Marie H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 113 - Page:
15 Minutes Alone With God for Men
15 Minutes Alone With God for Men
Author: Bob Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


(from back cover) In just 15 minutes a day, you can feed on God's Word and explore the vast riches and depths of God's power, wisdom, and grace. Each day's devotion brings with it "Thoughts for Action" - opportunities to apply what you learn in just minutes - and make it last a lifetime.


50 Simple Things Kids Can Do to Save the Earth
50 Simple Things Kids Can Do to Save the Earth
Author: The EarthWorks Group
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/12/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book is very good at helping Kids to be aware of the problems we, as people, are doing to pollutes the earth. It takes topics like Air Pollution, The Ozone Hole, Acid Rain, etc. It explains what the situation is - how it got that way - and gives the kids a mission on how they can help remendy it. There are a lot of fun projects like being a water Leak Detective in your home - making a simple bird house - being a junk food detective.
This would be very good for hands on projects for Home School families.


The adventures of Jason Ashley (A Christian living book)
The adventures of Jason Ashley (A Christian living book)
Author: Nellie Frisinger
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is probably upper elementary reading. (Travel with the Ashleys and their missionary team to a tropical paradise - where devastating crime awaits.)


Adventures of the Early Church
Adventures of the Early Church
Author: Kathleen M. Zaffore
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a Bible Adventure Book for children. It's upper elementary reading level.


Alexander II and the Modernization of Russia
Alexander II and the Modernization of Russia
Author: W. E. Mosse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/6/2007


This is marked New, Revised Edition. (Printed 1967)


Alternative Medicine
Alternative Medicine
Author: Walt Larimore M.D., Donal O'Mathuna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/18/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A resource on alternative medicine for Christians. What alternative therapies are available today? Should I consider herbal remedies, dietary supplements, and vitamins? What are the claims, what is the evidence, and how do I choose wisely? Are there spiritual concerns with certain alternative therapies?


America Is Too Young to Die
America Is Too Young to Die
Author: Leonard Ravenhill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a call to revival. (back cover) It is time to quit playing church. The author exhorts modern-day clergy to be prophets instead of puppets, orgonizers instead of organizer. In spite of this age of mass communication, he says we are failing to save the contented from the curse of compromise, imitation, and professionalism.


An Hour Before Daylight
An Hour Before Daylight
Author: Jimmy Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/29/2014


I like to read books about people who were part of our history. It was interesting to read about Jimmy Carter's boyhood. I especially love to read about our past presidents.


The Awesome Book of Bible Trivia
The Awesome Book of Bible Trivia
Author: Bob Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the combined edition of In Search of Bible Trivia I and II


Baby-Sitting Is a Dangerous Job
Baby-Sitting Is a Dangerous Job
Author: Willo Davis Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a children's book - ages 8 to 12. It's an electrifying suspense story about Darcy - and the three bratty kids she is baby-sitting and a kidnapping!


Balancing Life's Demands : A New Perspective on Priorities
Balancing Life's Demands : A New Perspective on Priorities
Author: J. Grant Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


(FROM BACK COVER) The Bible does not present what we traditionally refer to as a "list of priorities". Instead, it emphasizes our significant relationships and our responsibilities in those relationships. Our responsibility is to know what God expect of us in these important areas and to arrange our lives to do it according to His will and thus His glofy."


Being The Body
Being The Body
Author: Charles Colson, Ellen Vaughn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Chuck Colson, in his unique style of story-telling and contemporary insight, begins this book with the 9/11 tragedy. He goes into how the church many times failed to meet the needs of people seeking for answers at that time. It is stressed in the book that the church is not so much a building but a body of believers. It is not surprising that today the world tries to model the church into its own mold at an alarming rate. Colson and Vaughn have given a clear picture of the way God would mold the church in the image of his Son.
For me this book was easy reading, eye opening and challenging.


Better Homes and Gardens Crocheting & Knitting
Better Homes and Gardens Crocheting & Knitting
Author: Better Homes and Gardens (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


There are over 50 projects for your home in this book. Traditional and contemporary designs with easy to follow patterns.


Better Homes and Gardens Embroidery
Better Homes and Gardens Embroidery
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


There are 42 projects with complete how-to instructions. A dozen challenging techniques.


Better Homes and Gardens House Plants
Better Homes and Gardens House Plants
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Tells you how to use house plants decoratively - grow plants under lights - a portfolio of recommended plants.


Beware the Hurricane!
Beware the Hurricane!
Author: Terry Tucker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The story of the cyclonic tropical storms that have struck Bermuda 1609-1982 and the Islanders' Folk-lore regarding them.


Caring Enough to Forgive--Caring Enough Not to Forgive
Caring Enough to Forgive--Caring Enough Not to Forgive
Author: David W. Augsburger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a biblical emphasis on forgiveness. This isn't the best book I've read on forgiveness. However, it has some thought provoking sections. In the "Caring Enough to Forgive" section it talks about releasing the Past. I can choose to release it - let it go. If I don't the power it has over me and how it affects me personally. The section on "Caring Enough to Not Forgive" talks about times when its better not to forgive. I talks about counterfeits of forgiveness (sweet, saintly revenge - distorted feelings, etc.)


Caring for Your Small Pets
Caring for Your Small Pets
Author: David Aiderton
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Authoritive family guide to caring for small mammals: rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, and jirds, rats, mice and chinchilles - choosing and buying pets, housing, nutrition - common problems to watch for in your pet, etc. Fully illustrated - 250 photographs.


Churchill: The Unruly Giant
Churchill: The Unruly Giant
Author: Norman Rose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/3/2007


This is a library discard book. It has a library card in the back, etc. However, the book is in very good condition. This book is an excellent biography on Chirchill's life. The author makes reading history very entertaining and his facts are documented. If you are a history buff like I am you would enjoy this book. I read alot of books and I rate this book among the best I've read this year.


Civil War Generals
Civil War Generals
Author: Lawrence T. Russell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book takes each general and gives his story and his part in the Civil War. I knew many of the generals by name - this book gave me background on each one and their part in the war. I enjoyed reading about each one.


1 to 20 of 113 - Page: