booKee - Reviews

1 to 20 of 99 - Page:
Anne's Perfect Husband (Sinclair Brides, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historical, No 552)
Review Date: 7/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent...highly recommend. I just love tortured heroes.


Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 7/8/2010
Helpful Score: 9


I enjoyed the first few chapters because the story was so engrossing. The characters were lively and believable. But then reading on, I got to know the hero Jack. I came to find him immature, petty, and close-minded. I liked the heroine Olivia ("Livvie"), but could not understand what she found in the hero. Yes he's good looking and romantic. But he's weak through and through. Of course as with all love stories, he redeemed himself. Not enough, though. Not nearly enough. This was a total mismatch.

I was also dissatisfied that Jack never fully regained his memory and it left a lot of holes. He and Livvie had been estranged for more than 4 years, so there was a lot to be filled up and explained. The events were patchy and explanations inconclusive.

Other than that, I though the author wrote wonderfully, using colorful description, and rich characterizations. This was a historical romance and I didn't find any anachronisms. I've been having a surfeit of that lately and this one bucks the trend.

If you're looking for an engrossing romance with a hero to die for, skip this book. If you're looking for an author who can write historical fiction without romance, try this one.


Belle of Portman Square (Harlequin Regency Romance, No 65)
Belle of Portman Square (Harlequin Regency Romance, No 65)
Author: Clarice Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/28/2006


Author is CLARICE Peters.


Borrowed Plumes
Borrowed Plumes
Author: Roseleen Milne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/25/2007


enjoyed it.


The Brazen Bride (Black Cobra Quartet, Bk 3)
The Brazen Bride (Black Cobra Quartet, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 7/20/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Liked this one a lot and thought it the best one yet of the series. For starters, it has more fun and adventure and... swashbuckling!

Second, the steamy sex scenes for which LS is famous and which I skipped for the most part as it was same o same o, was taken care of the first few chapters. With that out the way, the plot picked up fast with the h/h and friends on the run and one step ahead of the villains. They did encounter real dangers and came out of one very tight nail biting scene quite victorious, albeit with cuts and bruises.

Third, h/h knew almost right away that they were fated to be together. About 3 quarters into the book, they already knew they loved each other and that they would marry. No mushy soul-searching revelations at the end.

Fourth, no BIG MISUNDERSTANDING, which is one of my pet peeves as it sometimes gets so convoluted, taking up much of the book that the romance suffers.

Fifth, the h/h in this book are commoners. They are not snobs, are down to earth, no-nonsense and practical. I'm a little tired of LS' usual blue-blooded h/h's, who at times I find too perfect.

I can't wait for the last 4th installment. I hope that one tops this.

*
*
*
*
*S
**P
***O
****I
*****L
******E
*******R
********S
*
*
*
Hero is a bastard of an earl. He's also an orphan and has no family. I think this is LS' first. It's sweet that he found a ready-made family with the heroine, who takes in children orphaned from shipwrecks and schools them in trade. She's got a big house, a sizable estate on an island she pretty much owns. She's also a businesswoman, runs a shipping line and in fact captains her own ship!


Bride of Revenge
Bride of Revenge
Author: Denise Robins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2006


Originally titled Desire is Blind


A Christmas Present: Surrender / Falling Stars / Gifts of the Heart
Review Date: 4/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


All 3 stories are reprints. Falling Stars by L. Chase first appeared in Avon Books Presents A Christmas Collection (I give this 4 out of 5 stars); Gifts of the Heart by J. French in Avon Books Presents Under the Mistletoe (didn't read, so no comment); and A Christmas Present by L. Kleypas in Avon Books Presents Christmas Love Stories (4 stars).


Claiming the Courtesan
Claiming the Courtesan
Author: Anna Campbell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 3/5/2008
Helpful Score: 6


found the h/h immature and the story way too violent; really, there's no love story here.


Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Author: Kieran Kramer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/6/2011


My least liked of the series so far. The first was the best, next was okay, this one I only got so far as the third chapter when I gave up and jumped to the ending. Oh well, I hope book 4 redeems the author as that one's on my wish list.


The Colonial Upstart (Signet Regency Romance)
The Colonial Upstart (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Emily Hendrickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/25/2007


enjoyed it.


The Contrary Contessa
The Contrary Contessa
Author: Susanne Marie Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2007


enjoyed it.


The Controversial Countess (Signet Regency Romance)
The Controversial Countess (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/25/2007


loved it! loved the longer version Petals in the Storm, too.


Cotillion
Cotillion
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/28/2006


by Georgette Heyer


The Country Gentleman (Zebra Regency Romance)
The Country Gentleman (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Cindy Holbrook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/9/2009


*** SPOILER ALERT ***
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I'm a big Holbroook fan, but this one didn't do it for me. Heroine is spoiled and hero is weak. Plus....he's a virgin!


The Country Rose (Cotillion, No 9)
The Country Rose (Cotillion, No 9)
Author: Diana Lyndon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/28/2006


by Diana Lyndon


Cousins of a Kind
Cousins of a Kind
Author: Sheila Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2006


Reissued by Signet under title The Diamond Waterfall


Dance with Deception
Dance with Deception
Author: Tracy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/9/2008


too convoluted and the gramatical errors so tiresome


Dancing on the Wind (Fallen Angels, Bk 3)
Dancing on the Wind (Fallen Angels, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/10/2006


My favorite of the Fallen Angel series. Highly recommend!


A Daring Deception (Zebra Regency Romance)
A Daring Deception (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Cindy Holbrook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/25/2007


loved it. reminiscent of Heyer's The Masqueraders.


Dearly Beloved (Signet Regency Romance)
Dearly Beloved (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


disturbing start but well worth the read!


1 to 20 of 99 - Page: