John O. (buzzby) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 6062 - Page:
10 Hooting Owls
10 Hooting Owls
Author: Ed Allen, Simon williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/12/2017


Typical counting backwards book, with one more flying away. I don't think much of the poetry (the rhythm isn't really right), the pictures are pretty good, in a chaotic sort of way.


The 100 Best Small Art Towns in America: Discover Creative Communities, Fresh Air, and Affordable Living
Review Date: 6/8/2017


Marfa, Texas, is not in it, maybe the book is too old, or it's the wrong kind of art.


100 Essential Lincoln Books
100 Essential Lincoln Books
Author: Michael Burkhimer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/9/2017


Hmmm, as of 2012, according to the Wall Street Journal, there were at least 16,000 books written about Abraham Lincoln. I hope this guy looked at them all before deciding.


100 Great Hikes in and Near Palm Springs
100 Great Hikes in and Near Palm Springs
Author: Philip Ferranti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2012


Since then it has been updated to 140 Hikes (who knows, maybe more?). I find his descriptions a little hard to follow, but maybe that's the point when getting away from it all.


100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/5/2010


No pictures, alas, except on the front cover.


100 People Who Are Screwing Up America CD : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Review Date: 10/1/2011


Somehow, I sort of had a feeling that Barbara Streisand is responsible for all that's wrong with the world. I've known that ever since "Yentl" came out.


100 Pounds of Popcorn
100 Pounds of Popcorn
Author: Hazel Krantz, Vic Herman (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/2/2018


I remember reading this when I was about 7, and it cured me of wanting to be an entrepeneur. It's a little different now that I'm 60, there seems to be lots of adults giving them encouragement as they go along selling the popcorn, I just remember the hero thinking he'll get $250 from selling popcorn and he ended up with only.... well, you'll have to read it.


The 100 Simple Secrets of Happy People
The 100 Simple Secrets of Happy People
Author: David Niven, Ph. D.
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/8/2009


I always suspected it was really good drugs they wouldn't tell us about.


100 Things You Should Know About Space
100 Things You Should Know About Space
Author: Sue Becklake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/13/2017


Well, a 4th grader would like it, but I wonder how much is correct when I see #35 "Uranus has more moons than any other planet", all info I have looked into say it has less than half of those of moons.


100 Ways to Beat the Market (One Hundred Ways to Beat the Stock Market)
Review Date: 6/7/2009


Gosh, I beat the market this year by sticking my money in a mattress, but I didn't go and write a book about it.


1000 Facts About Wild Animals
1000 Facts About Wild Animals
Author: Moira Butterfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/26/2012


Seems to be a favorite among my reluctant reader/students in 4th grade.


1000 Pin-up Girls (Twenty Fifth Anniversary Edition)
1000 Pin-up Girls (Twenty Fifth Anniversary Edition)
Author: Burkhard Riemschneider
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/24/2016


I know it's a German book (it is in English), but there are no women of color that I could see in the book, not that I was looking that hard.


1,000 Places to See Before You Die
1,000 Places to See Before You Die
Author: Patricia Schultz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/21/2011


For those of you with a checklist view of life, and can't make up your own mind. It would seem to be something Newsweek readers would enjoy. There are a lot of the usual places you've heard of, and then supposedly great restaurants and such (high end, of course). Pretty much places all over the world, although more in the US. You may want to get out of the car or spa a few times while checking these off. This is the first edition of the list.


1000 Quotable Poems
1000 Quotable Poems
Author: Thomas C. Clark, Esther A. Gillespie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/28/2018


Heavy on the 19th century. Nothing avant garde. #618 is especially interesting, but since they aren't numbered, and there's no table of contents, you'll have to count for yourself.


10,000 Garden Questions Answered by 20 Experts
10,000 Garden Questions Answered by 20 Experts
Author: Marjorie J. Dietz
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/5/2018


This claims to be Volume 1, I tried counting the questions, but didn't get very far. It does appear that this volume has only 9 of the 16 divisions, it includes Soils and Fertilizing, Planning and Landscaping, Ornamental Plants, Trees Shrubs and Vines, Bulbs Tubers and Corms, Roses, Perennials, Annuals and Bienniels, and Lawns and Turf Areas. 1974 is the 3rd edition, originally published in 1944.


1,000,001 Things That Make You Crabby: The Official Checklist for Complainers, Ranters, Ravers and Bellyachers, and Everybody Else
Review Date: 2/17/2008


Number 456,278 is especially irritating.


1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die
Author: Steven Jay Schneider
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/1/2017


#643 you could probably slide by without seeing, and there'd be no drastic consequences.


1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (1001 Things)
Review Date: 2/4/2018


All valuable advice, some of which I followed. However, it will begin to sound like your mother after a while, and look who SHE ended up marrying.


1,003 Great Things About Teachers
1,003 Great Things About Teachers
Author: Birnbach
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/13/2018


I agree with only 432 of them. All are pretty short, some from the child's perspective, some from an adult's perspective.


101 Bug Jokes
101 Bug Jokes
Author: Lisa Eisenberg, Katy Hall, Don Orehek (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/26/2018


Mercifully short, if you are on the receiving end.


1 to 20 of 6062 - Page: