Carol B. (carolbooth) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 11/11/2010


Read this as a teenager and it and On the Beach scarred me witless. Rereading it now, I thoroughly enjoy it. Survival like the excellent tv series Jericho or the unabridged Robinson Crusoe. A very good read!


The Bible Has the Answer: Practical Biblical Discussions of 100 Frequent Questions
Review Date: 5/9/2017


Dr. Morris has written a very important book answering questions that have been wondered about for many years. He is the Father of Creation Science and so very knowledgeable. The only area that is not good is his writing about the Holy Spirit and the Baptism, gifts, and necessity of. But as the Lord said to me in Haiti as I worked among the Baptists, "Doesn't it bless you that they are willing to go out even without the power!" I praise God for this book even though some of it is wrong. It is well worthwhile. It would be wonderful in waiting rooms. The amazing thing is the lack of redundancy considering how many questions have similar answers. I highly recommend it.


Buried Alive: The Startling Truth About Neanderthal Man
Buried Alive: The Startling Truth About Neanderthal Man
Author: Jack Cuozzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/4/2016


This is an incredible find that the author, an orthodontist never expected to find. He went to Europe and measured and X-rayed all the Neanderthal skulls he could. It has very far-reaching implications. The museums had to undo fraudulent doctoring of the skulls because of his discoveries. Here is a hint. Thirty-year-old Neanderthals still had their baby teeth. I would have preferred that Cuozzo had written two books. One for absolute laymen telling of the discoveries in simple terms. This book is a science book with all the measurements, proof, etc. He can be found on utube.


The Children's Book of Heroes
Review Date: 9/5/2015


This is an excellent book. My 3 year old granddaughter loves it. I did cut out the Nephilim pages about a greek god before I gave it to her. Beautiful pictures and well written.


Cooking with Helen McCully Beside You
Cooking with Helen McCully Beside You
Author: Helen McCully
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/5/2015


Best Moussaka recipe in the world.


Crude Death
Crude Death
Author: Don Ingram
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2015


A great thriller about the oil fields of west Texas and the peculiar characters residing in such. A surprise ending you won't expect will make you remember this book.


Deadline (Ollie Chandler, Bk 1)
Deadline (Ollie Chandler, Bk 1)
Author: Randy Alcorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/14/2012


The first book to equal Dante. A first class thriller with scenes of what is going on in heaven at the same time. Very informative, well written and exciting.


Gilead
Gilead
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 10/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A story written by a third generation preacher for his son to read when grown. Wild grandfather, substantial father and keenly observant son. When you read the part about a town in Kansas digging a tunnel, there is a surprise in store for you. After you read the whole section, tell it to someone and suddenly you will laugh until you just can't keep telling it!!!! It didn't really strike me as that funny until I told it. Amazingly funny story. This book is a real delight! Tender, strange, acute observations, odd people, and it will make you want to know more of the history of people like John Brown. I can't wait to finish it to give it to my pastor. He will absolutely love it!!!! Although, my son and grandson are likely to ask for it since I told them about the tunneling. The tower of babel in reverse, I'd say.
You won't be sorry you got this one!


God's Battalions: The Case for the Crusades
God's Battalions: The Case for the Crusades
Author: Rodney Stark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2015


Incredibly important book!!! We have been lied to for generations. Had the Crusades never happened it is very unlikely that we would even be here. We need another one.


The Good Guy
The Good Guy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Rather a good thriller. Easy to read and very fast moving.


Holy Bible - King James Version
Holy Bible - King James Version
Author: King James of Great Britian, France & Ireland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/27/2012


This is published by the Mormons and is not the real King James Bible. Cults change a lot and can be discovered by reading John 1.1. In real bibles it says: In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God. In cults it says: In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was A god. You can see that this is not a small thing to be overlooked. Also if you notice the ISBN number you will see that something is wrong with it.


The Insanity of Obedience: Walking with Jesus in Tough Places
The Insanity of Obedience: Walking with Jesus in Tough Places
Author: Nik Ripken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/1/2015


You have never read a book like this. Absolutely new information that we need to know. Life changing information. I can't recommend it enough!


Jesus in Beijing: How Christianity Is Transforming China and Changing the Global Balance of Power
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Some of the most astounding news I have ever heard. Very well written and filled with important happenings in China. Hopeful stuff.


Lord Foulgrin's Letters: How to Strike Back at the Tyrant by Deceiving and Destroying His Human Vermin
Review Date: 4/9/2013


This is a very good rehash of Lewis' Screwtape letter and I think better. But Alcorn has a serious problem that shows up first (for me) in his book on the martyr in China. He has the man attending the one mega house church in China that refuses to "wait in Jerusalem until you receive the power from on high." I.e., rejects the baptism in the Holy Spirit. I would really like for Alcorn to get someone who does have the anointing of the Holy Spirit to help him rewrite the little book on Heaven so that it has power. I bought a number of them to give to unbelievers hoping it would help them to come to Jesus, but no one has read the entire booklet. The complete book on Heaven is very good though as an academic work.
There is no question that this author is a very very good writer. I think that Deadline is an incredibly good and informative book and have thought about making a tract from it of what hell is like. Very worthwhile.
While Alcorn is a very good writer and writes on such important things, he would do well to obey Jesus and get the gifts he needs. He also lauds Piper who, if you think about it, would say that Fletcher, in ...the Letters isn't really saved, because he sins.
So get baptized in the Holy Spirit, get rid of the Calvinism and we are on the way to the excellence Jesus is worthy of.


The Lost History of Christianity: The Thousand-Year Golden Age of the Church in the Middle East, Africa, and Asia--and How It Died
Review Date: 3/18/2015


This is an incredibly interesting book. Information is given here that just isn't known. Perhaps much came out after the Iron Curtain went down. But Christianity was aglow in the Middle East, along the Silk Route and in China and even Japan until about 700 A.D., definitely surpassing Europe. I found this book thrilling. Just to think of these amazing facts. To hear what the Ancient of Days was doing 1700 years ago.


Making Amends in Big Bend
Making Amends in Big Bend
Author: Don Ingram
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2015


A very interesting thriller written by a newspaper editor of West Texas roots. The characters are well developed and so real that you want to slap some and hug others. Ingram has written other books about West Texas and I enjoyed them all. I have a copy of each but am not putting it on paperbackbookswap because I intend to keep them and read them again.


Ornery Old Cowboys
Ornery Old Cowboys
Author: Don Ingram
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2015


Very good thriller with colorful west Texas characters by a newspaperman who has lived among "them" all his life. He knows what he is talking about and I know too because I grew up there.


The Secret on Ararat (Babylon Rising, Bk 2)
The Secret on Ararat (Babylon Rising, Bk 2)
Author: Tim LaHaye, Bob Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/13/2012


I really loved this book. Sometimes it is just thrilling to read!


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5269
Review Date: 11/11/2010


Jesus is a cuss word in this book. And it went from there. A good vocabulary doesn't need the kind of expression used in this book.


Timeline
Timeline
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 11/22/2010


Very interesting premise. Unique time travel story. I like it but have a couple of things to say. It was hard to follow the descriptions of their movements and his description of the places was not really understandable. Also, it was wonderful not to be made a voyeur to porno. Clean straightforward characters. BUT, Jesus is the cussword used in this book. I wonder what people will do when they get into a position where they really need the Savior and have used His name in vain (even though He always comes when His Name is called). Will they have the confidence in His goodness to expect an answer in their dire need? The little boy who cried wolf.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: