Swan B. (lilysmom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 5/6/2006


Patterson and the Women's Murder Club never fail to hold my interest and this book was great.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 809
Review Date: 3/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book and the first three of the Women's Murder Club.


Astonishing Splashes of Colour
Astonishing Splashes of Colour
Author: Clare Morrall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/27/2007


I enjoyed this book through the characters and felt there was a future for them as I flipped the last page.


Bad Twin (Lost)
Bad Twin (Lost)
Author: Gary Troup
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this tale but didn't enjoy the feeling of being ripped off once I realized the information about the author was a load and the story was linked to the tv series Lost. Oh well, so much for not being plugged into the tv age.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 870
Review Date: 7/3/2005


I finished this book and found the reading experience to be very satisfying and engrossing, overall. However I was disappointed with the ending. It was interesting how the hostages and terrorists formed their unions and alliances but the ending didn't work for me. I can't go into the 'why' without giving away information on the story though.


The Body Artist
The Body Artist
Author: Don DeLillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book for the very reason that the author's writing caused me to stretch my concept of reality and shape it around a different setting.


The Bookwoman's Last Fling (Cliff Janeway, Bk 5)
The Bookwoman's Last Fling (Cliff Janeway, Bk 5)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/18/2007


I have enjoyed all of Dunning's Cliff Janeway books and this one did not let me down.


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Well-written but not for me as it was hard to keep my train of thought and follow the narration; partly because of the use of pronouns when too many relations of the same sex were being referred to and partly because of the subject line and the underlying questions being asked not holding enough interest for me.


City of Light
City of Light
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This was a well-written historical novel set in Buffalo, New York during the early 1900s and revolved around the story of the building of the Niagara Falls power station and the life of Louisa Barrett, headmistress of a prestigious girls school.


The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty)
Review Date: 1/9/2006


This is A. Rice writing her erotic version of Sleeping Beauty.


Crystal Line (Crystal Singer, Bk 3)
Crystal Line (Crystal Singer, Bk 3)
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 7/3/2005


This series ate up all my time when I read it years ago.


Desert Noir (Lena Jones, Bk 1)
Desert Noir (Lena Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Betty Webb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/12/2005


I enjoyed this book but found it took awhile to be drawn into the story. This might have been due to the author's writing style or life circumstances so I will read another by this author to see.


Dreaming Water
Dreaming Water
Author: Gail Tsukiyama
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't put this book down while reading it and would find myself stuck in parking lots and lobbies, absorbed in this author's story. I highly recommend this one.


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 8/18/2005


This is an important book to read but could have been written with fewer facts in some places and still would have been just as powerful.


Feel Like Going Home: Portraits in Blues  Rock 'N' Roll
Feel Like Going Home: Portraits in Blues Rock 'N' Roll
Author: Peter Guralnick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/3/2005


I like Guralnik's writing; his topic is an area of interest to me and his research seems solid.


The Ground Beneath Her Feet
The Ground Beneath Her Feet
Author: Salman Rushdie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/27/2006


I listened to this a version of this book on audio tape and found it hard to stay interested.


The Hobbit (Lord of the Rings, Prequel)
The Hobbit (Lord of the Rings, Prequel)
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1108
Review Date: 10/12/2005


I loved reading the Hobbit and sharing all the series with my children. I am now passing this story on.


Illumination Night
Illumination Night
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/3/2005


I love the magic of Hoffman's writing and this one is populated with magic and quirky characters.


In a Dark Time
In a Dark Time
Author: Larry Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2011


This was not a favorite read of Watson's and I would hope any one would read his other works before judging his writing.
This is a BookCrossing labeled book.


In the Deep Midwinter
In the Deep Midwinter
Author: Robert Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/3/2005


This was an extremely moving novel about love and trust and a deep look into happiness of an individual.


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: