Kate K. (kateknolls) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Back to the House of Health 2
Back to the House of Health 2
Author: Shelley Redford Young
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book should really only be of use to you if you are following the PH Miracle diet. Otherwise, I'm not sure why you'd be interested in the recipes. The diet was too hard for me to get behind, I tried making the avocado shake from here (one of their staple recipes) and I made myself sick. I definitely think eating your veggies is important, and I think as Americans we should do more of it and we probably would see an improvement in our health, but I just couldn't make the switch.

If you are interested in following the diet, then I think the recipes in the book are very versatile and have a lot of variety. The vegan chili recipe is delicious, I think.


The Cement Garden
The Cement Garden
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Disturbing yet interesting. A very strange story. I've heard it likened to Lord of the Flies and I'd have to agree with that. It's a fast read too, only ten chapters, I finished in a day and a half. I'm not sure if I would recommend it to friends because I feel that you'd have to be able to handle it. It's not scary terrifying, just leaves you with an unsettling feeling.


Enduring Love
Enduring Love
Author: Ian Mcewan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Incredibly good book, very creepy story. It was a page turner, I couldn't put it down.


Green Angel
Green Angel
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I believe this is a book geared towards young adults, but I really think anyone could enjoy it. Written after the tragedy of September 11th the story takes place in a no-name town that could be Anywhere, USA. Obviously based on 9/11 happenings, it's the story of what happens to a girl when she has to fend for herself and make a new family.

It's a very magical and surreal story, the wording and language makes you feel as if you are in a dream. It's very poetic, yet as you are reading it you understand that she is writing about real life.

I would definitely recommend it.


Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1476
Review Date: 10/23/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I've never really been a person into the vampire genre, but after reading this book I think I'm going to pick up the rest in the series. I love the way the story is told, I love the history and the details used. I'm fascinated with New Orleans and I feel that Rice's descriptions of old New Orleans are beautiful. I didn't find the story over the top, it caught my attention and kept my interest.


The Maltese Falcon
The Maltese Falcon
Author: Dashiell Hammett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first Dashiell Hammett book I've read and I was hooked instantly. If you are into a good mystery and noir crime this is for you. He's a wonderful writer and the characters are great!

I'm from the San Francisco area so it's a lot of fun to read about all these places that are so close by. If you get a chance and you're a fan, you should take the Dashiell Hammett tour of S.F. Find more info here: http://www.donherron.com/tour


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1463
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 36


I bought this book for two reasons: 1) I loved Sue Monk Kidd's novel "The Secret Life of Bees" and couldn't wait to read what else she had written and 2) because ever since I was a little girl I've had a love affair with anything mermaid related.

I have to say, I was sorely disappointed, not only did I feel that the book did not match up to the great writing from her previous work, I felt the story itself was awful. I had no patience or interest with the main character and found her to be annoying and irritating. Instead of finding a great story about a woman finding herself I felt it was about a weak woman making all the wrong choices and not caring about anyone or anything in her path. Definitely not the kind of woman I would want to be friends with.

I also expected more history in relation to the Mermaid Chair that gives the novel it's name. All in all, I thought it was a weak attempt at matching "The Secret Life of Bees". If you want to read a good book, save your time, and pick up "The Secret Life of Bees" instead.


Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Bk 1)
Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 1/26/2012
Helpful Score: 1


There are spoilers in this review!

This book was given to me as a gift because normally I'm not interested in any of this teen-wolf hype. But I started reading it and I didn't stop because I liked the characters and I was curious to find out what happened.

Other reviewers describe Stiefvater's writing as slow. I would agree, but it a good way. I enjoyed how the book took it's time to describe characters and situations and locations. I am left with a very distinct image of Mercy Falls, the woods, and the people that live there.

However, I was very disappointed with her choice to "cure" the wolves with an injection of bacterial meningitis. I mean really! In any other situation I would have probably stopped reading at that point but you know how that goes. I felt that it was a pretty cheap way to wrap things up.

But maybe if I read the second book I will find out why Jack died, but Sam miraculously is cured? Guess I just got suckered into reading book 2.


Sugar Blues
Sugar Blues
Author: William Dufty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a great non-fiction read, it was filled with interesting facts and stories. It was constantly engaging and I learned so much. If you're interested in how and why processed sugar is so toxic for us this is a great book to read. I would recommend it to anyone because it does NOT read like a text book, and still offers such great information without being boring. If you're interested in getting your health in check, this is the book for you. If you've suffered from an unidentifiable general malaise, you might be suffering from the "sugar blues", try kicking the sugar habit and seeing how much energy and life you get back.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5248
Review Date: 2/1/2008
Helpful Score: 3


One of the best books I have ever read. An extremely heart-felt and touching story. Words fail me. All I can say is that it was amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone.


Water Tales: Aquamarine / Indigo
Water Tales: Aquamarine / Indigo
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Two short stories about mermaids and merfolk. I found both stories to be really easy reads that you could finish in an afternoon. They were enjoyable and lighthearted, nothing too heavy. I think they are targeted towards younger readers. But I've read some of Alice Hoffman's other works and she stays true to her themes of bringing magic to every day life and human situations.


You're Broke Because You Want to Be: How to Stop Getting By and Start Getting Ahead
Review Date: 9/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book if you're looking to really start taking responsibility for your actions and get your financial situation under control. Larry Winget doesn't mess around, reading this book is like having a friend who is not afraid to tell you how it is. Reading it was very eye-opening for me (and not just on a financial level) it's really about being responsible for your actions, and how to recognize that, and put it into practice especially in terms of your money. Something I really appreciated that Larry had to say was that if you've got financial obligations to meet no job should be beneath you (even if you used to be a CEO somewhere) you still have to pay the bills, so get out there and start bagging groceries if you have to, it doens't mean it needs to be that way forever, just until you can get out of the hole you've dug for yourself.


1 to 12 of 12