PAUL C. (pabloguitarist) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 160 - Page:
The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy, Bk 4)
The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy, Bk 4)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 5/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy this author very much and this one does not disappoint. It kept me up late into the night and is tough to put down.


Absolute Friends
Absolute Friends
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/19/2006


I have long been a John Le Carré fan and have read all his books. This is probably his best.


The Aeneid
The Aeneid
Author: Vergil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2005


In this new translation of Vergil's "Aeneid," Patric Dickinsopn captures Vergil's epic poem and preserves the spirit of the original poem, the color, the movement, the life, with fresh force of imagery an insight.

A uperlative translation of Vergil's Aeneid into English verse. No other version suprasses it in clarity and vigor. -- Horace Gregory


Almost Vegetarian
Almost Vegetarian
Author: Diana Shaw, Kathy Warinner (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


ALMOST VEGETARIAN serves up a wealth of information in a simple, stfaivhgforward, and enticing manner that reflects the way we eat and cook today.


Archangel
Archangel
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 10/14/2005
Helpful Score: 4


Harris's powerful new thriller . . . makes clever imaginative use of actual historical detail . . . will keep you on edge. NY Times. It would be the find of a lifetime, a personal notebook that once belonged to Josef Stalin. More than one life is at stake in the murderous race for the truth. . . . in the vast forests of northern Russia, the final, shocking secret of Josef Stalin waits to be discovered.


Bad Business (Spenser, Bk 31)
Bad Business (Spenser, Bk 31)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 2/13/2006


Parker continues to write entertaining fiction. My only complaints: the books are such fast reading; and, he doesn't write fast enough. I look forward to his next one, because I've read all he's written.


Beyond Blame
Beyond Blame
Author: Stephen Greenleaf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/9/2006


"Readers who like their private-eye novels witty, literate, and properly balanced between misanthropy and compassion will find Stephen Greenleaf's BEYOND BLAME exactly to taste" -- NEWSWEEK


Beyond Yonder
Beyond Yonder
Author: Stephen Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/17/2005


When Darwin Hunter undertakes a revision of the popular local history "Over Yonder Hill," he discovers that he has let himself in for quite a job. Like thousands of other towns in America, Upper Granville is facing all the problems that occur when old-fashioned rural values meet up with modern lifestyles -- and current real estate values.

This book was especially relevant because we lived in Rochester, next to Lower Granville, for 10 years. Our home was at the end of a gravel road, with no phone line, no electricity and no neighbors. It seemed like the ideal place until the National Forest Service decided to log out about 20 acres of hardwoods up above our property and their logging road destroyed our spring when they dynamited some ledge and then rain washed their road down into our driveway and garage. Our 2 younger children still grew up there, without TV and other conveniences. They both went on to full academic scholarships at major universities despite this hardship. The younger one is still in Vermont and works as a free-lance editor specializing in books relating to environmental issues.


The Big Bounce
The Big Bounce
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/15/2006


Like all of Elmore Leonard's books, this one grabs you on the first page and doesn't let go until the last page. His characters and dialogue are first rate. The only complaint about this book is that it's over too soon.


Blood of the Albatross
Blood of the Albatross
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/26/2006


"Masterful...All the loose ends tie together in a grand and glorious finale...Enthralling." -- San Diego Union

"The writing is ebulient, the author has a good time with the conventions, and so should the reader." -- The New York Times

I agree with the above, a thoroughly enjoyable read. Paul C.


Blood Type (John Marshall Tanner, Bk 8)
Blood Type (John Marshall Tanner, Bk 8)
Author: Stephen Greenleaf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/10/2006


"Mr. Greenleaf delivers the fine writing that we've come to expect of this substantial series." -- The New York Times Book Review


Body & Soul
Body & Soul
Author: Frank Conroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/19/2006


This is a beautifully written story of a boy growing into manhood. I agree with THE BOSTON GLOBE that this is "A tour de Force."


Body Count (Father Koesler, Bk 14)
Body Count (Father Koesler, Bk 14)
Author: William X. Kienzle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/31/2006


A Father Koesler mystery. "A winner...Kienzle deserves high marks for coming up with thew double-twists in the fast-moving axciting climax...Will leave many mystery buffs impatiently waiting for the next Koesler novel." -- The Flint Journal


Bon Appetit Fast  & Easy Quick Recipes for Busy Cooks
Review Date: 5/7/2007


From Bon Appetit Quick recipes for busy cooks.


Bon Appetit Light & Easy Appetizers, Entrees and Side Dishes
Review Date: 5/7/2007


Light & Easy appetizers, entrees and side dishes from Bon Appetit.


Bon Appetit Light & Easy Desserts
Bon Appetit Light & Easy Desserts
Author: miscellaneous
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/7/2007


Easy desserts from the pages of Bon Appetit magazine.


BOOK CASE
BOOK CASE
Author: Stephen Greenleaf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/9/2006


"Twisty and absorbing" -- Kirkus Review

"Intriguing" -- Publishers Weekly

This guy is a real writer. Glad another PBS member recommended him to me. Paul C.


Breach of Promise (Nina Reilly, Bk 4)
Breach of Promise (Nina Reilly, Bk 4)
Author: Perri O'Shaughnessy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


"Gripping courtroom drama ... heart-stopping ... riveting. -- Booklist

"A legal mystery for thoughtful readers ... The surprise twists are wonderfully effective." -- San Francisco Chronicle


Breakthrough Tennis: A Revolutionary Approach to the Game
Review Date: 5/8/2007


"Rolf Clark's approach to tennis allows people freedom from having to play the 'righrt' way or trying to find 'the answer' that will finally fix their game. His concept of inquiry leaves people powerful in their own development. How they plan becomes part of them rather than something a coach told them." -- Jonathan Clark, President Tennis Professionals Foundation


Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 8/20/2006


"A sexy. bloody thriller...This is tough, unstoppable, white knuckle fiction." -- Publishers Weekly

Another excellent Lucas Davenport story. Paul C.


1 to 20 of 160 - Page: