Carla H. (Pioneerheart) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 90 - Page:
52 Fantastic Dates for You and Your Mate
52 Fantastic Dates for You and Your Mate
Author: David Arp, Claudia Arp
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


7 Categories of dates include:
Just-For-Fun dates
Getting-In-Shape dates
Romantic dates
Do-It-Together dates
Cheap-and-Easy dates
"We're Just to Tired" dates

Last Category includes dates from Marriage Alive Alumini w/ten bonus dates on the last chapter.


Adam's Bride
Adam's Bride
Author: Lisa Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Massachusetts Brides Series #3


American Indian Activity Book: Arts Crafts Cooking (102)
American Indian Activity Book: Arts Crafts Cooking (102)
Author: Linda Milliken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is loaded with historical information, arts, crafts, games, cooking and more! Detailed instructions and material lists make planning a breeze and history fun. Many of the crafts use easy to find and recycled items.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found this to be a very quick read. Lot's of laughs and sorrows, the drama unfolds fast and you'll find yourself asking "Can all this happen to one bunch of ladies?" it's got it all.


Apples Thematic Unit
Apples Thematic Unit
Author: Mary Ellen Sterling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The projects we found most enjoyable where the apple tree prints, apple cheddar grilled sandwichs, planting apple seeds and watching them grow, making "old man" apples. There are several great book reading suggestions throughout in additon to the main Two for the theme.


As Time Goes by (California Series, Bk 2)
As Time Goes by (California Series, Bk 2)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/21/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A sweet simple romance, not about a jaw dropping beauty, but a plain girl with a heart of gold. Who learns she doesn't have to settle for just anything.


The Ballad of Lucy Whipple
The Ballad of Lucy Whipple
Author: Karen Cushman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! Was also made into a movie and aired on CBS(Feb 2001) starring Glen Close.


The Batman Handbook: The Ultimate Training Manual
The Batman Handbook: The Ultimate Training Manual
Author: Scott Beatty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/4/2007


A must have for the Batman fan!


The Best of The Mailbox Themes - Solar System
The Best of The Mailbox Themes - Solar System
Author: Kimberly Fields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Primary thematic unit with reproducible activities includes...
An Out of this World Adventure!
By the Light of the Silvery Moon
Moon Talk
Star-Studded Solar System
Marvelous Moon
"Sun-sational" Sun


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 5


An excellent blend of humor, tension and inspiration.
I enjoyed a look into colonial history/life, the way Gist described it whether it was completely accurate or not made me feel like I was actually there. Lady Constance is a very entertaining character, several times I laughed out loud.


Catching Katie (HeartQuest)
Catching Katie (HeartQuest)
Author: Robin Lee Hatcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 3/1/2007


Quick read about a woman trying to figure out if she can balance her work and love during the woman's sufferage era.


The Children's Busy Book
The Children's Busy Book
Author: Trish Kuffner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover:

This book contains 365 activities (one for each day of the year) for 6 to 10 year olds using things found around the home. It shows parents and day care providers how to:

·Prevent boredom during bad weather with games, kitchen activities, and art projects,

·Stimulate a child's natural curiosity with entertaining math, reading, writing, science, geography, and fine-arts activities,

·Encourage physical growth with fun outdoor activities,

·Foster a child's emotional growth with fun family-centered and social activities,

·Celebrate holidays and other occasions with special projects, and

·Keep children occupied during long car rides.

The Children's Busy Book is written with warmth and sprinkled with humor and insight. It should be required reading for anyone raising or teaching school-age children.


The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 11/10/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was my first introduction to a "cozie". I found it very enjoyable. The characters were fun. I was worried it would be lacking in mystery, but I was still guessing as to "whodunnit" till the last chapter. The chocolate confections were so descriptive you may be craving a box of chocolates before the book is through!


Civil War Curiosities : Strange Stories, Oddities, Events, and Coincidences
Review Date: 2/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loads of info for the civil war enthusiast!


Colonial American Activity Book (Hands-On Heritage)
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is loaded with historical information, arts, crafts, games, cooking and more! Detailed easy to follow instructions and material lists make planning a breeze and history fun! Projects are affordable as many use recycled materials.


The Coming Storm (Heirs of Montana, Bk 2)
The Coming Storm (Heirs of Montana, Bk 2)
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 5/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Book 2 in series--some more characters introduced again that leave you wondering what the point was. Then maybe there is a point in book 3. I enjoy the descriptive beauty of the Montana territory though!! Something about these books has me wanting to finish the series.


Cupcakes : From the Cake Mix Doctor
Cupcakes : From the Cake Mix Doctor
Author: Anne Byrn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Lot's and lot's of great recipes. Cupcakes, Muffins and Cakes (made in muffin cups). Our favorite recipe Chunky Peanutbutter Muffins!


Dear Miss Lonely Heart
Dear Miss Lonely Heart
Author: Aisha Ford, Terry Fowler, Pamela Kaye Tracy, Linda Lyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/6/2006


Contemporary Christian Romance


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 20


I live just a few hours from where the cat resided and I have never heard/or read the story of Dewey, until now. How did I miss this? I don't read Cat magazines, I guess? I was apparently oblivious to the 200 newspapers he was published in also. I can't be the only one?
I came to read his story now because I thought when browsing books the cover was so cute (a pic of Dewey himself too!). I'm very glad I used a tactic as trivial as "the cover is cute" to discover a remarkable story. Amazing the lives Dewey touched. He gave his uncondtional love in whatever way those who visited or knew him needed it. If the story doesn't bring a tear or two to your eye it will at least warm your heart.


Diary of a Fat Housewife : A True Story of Humor, Heart-Break, and Hope
Review Date: 4/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I did not like this book. It says on the cover a story of humor, heartbreak and hope. I found no humor in it or hope. She writes several times that other "fat" people disgust her, she is awful to her family and herself. I found nothing inspirational in this book and my guess is there is no promised sequel because the auhtor gained all the weight back.


1 to 20 of 90 - Page: