April D. (knittymama) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 425 - Page:
100 Cupboards (100 Cupboards, Bk 1)
100 Cupboards (100 Cupboards, Bk 1)
Author: N. D. Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


So imaginative and interesting! I can't wait for book 2!


1001 Arabian Nights (Oxford Story Collections)
1001 Arabian Nights (Oxford Story Collections)
Author: Geraldine McCaughrean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/4/2007


I had never read these stories before. I loved them. I believe that this book is a watered down version for younger readers. Very fun and sometimes funny. The stories are short and quick. I liked it so much that I am going look for a version closer to the original translations.


Achilles
Achilles
Author: Elizabeth Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/29/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Written in a very poetic and Homeric manner. Unfortunately for me..I was never good at reading Homer. I was only able to understand what was going on based on that movie Troy with Brad Pitt (don't laugh..I love that flick) and what little I knew about Greek mythology. I still don't understand most of what I read in this book...short as it was. Oh well. Maybe you poetic types will like this one. I like the idea of the story. But I need common language to grasp it. Sorry Ms. Cook.


Across a Hundred Mountains: A Novel
Across a Hundred Mountains: A Novel
Author: Reyna Grande
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/23/2006


What a great book! It was moving and powerful. I can't wait to read more by this author.


Adaline Falling Star
Adaline Falling Star
Author: Mary Pope Osborne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! A shocking and gritty story of a young girl who is half white half Indian. She is tough and fragile. A self mutilating scene may be a bit too graphic for very young children. It's an adventure story of sorts, but very dark.


Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate (Agatha Raisin Mysteries)
Review Date: 7/4/2007


I can't help but adore Agatha Raisin. She is hilarious and tough. She always gets herself into a mess and stumbles her ways out...but manages to solve the mystery. I am off to read about her next predicament!!!


Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin, Bk 12) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 1/4/2008


As always, I adore Agatha Raisin. She is her usual self...trying to force the police to admit that she is the one helping solve the murder cases. This, of course, puts her in danger....again! And as always she struggles with getting older. She is grumpy and bold and absolutely my favorite character! Donada Peters reads this book and does an awesome job bringing the characters to life with her wonderful ability to change her accents...who knew English had so many?


Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 5/10/2007


This audio book was read by Donada Peters. She does an awesome job of bringing these hilarious characters to live. Agatha Raisin is a great old gal. I compare this author to Agatha Christie. Highly enjoyable.


Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 12/25/2007


Poor Agatha! She finally has James, but is it worth it? How can she keep loving him when he lies to her, cheats on her, puts her down, and drops her in the middle of a murder mystery and is no where to be found? Agatha always seems pessimistic, but really, she's a dreamer. Gotta love her!!


Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 9/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I just can't get enough of Agatha Raisin. She is so funny. This audio book is read by Donada Peters. She is awesome. She has a great range and can play the different characters flawlessly.


Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 8/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This one was shorter than the other books, but it still packed a punch. Very funny and grusome. Agatha Raisin is my hero!


Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 8/13/2007


This is the first in the Agatha Raisin series. She is such a wonderful character...I am addicted!! Thanks M. C. Beaton. Donada Peters does great as the narrator of this cozy mystery.


Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist (Agatha Raisin, Bk 6) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


While I love Agatha Raisin, I didn't enjoy this one as much as the other books. I think because it was set in Cyprus and most of the beloved characters of Carsley are not in this story. I am still rooting for Agatha and glad that she is back home in the Cotswolds.

Again, wonderfully read by Donada Peters.


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Beaton is hilarious and Agatha Raisin is such a great character. She makes me laugh out loud. Donada Peters does a wonderful job reading this book. Her different accents and voices are great. Love it!


Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley (Agatha Raisin, Bk 4) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love English mysteries and Agatha Raisin is adorable. She is middle aged, spunky, flirty, and always in the middle of some kind of trouble. She is wonderful!


Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 7) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Agatha Raisin at her best solving a murder case, chasing James Lacey, and being as hilarious and bitchy as ever! LOVE her!

Can't say enough good things about the narrator, Donada Peters. ;-)


Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden (Agatha Raisin, Bk 9)
Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden (Agatha Raisin, Bk 9)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 12/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Oh, Agatha!! Yet again trying to find an easy way to get what she wants. She goes to a local witch to get a hair growth tonic to quickly grow the hair she lost from the last book. And of course she just has to get a love potion for the forever out of reach James Lacey. She is truly funny and clever in this 10th book. I just love her!!


Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham (Agatha Raisin, Bk 8) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very funny and classic Agatha Raisin!!! Love her and her escapades and her boasts that she really is over James Lacey, again. The ending is hilarious.


Akiko: Pieces of Gax (Akiko)
Akiko: Pieces of Gax (Akiko)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/18/2008


Great sci-fi series for boys and girls. My 9 year old son couldn't get enough of them. This was his favorite!


Aliens Ate My Homework
Aliens Ate My Homework
Author: Bruce Coville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/21/2007


8 year old son love this crazy book. He couldn't wait to tell me what happened after each chapter!


1 to 20 of 425 - Page: