Jim H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
Aftermath
Aftermath
Author: LeVar Burton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/21/2012


I don't think Burton sat down and thought about what kind of a book he wanted to write before he started. Science Fiction? Apocalyptic? Metaphysical? Racial commentary? What he produces is a poorly constructed combination of them all. Some pretty good action scenes made it readable, but his overtly racist views made it uncomfortable to read. He should stick to acting.


Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 12/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book very much. Although it was written several decades ago I found the storyline fresh and very relevant to today. I highly recommend the book for readers who enjoy a good adventure story and especially those interested in post war stories.


Armageddon Strain (The Countdown)
Armageddon Strain (The Countdown)
Author: Sharon K. Gilbert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/12/2010


This book is a Christian oriented story about the devil, evil and the end of the world. It is a retelling of the biblical story of Armageddon with a somewhat modern twist. While I found it mildly entertaining as beach reading, I would not consider ordering any other books by the author as the writing is a little elementary and trite.


Begin Again (Remnants, Book 14)
Begin Again (Remnants, Book 14)
Author: K. A. Applegate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I did not enjoy this book. It was written as part of a much larger series - which I had not read - and it was written for much younger people. A kind of comic book in print, it was jerky in style (due in part because the author expected me to have read the previous books, I suspect) and did not stand alone well as a novel. It is unabashed Christian literature, but not to a level that distracted from the storyline. I did not enjoy it enough to read any of the others in the series.


The Boy Next Door
The Boy Next Door
Author: Gretchen Brinck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is not light reading. It deals with the murder of a young boy and even the outcome will not be satisfying for some. BUT, if you enjoy true life detective stories this is a great one for you. Pretty well written and interesting - exceptionally well researched book.


Cally's War (Posleen War, Bk 6)
Cally's War (Posleen War, Bk 6)
Author: Julie Cochrane, John Ringo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 1/4/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This may be the worst book I have EVER read. It seemed to be a series of unrelated events tacked into a poorly constructed framework. I feel certain that John Ringo simply added his name as co-author and Julie Cochrane made a mess of the book. It had very little to do with the Posleen series and it was nothing but a BAD spy story forced into the Posleen genre with a few references to the war and a characters stolen from the original books.

Keep in mind that I absolutely LOVED Ringo's original series, but this book is a disaster. It is so bad in fact that I will not relist it in the Swap because I don't want anyone else to suffer through it. If you loved the original series, skip this one.


Chindi (Engines of God, Bk 3)
Chindi (Engines of God, Bk 3)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Well I tried not to like it! His style really doesn't suit me because of his fantastic unrealistic story lines and exceptionally detailed narrative, but damn it - I really enjoyed it. Fast paced (most of the time) and a real page turner. I get really annoyed with McDevitt every time I read one of his books, but still I come back.


Classic Alphabets
Classic Alphabets
Author: Tammi Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/7/2009


A perfect book for those interested in creating a variety of alphabets in leaded glass or foil.


Conquistador: A Novel of Alternate History
Conquistador: A Novel of Alternate History
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 9/2/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Another wonderful ride into an alternative universe by the master, S. M. Stirling. Reading one of Stirling's books is like crawling in to a warm bed on a rainy afternoon. I enjoy every aspect of them (well, he gets a little wordy at times, but oh what words). An excellent read.


Darkness and Dawn (After the Apocalypse, Omnibus)
Darkness and Dawn (After the Apocalypse, Omnibus)
Author: Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/28/2010


Once again Norton did not disappoint! A wonderful read for those of us who love her style and imagination. She is a master of story development and reading her work is like savoring a rich piece of chocolate as you let it slowly dissolve on your tongue. A great read for Norton fans.


Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 7/3/2010


I enjoyed the book very much. It was brain candy, but fun. The story was unique and flowed from one adventure to another. Really kept my interest from start to finish. I enjoyed it so much I have put the other Lost Fleet books on my wish list.


The Dawning
The Dawning
Author: Hugh B. Cave
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/15/2011


I found this a mildly entertaining read. The character development was pretty well done, but the overall plot of the book was thin. It made good beach reading, but was not good enough so that I would seek out any more of his books.


Deepsix (Engines of God, Bk 2)
Deepsix (Engines of God, Bk 2)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 10/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book barely readable. While the storyline was unique and imaginative, much of the text was laborious and unnecessarily detailed. One paragraph described what was on a breakfast tray which added nothing to the storyline. I only select one example of many that added volume to the book, but no substance.


The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle, Bk 2)
The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle, Bk 2)
Author: Peter V. Brett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/29/2012


I really enjoyed the book. I was a little disoriented in the way the story started, but I adjusted and settled in for a good read. I am very happy with Brett's writing style and story telling. I worry about the characters when I am away from the book and always feel disappointment when I have to stop reading. I hope he gets book three out very soon.


Distant Thunders (Destroyermen, Bk 4)
Distant Thunders (Destroyermen, Bk 4)
Author: Taylor Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/18/2012


I really enjoyed this one! Taking a departure from his battles with the lizards, Anderson gave us a treat by developing his secondary storyline of the British antagonists that he introduced in previous books. Still exciting and fun, and that is what I read these books for!


The Dome in the Forest (Pelbar Cycle, Bk 3)
The Dome in the Forest (Pelbar Cycle, Bk 3)
Author: Paul O. Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/7/2010


I must add my praise for Paul O. William's extraordinary body of work. His seven Pelbar novels were not only wonderful stories, they were exquisitely written and crafted. I loved each one and was so disappointed when I reached the end of the series. A wonderful read!


Dust
Dust
Author: Charles R. Pellegrino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I am a big fan of apocalypse stories and was drawn to Dust based on that theme. While I enjoyed many parts of the book, and appreciated some of the unique concepts, I found it WAY too detailed in parts. It became so detailed that it was like slogging through thick mud to get back to the firm ground. That might not been as big an issue if the rest of the book was particularly well written, but it was not. I am not unhappy about having read it, but I give it only a lukewarm rating.


Eternity Road
Eternity Road
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 1/13/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Jack McDevitt has a wonderful imagination and an exceptionally gripping writing style. His post apoplectic novels are fun reads and I consider them to be brain candy as they require little effort to read and keep me interested. Here's the BUT: In his story development for this book he creates a vivid picture of the future - after a devastating plague wipes out the majority of man kind - you know - fun reading! His character development is pretty unique and his adventures are pretty cleaver. Then he adds a chapter where Winston Churchill is projected by a computer from the past and chats with one of the characters. A meaningless and silly interruption to the story. Another story line deals with another computer that still manages to keep some of the trains from the past operating - another just silly bit of fantasy. Don't know why he insists on dropping these bits into his books, but it kind of spoils it for me. Glad I read it, however. Nice story all in all.


The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 8/28/2010


What a wonderful romp this book was. I read it while on vacation on the Mexican Rivera and actually look forward more to spending time rolling through this story than I did doing tourist stuff. Laying by the pool, letting Robert Jordan take me to his wonderful places, was a pure joy. A great read.


First to Fight (Starfist, Bk 1)
First to Fight (Starfist, Bk 1)
Author: David Sherman, Dan Cragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/27/2010


I really enjoyed this book. It was, by virtue of its genre as a military action book, fairly predictable, but that is why I love these. Good creative writing with a few unusual surprises.


1 to 20 of 48 - Page: