reading! Lacey discovers her husband is cheating after she mistakenly receives flowers intended for his mistress. Lacey sends a wonderfully worded newsletter out to his entire email address book. When faced with a law suit, Lacey goes to a cabin from her youth that creates a sense of safety for her. Her unfriendly neighbor, Monroe, becomes a sounding board for her and much more. Loved it! 4.5 stars


Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/14/2011


Funny, quirky dairy from a British school girl. At times laugh out loud funny. Sorta a young BRIDGET'S DIARY. 4 stars


Animal Attraction
Animal Attraction
Author: Charlene Teglia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 6/28/2011
Helpful Score: 3


A rare female werewolf raised by humans does not know her true self. After her 21st birthday, Chandra discovers her family secret and must choose between the 11 men of her pack. Not for the faint of heart! Lots of sex between Chandra and the pack members. 3 stars


Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/1/2013


Jill Shalvis is my favorite guilty pleasure! I didn't think that I could be pulled out of Lucky Harbor, but Sunshine, Idaho does just that. The second book in the series, Dell is the local vet with a huge heart. Jade is the receptionist with a shaky past. It takes his best efforts to reach Jade's heart. Sweet read! 4 stars


Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 6/30/2013


I always wish that I could live in Lucky Harbor and now I can add Sunshine, Idaho. Lilah is sweet, yet tough and so many times I wanted to thunk my head on something when she did. Brady is a rough and tumble guy with a tender heart (he doesn't know that) looking for peace in his life. The animals, the townspeople and Brady's "brothers" all add to an enjoyable afternoon read. 4 stars


Any Way You Want It (New Orleans Vampires, Bk 1)
Any Way You Want It (New Orleans Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Love
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 11/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Ren was introduced briefly in the Young brothers series. A 200 year old classically trained musician now sings with a bar band in New Orleans. Maggie researches obsure classical music. Their meeting is electric. Sweet romance. 3.5 stars


The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf (Naked Werewolf, Bk 2)
The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf (Naked Werewolf, Bk 2)
Author: Molly Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Cute sequel in the NAKED WEREWOLF series. Maggie had become the pack's alpha and becomes interested in Nick, a researcher who could tell the world about her family's secret. Funny dialouge. A quick easy read. 3.5 stars


As Lie the Dead (Dreg City, Bk 2)
As Lie the Dead (Dreg City, Bk 2)
Author: Kelly Meding
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/8/2012


This book picks up right after THREE DAYS TO DEAD. Evy is still trying to come to terms with her death and resurrection in Chalice's body. She has lost friends, made enemies and created new alliances. Action packed.4 stars


1 to 20 of 423 - Page: