Joyce R. (joycecelia) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
438 Days: An Extraordinary True Story of Survival at Sea
438 Days: An Extraordinary True Story of Survival at Sea
Author: Jonathan Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/28/2017


This book was excellent. I had trouble putting it down. That this man survived is nothing short of a miracle. To keep himself occupied and alert and not allowing panic to take over was nothing short of miraculous. Amazing story. A great summer read.


After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
Author: Robin Gaby Fisher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/14/2014


This is an extraordinary story. I read it in one sitting as I couldn't put it down. Tragedy and triumph. These two men are heroes. The perpetrators are cowards. Extraordinary courage.....


The City of Falling Angels
The City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/30/2015


This is an excellent book. I enjoyed it very much. It combines the history of Venice along with current events. If you have ever visited Venice or plan to visit Venice this book gives you interesting facts. I recommend this book.


A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger
Review Date: 6/27/2014
Helpful Score: 1


The writing wasn't the greatest, but the story was phenomenal. I am familiar with RVA, but had no idea the poverty that surrounded it. His encounter with the local schools was heartbreaking, but he devised a plan to help these dear children. The story is a triumph. I recommend this book highly. It will uplift you and make you very thankful for what you and yours have, as so many live in horrible poverty.


The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison
The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison
Author: Pete Earley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/11/2018


I found this book fascinating. The indepth interviews with the inmates and guards were insightful and very interesting. If you have ever wondered what goes on behind the walls of a prison, day to day, this is the book for you. He also gives a history of the prison system, how guards are trained and tactics inmates uses to thwart the system. Another good book on this subject is Newjack by Ted Conover.


The Lowland
The Lowland
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/13/2015


I really liked this book. It grabbed you in the beginning and pulled you right along. It was a lyrical book and I would highly recommend it.


Masters of Illusion : A Novel of the Connecticut Circus Fire
Review Date: 1/10/2012


I absolutely hated this book. The writing was stilted and dialogue was difficult. The ending was awful. How this book ever got published is beyond me.


Under and Alone : The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America's Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang
Review Date: 10/11/2008


Excellent read. Couldn't believe this story. Read it in two days. Amazing story, would highly recommend.....


1 to 8 of 8