Amy M. (AmyMart) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang
Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 6/22/2014


Funny, Funny, FUNNY!


Christmas Gifts of Good Taste
Christmas Gifts of Good Taste
Author: Leisure Arts Editorial Staff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful book! I would say I am quite crafty always making something for teachers and relatives. There were a few ideas in here that I had not done before and I now have a new list of gifts to create! Good instructions to follow! Pattern's etc.


The Complete Book of Pickles and Relishes
The Complete Book of Pickles and Relishes
Author: Louis Levinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/1/2011


Hundreds of wonderful recipes!


The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
Review Date: 10/22/2016


I really enjoyed this book! Very inspirational and I literally laughed out loud in some sections! Quick read!


La Popessa : The Controversial Biography of Sister Pascalina, the Most Powerful Woman in Vatican History
Review Date: 2/28/2010


I really liked this book and do recommend it to anyone interested in learning about the inner workings of the Vatican and the Catholic Church during Pius's time as Pope. Sister Pascalina and her opinions were respected by Pius and many of his decisions for the Catholic Church were influenced by Pascalina. I walked away feeling that she was totally devoted to the church and Pope Pius. I am happy they had one another as companions and a little sad to think of the family the lives they walked away from to totally devote themselves to the church. I did feel that the author used words like "mistress" repeatedly to lead people to believe there was some sort of inappropriate relationship between them. Back in those days it was unheard of for a woman to have the access she did and this was scandalous in itself!


Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Author: Queen Noor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 11/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very interesting book but I had to take breaks here and there (reading 2 books at once) because I felt this was a very intense read! This book explains a lot about the Palastinian/Israeli conflict, politics between the usa and middle east, as well as a sweet love story between an American woman who fell in love with and married King Hussein of Jordan. Whether you are American, Middle Eastern, Muslim or Christian this is an interesting read.


My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 6/22/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely hysterical & the funniest book I have ever read!! In some sections I was laughing so hard I was crying! Do not read in public or you will look like a mental patient!


Plain Perfect (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 1)
Plain Perfect (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/11/2018


I LOVE this series!!! I recently started reading a number of Amish stories from different authors and I have to say, Beth Wiseman is my new favorite!!! What a wonderful book! I could not put it down! Just started reading book 2 yesterday and I am almost done!! Sooo Good!!! :)


Plain Pursuit (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 2)
Plain Pursuit (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 2)
Author: Beth Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 7/11/2018


Love, Love, LOVE this series and Beth Wiseman!!! I am new to this author and cannot wait to read every one of her books! Blew through this book in 3 days! I could not put it down!!


Princess: A True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arabia (Princess Trilogy, Bk 1)
Review Date: 1/1/2011


This is an amazing book that I could not put down! Not for the squeamish! Very graphic look at the sad & brutal life of a Saudi woman. Princess or not, being born a woman in Saudia Arabia is not something I would wish on anyone! If you have any interest in Arab culture this is a must read! Can't wait to read book 2 in the trilogy!


Racer Buddies-Opening Day at Daytona (Racer Buddies)
Racer Buddies-Opening Day at Daytona (Racer Buddies)
Author: Craig Elliott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/5/2009


My son really liked this book especially since he had been to the Daytona track. It also has a "Racing glossary" where he looked up words or phrases like qualifying day and traction and it helped him to understand the "racing lingo" that he had heard so many times on TV.If you have ever been to the Daytona track or plan to take your child there this is a fun book for them to have.


Rosanna of the Amish
Rosanna of the Amish
Author: Joseph Warren Yoder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/5/2010


What a great little book! Such a sweet(True)story about an Irish, Catholic Baby being raised Amish. If you want to know anything about the Amish, this is the book to read! I am pretty sure Joseph Warren Yoder covers it all!


1 to 12 of 12