Reviews - Jennifer (mywolfalways)

1 to 20 of 200 - Page:
1001 Illuminated Initial Letters : 27 Full-Color Plates (Pictorial Archives)
Review Date: 1/28/2012


"I love this collection of Illuminated letters. The letters range from easy to advanced. And the styles for each letter are just gorgeous!"


501 Spanish Verbs: Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses in a New Easy-to-Learn Format Alphabetically Arranged
Review Date: 4/18/2009


"All 4 years of High School (4 different schools) this was recommended by all of my teachers. This has 501 verbs with all their tenses that have unusual conjugation. This will help any student immensely."


The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 701
Review Date: 2/9/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I would describe this as a light, inspirational read. I can see why so many people enjoyed it. I think most people can see themselves in the boy or in some of the people he meets. The storyline is simple and easy to follow.

My biggest qualm with this book is that for such a short book, certain phrases are used in such repetition that they get annoying. Although I was expecting it, I was still disappointed by the fact that in the end, the boy's treasure was still only a physical thing. It ruined it for me."


Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
Review Date: 9/22/2010


"I love this book! You know when you wake up and stub your toe, spill your coffee, get a flat tire, and manage to burn dinner? All in the same day? That's what this book is about. Some days are just bad days, but it's okay."


And the Beagles and the Bunnies Shall Lie Down Together: The Theology in Peanuts
Review Date: 9/20/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"In this book, Schulz uses the Peanuts characters to illustrate Christian theology. Because my husband and I like the Peanuts and enjoy theology, we really enjoyed this book. There are many humorous strips, along with more serious ones."


Angelwalk
Angelwalk
Author: Roger Elwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/22/2010


"This is a fire and brimstone book and has fundamentalist views. An Angel who is uncertain of God's decision to force Lucifer from heaven is sent down to earth by God to make his final decision. The angel observes "atrocities" that include homosexuality, abortion, drugs, politics, animal testing, and so on. I enjoyed this book for what it was. I think Elwood did a tremendous job in gathering up things that Christians are against and making them appear heinous and sinful."


The Angelwalk Trilogy/Angelwalk/Fallen Angel/Stedfast
The Angelwalk Trilogy/Angelwalk/Fallen Angel/Stedfast
Author: Roger Elwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/27/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Angelwalk
This is a fire and brimstone book and has fundamentalist views. An Angel who is uncertain of God's decision to force Lucifer from heaven is sent down to earth by God to make his final decision. The angel observes "atrocities" that include homosexuality, abortion, drugs, politics, animal testing, and so on. I enjoyed this book for what it was. I think Elwood did a tremendous job in gathering up things that Christians are against and making them appear heinous and sinful
__________________________
Fallen Angel
This book is told from the point of view of a Fallen Angel named "Observer". He's under the impression that because he's only recording events and hasn't actually participated, he shouldn't be where he is. In the end, he finds out this is where he belongs. This one does have condemnation of homosexuality, abortion, and drugs; however, it focuses more on wrong-doing of various religions and the commercialism of Christianity. Scathing hatred in this one, which I guess could only be expected with a 'demon' narrating.
__________________________
Stedfast: Guardian Angel
Stedfast is a guardian angel, assigned to various people throughout time to watch over them during their last hours/days of their lives. He narrates each persons losses and triumphs to the reader. This one is not so heavy on the sin future as much as it is with redemption. The last part of this book involves the rapture."


Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara, Bk 1)
Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Brooks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 4/7/2009


"Brooks brings us into the post-apocalyptic world possible after his "The Word and the Void" Novels. The world was well-considered with everything from water-sources to shelter considered. The world matches with the future that John Ross would dream about in the original series. The characters seem interesting, and each have a past of their own that helps to color the narration (3rd person).

My only complaint was that just after midway through the book the elves literally come out of nowhere. The chapter just starts with the narration of an elf in a (seemingly) completely different world, and it really threw me off. I had to make sure I was reading the same book."


The Art of Shapeshifting
The Art of Shapeshifting
Author: Ted Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/23/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is probably my favorite of Ted Andrews' books. Andrews' always does a wonderful job of starting all of his books with some basics, never assuming the reader already knows. This book is exceptional in that he goes more in depth with his warnings about "the ego". This book is creative and open-minded. He is not describing physical shifting, but rather a mental and spiritual shifting. The exercises throughout the book are well-thought out. Highly recommended for those looking to pursue this kind of path."


The Art of War (Pocket Edition)
The Art of War (Pocket Edition)
Author: Sun Tzu, Thomas Cleary (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/30/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This mini-edition is excellent for those who are looking for a simple translation of this classic book without the commentary."


Batgirl: Death Wish
Batgirl: Death Wish
Author: Chuck Dixon, Kelley Puckett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/20/2011


"I'm giving this one a tentative three. I know it's a style but the art just looks messy and unfinished to me. The story wasn't enough to keep me going through the painful art experience."


Bearers of the Black Staff (Legends of Shannara)
Bearers of the Black Staff (Legends of Shannara)
Author: Terry Brooks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/5/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Five-Hundred years after the Gypsy-Morph, Hawk, leads the peoples of Earth to safety and peace within the valley, the barrier that protected it from the outside world has fallen.

Now a new Knight of the Word along with allies found among the humans, elves, and lizards, must find a way to protect the valley from outside attacks by Trolls and other mutated beings, looking for new land to settle.

Brooks brings memorable and relatable characters to life in this amazing apocolyptic fantasy. I'm so excited for the next book!"


The Beggar King (Tales of the Forgotten God, Book 1)
The Beggar King (Tales of the Forgotten God, Book 1)
Author: Dan Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/22/2009


"The first few pages of this book weren't very engaging for me, which made getting into it somewhat difficult. The story picked up after the first few pages though.

It's a beautiful, sometimes poetic, retelling of the traditional "Savior" story (mostly it seems to be based on Jesus).

The author has taken the many parables and mysteries of the New Testament and put them into plain words that most people would be able to understand. The fact that the wording and stories are so easy to comprehend are good for those who may be struggling with the lessons found in the Jesus stories; however, I feel that watering down the lessons may be dissatisfying for some readers."


The Beginning (Chronicles of the Door #1)
The Beginning (Chronicles of the Door #1)
Author: Gene Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/30/2009


"A creative retelling of Genesis through the eyes of angels. The writing is poetic in some places, but mostly it's simple writing (great for reading aloud). The fall of Adam and Eve is gentler than in the Bible and Satan comes across as much more sinister.

It would probably be a wonderful way to introduce the book of Genesis for children or new-comers to Christianity. The story-telling ends when Adam and Eve leave the Garden of Eden, but the writing ends with God approaching Abram.

The one thing to be aware of is that Part III separates itself a lot from the Bible. In Edwards' interpretation, Satan was felled by the Archangels /before/ convincing Adam and Eve to take the fruit of the tree. It's a great drama to include, but it's important for one to consider if one is thinking about using this as a teaching tool."


The Bible of Illuminated Letters: A Treasury of Decorative Calligraphy (Quarto Book)
Review Date: 1/30/2012


"This book has just about everything you need to know to start creating 'illuminated' texts. It shows you all the tools you'll need and how to use them. It shows how to use different inks, how to mix paints, how to use masking and gold leaf, and much more. Highly recommended!"


The Birth Order Book: Why You Are the Way You Are
The Birth Order Book: Why You Are the Way You Are
Author: Dr. Kevin Leman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/30/2011


"This is one of the best books on Birth Order I have ever read. There is to start with the typical first, middle, last, and only description for children, but it gets a lot deeper than that.

Leman explains that the number of years between children can create combination children. A child may technically be a "first born", but if s/he has 5 years or more between the next oldest sibling, s/he may ALSO be an "only child". A "middle child" may also be a "last child" if there are more than 5 years between the next youngest sibling. The last child may also be an "only child" if there are many years between him/her and the next sibling.

Additionally, Leman makes note that the sex of the child may change how s/he is treated in comparison to the other siblings. If a child is born as a "middle child", but is of the opposite sex as his older and/or younger siblings, s/he may be treated like a "first born", rather than a "middle child".

Leman explains that the birth order of the parents may influence how they raise their children, advertantly or inadvertantly. The way a parent was raised will obviously influence the decisions s/he makes concerning the child."


Black and White (Icarus Project, Bk 1)
Black and White (Icarus Project, Bk 1)
Author: Caitlin Kittredge, Jackie Kessler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/14/2009


"Great book! The authors created a believable world that incorporated superheroes into the daily life of civilians. It was like reading a comic book in novel format, which I found to be absolutely spectacular!

I was able to pick out a few of the results before the ending, but others left me shocked. I felt empathy for both of the main characters throughout the book, which says a lot about their realistic characteristics."


Black (Circle Trilogy, Bk 1)
Black (Circle Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/28/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is based on the most basic concept of dreams actually being reality (or is reality being a dream). This concept is found in the Bible and in many religions and belief systems.

Dekker creates a compelling plot. One man lives in the future, while similtaneously living in the past. With his knowledge from one life, he attempts to fix the previous.

The writing style is pretty good. The dialogue is natural. While the characters aren't cardboard, they aren't exactly three dimensional.

But the book itself is just...boring.

I'm over 150 pages in and even though it's a "quick read" for me, I can't bring myself to spend any more time in it."


Black Thorn, White Rose (Fairy Tale Anthologies, Vol 2)
Black Thorn, White Rose (Fairy Tale Anthologies, Vol 2)
Author: Ellen Datlow (Editor), Terri Windling (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 9/28/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'm sorry to say that I found this collection of stories just plain dull. My disappointment may have to do with the fact that I read a lot of the traditional versions of these tales that lacked the happy endings that the modern retellings do when I was younger.

While the writing styles of all of the writers are satisfactory, not one of them had anything in particular to offer that stood out to me."


Book of Enoch the Prophet (Secret Doctrine Reference Series)
Book of Enoch the Prophet (Secret Doctrine Reference Series)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2009


"I think that maybe all of the hype around this text is what made me feel so largely unimpressed with the Book of Enoch. Of all the sacred writings I've read, I think this is one of the ones I was least impressed with.

The writing is poetic and filled with details. If one is interested in "end of days" lore, it is highly recommended."


1 to 20 of 200 - Page: