Dave C. (dacollins46) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror
Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror
Author: Richard A. Clarke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/1/2012


This book explained a whole lot about the US foreign policies and mistakes we've made.


The Archer's Tale (Grail Quest, Bk 1)
The Archer's Tale (Grail Quest, Bk 1)
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 8/1/2012


I enjoyed this story very much. Afterward I read the three others in this series.


The Brothers of Gwynedd: Sunrise in the West / The Dragon at Noonday / The Hounds of Sunset / Afterglow and Nightfall
Review Date: 10/26/2006


A great history of Wales during the 13th century. Royal disfunctional family crisis.


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 8/1/2012


After seeing the movie, I almost didn't read the book, but I am very glad I did. Terrific story and characters.


A Conspiracy of Paper (Benjamin Weaver, Bk 1)
A Conspiracy of Paper (Benjamin Weaver, Bk 1)
Author: David Liss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 8/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


David Liss has done a terrific job writing about an important period in English history and the financial markets development.


Dissolution (Shardlake, Bk 1)
Dissolution (Shardlake, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Sansom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 4/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I like historic fiction and mysteries, and this was both. I enjoyed it very much. The period of the Dissolution seems to be comparable to the corruption in politics in every generation.


Following the Sun: From Andalusia to the Hebrides
Following the Sun: From Andalusia to the Hebrides
Author: John Hanson Mitchell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/19/2006


This was a very interesting book about traveling by bicycle from southern Spain to northern Scotland. The author was following in sun from the vernal equinox until the summer solstice.


Ishmael: An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit
Ishmael: An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit
Author: Daniel Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/17/2009


An unusual and exceptional book, with many ideas to contemplate.


Murder in the Museum of Man
Murder in the Museum of Man
Author: Alfred Alcorn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/12/2006


I enjoyed this book very much. It is a little different kind of mystery.


The Nautical Chart
The Nautical Chart
Author: Arturo Perez-Reverte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/1/2012


This is a great historic story about sailing, Spain and some extremely interesting characters.


The Poisoned Chalice (Crowner John, Bk 2)
The Poisoned Chalice (Crowner John, Bk 2)
Author: Bernard Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/26/2006


A good mystery read in historic Exeter and 12th century England.


Prodigal Summer
Prodigal Summer
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 8/1/2012


One of my all time favorate reads. Wonderful setting, great characters and a terrific treatment of human and animal nature.


The Professor & the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity & the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary
Review Date: 1/28/2006


Great book about the history of the Oxford English Dictionary.


See No Evil: The True Story of a Ground Soldier in the CIA's War on Terrorism
Review Date: 12/27/2006


This was a very interesting discussion of the mistakes made in the operations of the CIA over the past several decades. No wonder we have had disasters and extremely poor intelligence.


The Smoke Jumper
The Smoke Jumper
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really terrific book. The subject matter was new to me, and quite eyeopening.


Stonehenge
Stonehenge
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 10/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


An enjoyable read about a possible history of the standing stones of Stonehenge.


There be Dragons
There be Dragons
Author: Sharon Kay Penman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2012


Excellent historic novel about a turbulent period in the history of England and Wales. Some of the most interesting characters of the period.


World's End
World's End
Author: T. C. Boyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/21/2006


This was a very interesting book with multiple flashbacks and great characters.


1 to 18 of 18