John O. (buzzby) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 5327 - Page:
100 Essential Lincoln Books
100 Essential Lincoln Books
Author: Michael Burkhimer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/9/2017


Hmmm, as of 2012, according to the Wall Street Journal, there were at least 16,000 books written about Abraham Lincoln. I hope this guy looked at them all before deciding.


100 Great Hikes in and Near Palm Springs
100 Great Hikes in and Near Palm Springs
Author: Philip Ferranti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2012


Since has been updated to 140 Hikes (who knows, maybe more?). I find his descriptions a little hard to follow, but maybe that's the point when getting away from it all.


100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 3/5/2010


No pictures, alas, except on the front cover.


100 People Who Are Screwing Up America CD : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Review Date: 10/1/2011


Somehow, I sort of had a feeling that Barbara Streisand is responsible for all that's wrong with the world. I've known that ever since "Yentl" came out.


The 100 Simple Secrets of Happy People
The 100 Simple Secrets of Happy People
Author: David Niven, Ph. D.
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/8/2009


I always suspected it was really good drugs they wouldn't tell us about.


100 Things You Should Know About Space
100 Things You Should Know About Space
Author: Sue Becklake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/13/2017


Well, a 4th grader would like it, but I wonder how much is correct when I see #35 "Uranus has more moons than any other planet", all info I have looked into say it has less than half of those of moons.


100 Ways to Beat the Market (One Hundred Ways to Beat the Stock Market)
Review Date: 6/7/2009


Gosh, I beat the market this year by sticking my money in a mattress, but I didn't go and write a book about it.


1000 Facts About Wild Animals
1000 Facts About Wild Animals
Author: Moira Butterfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/26/2012


Seems to be a favorite among my reluctant reader/students in 4th grade.


1000 Pin-up Girls (Twenty Fifth Anniversary Edition)
1000 Pin-up Girls (Twenty Fifth Anniversary Edition)
Author: Burkhard Riemschneider
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/24/2016


I know it's a German book (it is in English), but there are no women of color that I could see in the book, not that I was looking that hard.


1,000 Places to See Before You Die
1,000 Places to See Before You Die
Author: Patricia Schultz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/21/2011


For those of you with a checklist view of life, and can't make up your own mind. It would seem to be something Newsweek readers would enjoy. There are a lot of the usual places you've heard of, and then supposedly great restaurants and such (high end, of course). Pretty much places all over the world, although more in the US. You may want to get out of the car or spa a few times while checking these off. This is the first edition of the list.


1,000,001 Things That Make You Crabby: The Official Checklist for Complainers, Ranters, Ravers and Bellyachers, and Everybody Else
Review Date: 2/17/2008


Number 456,278 is especially irritating.


1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die
Author: Steven Jay Schneider
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/1/2017


#643 you could probably slide by without seeing, and there'd be no drastic consequences.


101 Hikes in Southern California: Exploring Mountains, Seashore and Desert (101 Hikes)
Review Date: 11/11/2016


Pretty good maps, I like that he has elevations listed in crucial spots. They go from ridiculously easy to very hard hikes. I have done many of them (like a lot of easy ones), and there's some newer ones that I can try, now that Donald Trump has assured us that climate change is a hoax, the drought will soon be over and they won't be as hot and dusty.


101 Myths of the Bible: How Ancient Scribes Invented Biblical History
Review Date: 4/22/2017


Most of it was in the front part (e.g. Genesis). I think 101 is an absurdly low number if they had wanted to do the whole bible. Maybe this is just a safe stopping point for literalists.


101 Outer Space Jokes (101 Joke Book)
101 Outer Space Jokes (101 Joke Book)
Author: Ricky Mujica, Debra Newberger, Sonia Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/29/2009


Good 4th grade humor. Example::: Earth: How are your craters? Moon: Depressed.


101 Reasons the '90s Ruled: Ten Years of Living La Vida Loca
101 Reasons the '90s Ruled: Ten Years of Living La Vida Loca
Author: M.C. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/3/2014


All this time, I thought that it was the 1980s when Western Civilization collapsed. Apparently, it was actually the 1990s.


101 Silly Monster Jokes
101 Silly Monster Jokes
Author: B. K. Taylor (Illustrator), Jovial Bob Stine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2011


Maybe for even younger than 9 year olds. How do you know there's a monster in your sandwich? It's too heavy to lift. (And it gets worse)


101 Wacky Facts About Mummies
101 Wacky Facts About Mummies
Author: Jack C. Harris, Bryan Hendrix (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/21/2008


Facts that the typical 2nd to 5th grade boy would find fascinating. For instance: Mummies (that were found in post-Pharoaic times) were boiled. As they were boiled, the oils released by the mummy were skimmed off the top. This "mummy oil" was used to treat bruises.


101 Ways to Bug Your Parents
101 Ways to Bug Your Parents
Author: Lee Wardlaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/3/2008


Complete with the list.


101 Ways to Bug Your Teacher
101 Ways to Bug Your Teacher
Author: Lee Wardlaw, Lee Wardlaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/26/2015


They tried #37 on me, I only got mildly irritated.


1 to 20 of 5327 - Page: