Dianne L. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Age of Innocence
The Age of Innocence
Author: Edith Wharton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 7/5/2013


Great characters and a great picture of the social scene in New York back in an earlier time period. I really enjoyed this novel as I do all the Edith Wharton books I've read.


All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 6/28/2012


Surprisingly upbeat in view of other McCarthy novels I've read. There is something riveting about his style. I enjoyed the book a lot.


Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 7/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A very interesting novel of contemporary British society, this book is definitely what I would call a tour de force. It kept me interested from beginning to end, trying to guess the outcome, and entertained by McEwans' always compelling style.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 7/5/2013


If you're a John Grisham fan you will surely enjoy this one; but I find his characters wooden and his plots predictable. Obviously he's a good storyteller, but this is not the book to read if you are looking for a literary novel.


Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions
Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions
Author: Daniel Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/9/2012


If you like mythical and literary allusions, you will enjoy this book as much as I did. If you don't care for fantasy or magical realism, you may not fall for the tall tales that the father tells his son, but you may recognize the type of person who loves to exaggerate and who has a vivid imagination.


birds of america: a novel by
birds of america: a novel by
Author: mary mccarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/18/2015


Highly allusive in style and very entertaining to those of us who enjoy imaginative prose, Birds of America is a good coming-of-age story of young Peter Levi and also a portrait of America in the 1960's. For me, this was a keeper, since I could relate to its time period and I annotated it extensively (vocabulary items, themes and motifs, historical and literary references, philosophical comments, etc.) However, I would not recommend the book to those looking for a well-plotted and fast-moving narrative. The book is by Mary McCarthy, popular for the novel and the subsequent movie, The Group.


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 753
Review Date: 7/5/2013


This one is a story told from the viewpoint of a Renaissance artist who happens to be a woman and who therefore lacks opportunities to develop her talent. It is well-written and very interesting from a historical perspective. I enjoyed it.


The Counterlife
The Counterlife
Author: Philip Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/26/2012


Not for everybody, but a great novel for those who enjoy metafiction!


Gilead
Gilead
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 7/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Although the story gets off to a slow start, this book is an excellent character study and a very touching tale
that relates to the American experience, the Christian ministry, and human relations. The first person narrtive style is used very effectively to unfold the plot. A great book!


Lila (Gilead, Bk 3)
Lila (Gilead, Bk 3)
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/15/2017


Excellent novel. Good to read if you've read the other two in the trilogy, but also good if you haven't. Lila, long homeless and itinerant, has lots to learn from her preacher husband, and lots to teach him too.


1 to 10 of 10