Linda (Angeleyes) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 218 - Page:
101 Secrets A Cool Mom Knows
101 Secrets A Cool Mom Knows
Author: Walter Browder, Sue Ellin Browder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/6/2008


Very neat! I even learned a few things! I enjoyed this book because it goes past the everyday domestic take care of your kids type things and gives you ideas to make it fun like how to hang a spoon on your nose. Some of it seems silly but if you approach the read with a less than serious attitude it makes motherhood just a bit less intense.


227 Ways to Unleash the Sex Goddess Within
227 Ways to Unleash the Sex Goddess Within
Author: Olivia St. Claire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A must read for every woman. The focus in this book is how to discover your own sexual nature. It is definitely for women who want to expand their comfort zone and who are interested in feeling sexy, desirable and confident in sexual situations. Basically, this book is about learning to be comfortable with being sexy. It is about learning to appreciate your body and the beauty of life around you. Through Olivia's thoughts, you come to see how in fact, women have woven romance, love and sex into a magical art form.
It is well written by Oliva St.Claire and it's suggestions are easy to follow.


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1180
Review Date: 10/27/2008


Quick, suspenseful and full of action. Easy to read and the story line moved quickly. I'm not sure how James Patterson does it but he is able to write from a woman's perspective so well, you forget that a man is writing it. This books gives us a bit more insight into Lindsay and how sad she is.


3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1052
Review Date: 10/27/2008


This book in the series was especially heartwrenching when one of the club dies..but it makes the read even better because it becomes personal and I really felt for the remaining trio. Patterson very adebtly weaves together several seperate plot lines into one gripping page turner. It's got a strong driving plot. It puts you in the middle of intense ation right fromt he start. And keep you there. The plot is intricately woven together and this time, intelligently drawn out to the end. The interplay between the characters has humor and pathos. A superior read.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This storyline was good but different than the first two. It focused more on Lindsay than the relationship between the women but it does introduce the "newest" member of the club. The thing I didn't like was when she was brought on, it was sort of like an oversight. All the sudden there she was. But aside from that, Patterson does a good job of digging just a little bit more into who Lindsay is and what makes her tick.


5 People Who Died During Sex
5 People Who Died During Sex
Author: Karl Shaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A great book. I read it outloud on Christmas day while the family was cooking dinner. It made us all laugh or make faces or be grossed out depending on the list. A book to have a lot of fun with, especially at parties.


The 7th Victim (Karen Vail, Bk 1)
The 7th Victim (Karen Vail, Bk 1)
Author: Alan Jacobson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I must say I was a bit disappointed in this book. My first Alan Jacobson book was False Accusations and it blew my socks off. I expected the same from The 7th Victim but it was not to be. This story didn't really get into character development. It just sort of lopped along and became somewhat predictable. You never really get into the mind of the killer as in so many psychological thrillers and you don't really feel for the characters.


The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 5/20/2009


As with the first 7, I enjoyed this book. The characters are still great but it didn't seem to have that "grip you from page 1" that the earlier ones had and the characters didn't seem to have time to interact with each other as much but all in all a very solid story.


After You'd Gone
After You'd Gone
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I suffered through this read hoping it would get better but it did not. It just droned on and on. The characters seemed pathetic and not connected - not terribly developed. The story itself was very choppy, flashing back and forth between histories of a mother, Ann, and daughter, Alice, as well as what Alice is thinking while in a coma. A lot of extraneous dialogue not helpful for the flow of the story. For me the authors "voice" was not only offputting but unpleasant. Overall, this book seemed like it was written by a 7th grader just learning how to put together the parts of a story.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 11/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I completely LOVE the book "Agnes and the Hitman." I love the plot, the characters and the laugh-out-loud dialogue. I'm giving this one my top rating because it does such a good job of blending all the important elements of a stellar romance with a high degree of comedy. I could relate to Agnes wanting to be independent; the book left me wishing I could find a hitman.


All Acts of Pleasure (Rowan Gant, Bk 7)
All Acts of Pleasure (Rowan Gant, Bk 7)
Author: M. R. Sellars
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/6/2010


Here Sellars presents us with some intriguing information that he builds his case on, and then educates the reader, giving the reader the background in order to understand what is going on and be amazed by the amount of time Sellars has put into this series. From DNA research, to research on Voudon practices and magic that is NOT hearsay or gossip, to modern day police practices and a sneak peek into the shadowy world of BDS&M, Sellars presents us with facts, carefully researched and presented in an intelligent manner.
Sellars also ties us emotionally to the main characters in this book. All magics aside, Sellars gives us some very touching and emotionally charged dialogue between the characters, developing them further than most of the other mystery series out there. You become attached to the Gant family, you feel their pain, you suck in your breath and nod your head each time something happens to them. You love the good cops, and hiss at the bad cops.

Sellars is going beyond the cheap paperback detective stories, and is presenting us with some very realistic characters who could be you or me. He gets the reader involved with them on many different levels.


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten: Uncommon Thoughts on Common Things
Review Date: 2/9/2008


This book contains all the lessons we need to know to lead a successful life. It is a reminder that we learned long ago the lessons we need in Kindergarten to be successful at whatever endeavor we choose


All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 7/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book looked like a really good read but I got about 10 pages in and started bawling. I couldn't finish it. Judy appears to be an excellent writer and maybe another time, I'll try to read it again but it's just so emotionally charged you have to be in a good frame of mind to delve in. If you have any difficulties reading books about children who have been hurt, mistreated, abused, die, etc. this book may not be for you. Very intense.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 2/15/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book did not impress me. It seemed to almost but not quite, scratch the surface of characters and in parts was hard to follow. You never quite get a clear picture of the main characters life now. The author never quite makes clear what her intention is with the story - should we feel sorry for her? After reading this book, I think the main character has just as many issues as her parents but is not willing to admit it.


Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1051
Review Date: 11/8/2009


This book flies. Along Came A Spider is a perfect "fun" read. It moves at a very rapid pace. It has pretty well developed characters considering its quick pace and more plot twists than you'll ever anticipate. Just when you think you know how the story is going to go Patterson turns it on its ear. Another thing that makes this book so good is that despite the surprising plot twists everything is fairly believable within the context of the story. It's consistent, quick and exciting! Read it!


American History X
American History X
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A great story. A definite read.

American History X is a nuanced and believable exploration of the roots and manifestations of racism. This book does not lecture but nor does it pardon - it approaches its delicate subject matter with conviction, maturity and stark imagery. In searching out these manifestations is becomes a story of redemption. Written wil such powerful imagery, I found myself completely blown away while reading and realizing that the message of hate and how it affects generations is something so true and ingrained in our culture that it often defies logic. Yet it continues to grow.

Anyone who feels the need to venture outside of their comfort zone every once in a while shoul definitely read this book. But beware, there are some VERY graphic scenes.


Angels Dance and Angels Die: The Tragic Romance of Pamela and Jim Morrison
Review Date: 5/20/2009


Very interesting views not found in any other book about Jim Morrison that I've read. If you are a Morrison/Doors fan, I suggest you read this book. It's well written and seems to be written from a fact point of view vs. a speculation point of view.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 12/31/2008


A neat little read. Nothing spectacular about the book or story but once you start reading you kind of wonder what happens to them all throughout the years. Makes you wish you had friends like this.


Animal Farm
Animal Farm
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


One of my all time favorite books. A great read and a bit 'scary" to think that it was written 80 years ago and yet is so contemporary in the 21st century.


Astrid & Veronica
Astrid & Veronica
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/16/2008


I enjoyed the story of Astrid & Veronika's friendship, but I found that I never truly immersed myself in the book. While it was a nice story, it was a book that had I stopped reading midway through and not finished it, I wouldn't have been upset. The book is poignant,and thought provoking, but not terribly captivating.


1 to 20 of 218 - Page: