Sarah T. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The All of It
The All of It
Author: Jeannette Haien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/19/2011


Haien's spare telling of this story is in an authentic voice relaying suffering, dilemma and finally freedom as solid as the Irish seaside in which it is set. The book may be 25 years old, but the story here is timeless. And a bonus is the flyfishing detail.


An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
Author: Ann Vanderhoof
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/2/2011


The macaroni and cheese recipe alone makes this book worthwhile. The get-away-from-it-all story is no fairy tale and the living aboard stories ring true.


Child of My Heart
Child of My Heart
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/27/2014


This is an absolute gem of a book. Written about a young woman's experience from the perspective of a grown woman looking down the long pipe of experience, it rings true on every page.


A Complicated Kindness
A Complicated Kindness
Author: Miriam Toews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/14/2011


The book speaks with the authentic voice of teenager in a small Mennonite community in Canada. Struggling with loss of family and faith, trying to find a way in the world, it is sad and funny. Weirdly appealling and insightful even in the midst of heartbreaking moments. It stays with you long after the last page.


The English Major
The English Major
Author: Jim Harrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/27/2014


Harrison at his ribald, irreverent best. I think I would have liked this book whenever I read it, but being now "of a certain age" loved it.


Faceless Killers (Kurt Wallander, Bk 1)
Faceless Killers (Kurt Wallander, Bk 1)
Author: Henning Mankell, Steven T. Murray (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 7/6/2011


Wallander comes alive in this first book in the series. Not as hard to follow as the Stieg books and much more understated. Leaves you wanting more of Kurt.


The Man in My Basement (Large Print)
The Man in My Basement (Large Print)
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/2/2011


This is not your usual Walter Mosley-Easy Rawlins fare, but it is well worth your time as you try to put together what motivates the main character and the man in his basement. Startling at times, but unflinching as it moves forward.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1042
Review Date: 7/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Wow, you have to wonder what all the hype is about. The whole time I felt like I had read this book before and that it had been better written; you could see the "plot twists" coming a mile away. School boy fantasies about sex going on and on--the fantasies, not the sex. The really sad thing is that there is probably a great book out there that got rejected because the publisher chose this one instead.


Something Blue
Something Blue
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1644
Review Date: 7/17/2011
Helpful Score: 2


If this is the best chick lit can produce we are all in trouble. It is predictable, pedestrian, and poorly written. There isn't one character in it that you'd like to have a drink with or ask a question about. The author must be laughing all the way to the bank.


Tender at the Bone:  Growing Up at the Table
Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table
Author: Ruth Reichl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 7/26/2011


Just an outstanding read. Honest in every word; true in every feeling. And some good takeaway recipes as well.


1 to 10 of 10