Reonna F. (reonna) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
And Never See Her Again
And Never See Her Again
Author: Patricia Springer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A review of the kidnapping of 6-year-old, Opal Jennings, from her Saginaw, TX home. Defininately a court following account, not a lot of frou-frou!


Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is a wonderful book. Bone, although a victim of abuse, is such a strong girl! Each time I put the book down, I didn't leave the story feeling pity on her but hoped for her strength...and knew it would be there. A harsh reality of how many mothers choose men over their children and the children who wish to protect their mothers.


Britney: Not That Innocent
Britney: Not That Innocent
Author: Larry Getlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/18/2006


Just one of those quick reading books when you want to hear the dirt on someone. Not much else to say about it. Not really into Britney, but felt a little nosey and it served it's purpose.


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 1/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a wonderful peek into the life of slaves and black heirarchy within their own culture. Following a family (it includes photos!) it paints such a vivid picture...really the best book I had read in a long time. So many times I cried...so many times I thought that things were so unfair. Unbelievable accounts of things I had never even thought of (and that schools don't teach) on black slavery. Honestly written, everyone should read this book!


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 1/30/2006


It's been a while since I read this book, but I remember I really liked it. It opened me up to Oprah's book club books!


The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter
The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter
Author: Carson McCullers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 1/18/2006


Great book, especially if you like books of the Depression Era. Following several different lives during the story with one commonality, a deaf-mute friend. But the deaf-mute friend probably has the most exciting story with a most unexpected turn of events.


Many Things Have Happened Since He Died (Vintage Contemporaries)
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This was a really strange book. It starts off with you believing the girl is Christ-centered and goody-goody, sort of a victim of circumstances. It's written almost journal styled, or as if a friend were talking to you. So you get her account of what is going on, but the more you read, the more you see there is another side to the story. Strange but good!


The Meeting Place (Song of Acadia, 1)
The Meeting Place (Song of Acadia, 1)
Author: T. Davis Bunn, Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 1/18/2006


I would call this a lazy read. Not a push to read on, but the story is nice. A romantic, historical story of forbidden friendship. You don't really get to the end of the story because there is a sequel, but it didn't leave me having to get the next book. I think for people really into romantic stories, they would be very happy with this...not romance as in love between a man and woman, but a charming romance between friends.


Over the Edge
Over the Edge
Author: Bill G. Cox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/26/2007


It was well written. A horribly sad story. Really makes you wonder about the freaky people you encounter and just don't think much about...


Princess
Princess
Author: Jean P. Sasson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was a wonderful book. It gives wonderful insight to the life of women in Saudi Arabia. This was one I just could not put down. It brought me an understanding in how people half a world away could have such different views on things and perhaps why the change there is so slow. It also gave me an understanding why the people of that area are so reluctant to change, although many wish for it.


The Queen of Clean Conquers Clutter
The Queen of Clean Conquers Clutter
Author: Linda Cobb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/30/2006
Helpful Score: 6


Great for organizing and decluttering. I'd have given it 5 stars if I hadn't already been so organized! If you don't know where to start...this is the book to start with!


1 to 11 of 11