Amy J. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 1/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I like this series. This is the first in the series.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 1/2/2007


Another fun Abby Cooper mystery. This time it involves a tarot deck! From a non-smoking home.


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 423
Review Date: 9/27/2006


A fun chick-lit book with a vampire twist.


The Black Hole in the Blueprint: Teacher Abuse in San Diego City Schools
Review Date: 1/2/2007


From a non-smoking home.


Califia's Daughters
Califia's Daughters
Author: Leigh Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Think Amazons. This book is about the future earth where gender roles are reversed due to a genetic disease that only males inherit. Thus, the women are the leaders, hunters, and authority figures. Males are treasured and tightly guarded. A very interesting social construct. The storyline is also well done.


Carnival
Carnival
Author: Elizabeth Bear
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book a lot and was captivated by the characters and the universe in which they live. Interestingly, the two protagonists are a gay couple. An enjoyable read.


Code Noir (Parrish Plessis, Bk 2)
Code Noir (Parrish Plessis, Bk 2)
Author: Marianne de Pierres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/18/2007


The second book in the series, it has anti-heroine Parrish Plessis coming into contact with new bad guys, some of whom are voodoo priests. Explores some of her relationship with the two almost-boyfriends in her life and leaves you wanting more. A fun and fast read.


Cowboy Feng's Space Bar and Grill
Cowboy Feng's Space Bar and Grill
Author: Steven Brust
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/15/2008


A friend recommended this author to me. I tried to get into this book but I just couldn't. I didn't care about the characters.


Crimson City (Crimson City, Bk 1)
Crimson City (Crimson City, Bk 1)
Author: Liz Maverick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is a fun book set in a futuristic Los Angeles where a vampire/ human/werewolf caste system has evolved. Vampires are the wealthy, the humans are the middle class, and the werewolves are the lower classes. The main story involves a young vampire girl who is coming into her place in the clan and her fascination with a certain human male. I look forward to the next book in this series.


A Death in Vienna (Gabriel Allon, Bk 4)
A Death in Vienna (Gabriel Allon, Bk 4)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 1/18/2006


This is another good spy thriller. The writing is engaging and the characters are believable.


Do or Die
Do or Die
Author: Leon Bing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/2/2006


Interesting and thought-provoking!


The Dragon Scroll (Sugawara Akitada, Bk 1)
The Dragon Scroll (Sugawara Akitada, Bk 1)
Author: I. J. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/26/2006


I like Japanese stories and this is a murder mystery set in feudal Japan.


The Drowned
The Drowned
Author: Laini Taylor-Di Bartolo, Jim Di Bartolo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/19/2012


Very well drawn graphic novel with interesting story line.


Forty Signs of Rain (Capital Code, Bk 1)
Forty Signs of Rain (Capital Code, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Stanley Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 1/30/2006


I usually finish books but I simply couldn't get into this one. However, for those of you who like a lot of atmospheric science mixed into your stories, then this might suit you.


The Giant's House
The Giant's House
Author: Elizabeth McCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 2/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent and well-thought out book. I highly recommend it!


Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Bk 1)
Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 1/11/2007


This is a good book for young adults and adults alike. It has an interesting premise and I enjoyed the character development too.


Guardians Of The Keep (Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 2)
Guardians Of The Keep (Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 2)
Author: Carol Berg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 3/17/2006


I enjoyed this series very much. This is an interesting magical world and the characters seem very real.


Holidays are Hell: Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel / Run, Run, Rudolph / Six / The Harvest
Review Date: 1/15/2008


This is a fun book by four of the best paranormal romance writers out there. The stories are fast-paced and interesting.


The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon, Bk 1)
The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon, Bk 1)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book. The writing was well done and it was certainly suspenseful. If you like spy fiction, I recommend this author.


Killer Insight (Psychic Eye, Bk 4)
Killer Insight (Psychic Eye, Bk 4)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 355
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I like this series and it provides an interesting who-dun-it along with a dash of romance.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: