Judy M. (nursejudy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
Abeka A Handbook for Reading
Abeka A Handbook for Reading
Author: Abeka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2012


I'm a homeschooling mom and I've used this book for years to help my 4 children learn to read. I like the way the emphasis is on phonics and just 20 minutes a day. There is a little review and then adding to what was learned the day before. I gave my copies away and was so happy to find another here on PBS as my daughter is using it to help someone learn to read.


ABEKA reader: Noah Webster
ABEKA reader: Noah Webster
Author: Elaine Cunningham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/13/2012


My 5th grade son enjoyed reading this book with me about Noah Webster as a child and later an adult.


ACROSS FIVE APRILS
ACROSS FIVE APRILS
Author: Irene Hunt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/26/2015


I enjoyed this book for my son and I in our literature program when we were studying the Civil War. It told what it was like in the during that time from the perspective of 12 year old left home with the parents and an older sister on the farm in Illinois. The older brothers went off to war and were not in favor of the same side. What I really liked about this story, was that it was based on her grandfather's memories of the Civil war.


Adventures in Nature
Adventures in Nature
Author: A Beka Book
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/13/2012


This is a book of timed readings that are much more interesting to read than some of the other abeka books as they are about nature. My daughters used this book and got better time and comprehension with their readings.


Arithmetic 6 Teacher Key
Arithmetic 6 Teacher Key
Author: Abeka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/16/2012


I used this book for my daughters for their math. It IS challenging, but we made it all the way through. I like that the directions for how to do a new concept are at the top of the lesson and written in a clear and concise way. Many times the girls just taught themselves and I didn't need to do anything but correct their work. This is not a current edition, copyright 2000 and printed in 2003. The # on the back is 61859004, so it may be difficult to get a student book to go with it. At this time I'm going through (Abeka)Basic Mathematics with my son using 2 teacher editions. In one of the editions I am "witing out" the answers.


Arts, Entertainment, and Christian Values: Probing the Headlines (Probing the Headlines That Impact Your Family)
Review Date: 9/14/2016


We were so delighted to find this book on Paperbackswap! My daughter needed this book for a class and it saved us money. It does look like a good book to read too!


A Beka New World History & Geography Review Maps B Grade 6
A Beka New World History & Geography Review Maps B Grade 6
Author: A Beka Book
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/28/2013


We used it for homeschooling. It was good to refer to maps for places that we were studying. There are maps with places and cities identified and there are others that have dots but no label so that a student can practice his memory of places.


Better Homes and Gardens More Bread Machine Bounty
Review Date: 7/8/2012


I got this as I really enjoyed baking bread and wanted a little more variety than was offered in the instruction manual for the bread machine...and it is. Besides the classic breads, there are recipes for sourdough,whole grain breads, herb breads (great for croutons), vegetable breads, fruit and nut breads, dessert breads, rolls and shaped breads, and international breads.


Brinn and the Dragons of Pallan Cliffs: Prophecy of the Dragons Book 2 (Prophecy of the Dragons, 2)
Review Date: 11/11/2012


A very interesting book about a girl whose mother was taken by a dragon and not seen since.


Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 10/19/2012


Not as great as I thought it would be. A lot of movie references, would rather see more scripture in it.


Choosing Good Health, teacher key,2nd edition,6th grade
Choosing Good Health, teacher key,2nd edition,6th grade
Author: A Beka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/11/2012


This book has answers to worksheets, quizes and tests. While reading through the text with my son, it was good to check his knowledge and comprehension of what we talked about in our homeschooling sessions. I printed off the pages and whited out the answers so he could write his answers in. There is really quite a bit of information in it about health and exercise and about general body systems. After our reading session, I really didn't have a problem with the kids balking when I suggested going out to ride their bike or going for a walk.


City Girl (Yellow Rose, Bk 3)
City Girl (Yellow Rose, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 11/11/2012


As the final book in a trilogy, City Girl does an excellent job of concluding the story of the Rawlings brothers. I kind of wanted to see the wedding of Dakota and Darvi in the previous book, but now I see how it fits so much better in this one.


The Cuckoo Child
The Cuckoo Child
Author: Dick King-Smith and David Parkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/7/2012


We have this book and my daughters like it so much that they won't let me put it on the PBS. Instead they want me to get more copies of it so they can someday read it to their children as a bedtime story. The 1st chapter opens with a mother kissing her son goodnight and asking,"Are you warm enough?" The boy nods, the mother leaves and he listens for her diminishing foot steps. Then he turns to look under his pillow where there are 3 brown eggs and whispers, "Are you warm enough?"


The Curse of the Horrible Hair Day (Bloodhounds, Inc)
The Curse of the Horrible Hair Day (Bloodhounds, Inc)
Author: Bill Myers, David Wimbish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2014


Although it is for younger children, my 14 year old, 17 year old, and 18 year old enjoyed this book. They love this series and want the whole collection for THEIR children.


Enchanted Isles
Enchanted Isles
Author: A Beka Book
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/13/2012


This is a reading book for the 4th grade(4.4), but my son read it just for fun. It must not be so bad because he read it in his free time.


End of the Spear
End of the Spear
Author: Steve Saint
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/15/2012


The story of Nate Saint, Ed McCully, Roger Youderian, Jim Elliot, and Pete Fleming continues as one of the children of the missionary martyrs returns to the tribe that raised him from the age of nine-the same tribe that killed his father. I really liked reading more about the Waodani and how they changed after they accepted Christ.


Every Little Thing About You (Yellow Rose Trilogy, Book 1)
Every Little Thing About You (Yellow Rose Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/9/2012


An engaging read set in the early West by my favorite Christian author. Lori Wick is an encouraging author who has presented the Gospel in almost every one of her novels.


FAHRENHEIT 451
FAHRENHEIT 451
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/16/2014


This book was awesome! I love the way he writes..using similes and metaphors and describing things that make you reach a conclusion and tell you how it is. I was so "pulled" into this book and it was so thought provoking. It applies to events going on in this country right now. Senator Ted Cruz referred to it when again he needed to defend our Freedom of Speech. If Ray Bradbury knew how our freedom of speech was in danger of being taken away, he would roll over in his grave.


Fire and Ice (Warriors, Bk 2)
Fire and Ice (Warriors, Bk 2)
Author: Erin Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 5/31/2012


Fireheart has become a warrior and is sent on a mission with his best friend, Graystripe, to find and retrieve Windclan.
Although I sincerely enjoyed this book and would recommend it to whoever liked book one, this is not my favorite book in the series.


Forest of Secrets (Warriors, Bk 3)
Forest of Secrets (Warriors, Bk 3)
Author: Erin Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 5/31/2012


Fireheart searches for the truth behind the death of former Thunderclan deputy Redtail. As he discovers some of the secrets of the cats around him, he discovers a plot against his leader and mentor, Bluestar.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who liked book two.


1 to 20 of 57 - Page: