Debbie B. (orchid7) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 210 - Page:
29
29
Author: Adena Halpern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/16/2011


Funny story! I'm sure that pretty much everyone wonders what they would do if given a second chance at youth. There were several laugh out loud moments, although I think I enjoyed the first two-thirds of the story better than the last part. The ending started to get just a bit too heavy and "chick-lit" for me. Overall, though I did enjoy the story.


Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/26/2011


Great book!
The mystery was interesting (although I did figure it out before the end), and the slight paranormal twist to the story isn't overdone.
Another thing I really like about this series is that with each book, the relationships between the characters are growing. Not too much, but enough to make you want to read the next one. The characters are still all funny and very likable.
I will definitely be reading book 4 when it comes out.


All Jacked Up (Rough Riders, Bk 8)
All Jacked Up (Rough Riders, Bk 8)
Author: Lorelei James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 5/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


All I can say is, "Yay!" Finally, an erotica novel with a plot that is funny and sweet! I loved the constant sniping between Jack and Keely- it was hilarious. Ms. James does a great job of building the tension in the story too.

I do feel that the story falters a bit in the second half, and I wasn't crazy about Keely's whole "gang of brothers". They seemed a bit over the top. The ending was almost too silly for me, but then the author wraps up the story with a nice epilogue.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one!


All That You Are
All That You Are
Author: Stef Ann Holm
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/30/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I generally like this author, but I found this story to be rather slow-moving and the characters were a little hard to connect to. The storyline tends to be repetetive. I really didn't feel like there was very much chemistry between the hero & the heroine either. An ok read, but not great.


Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 3/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I'm going to have the opposite opinion of the other reviewer. I happened to like this second installment of this series better than the first. My only complaint with this one is that I think that it took Jade too long to let go of her fear issues due to her previous attack. I liked the relationship between Dell and Jade, and I look forward to the third installment in this series.


Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 4/12/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was sweet. I'll admit, it was definitely a bit predictable, but the animals in the story were cute. I liked the fact that it seemed like the hero realized he was in love before the heroine, which was an unusual switch for a contemporary romance.
I'll be reading the sequel for this one when it comes out.


Any Wicked Thing
Any Wicked Thing
Author: Margaret Rowe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I really did not like the hero in this book. Sebastian was a selfish idiot throughout almost the entire story, even towards the end when he finally gets over himself and reveals his "deep, dark secret" to Freddie.
Freddie deserves whatever she gets throughout the story. I would have dumped the hero on his backside and left him there where he deserved.
I guess you can tell that I never really connected with either character. There really wasn't any real chemistry between the hero and heroine, just a bunch of "let's get this over with" sex. Neither of them had very likable personality.
I was also disappointed with the story. Towards the end, the author attempts to toss in a bit of intrigue, but I felt that it was out of place there, and that it may have worked a bit better if it had been introduced earlier in the story. It was just too little, too late.


Article 5 (Article 5, Bk 1)
Article 5 (Article 5, Bk 1)
Author: Kristen Simmons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Parts of this story were interesting, but overall I found most of it to be confusing and rather pointless. I did read it all the way through, but I found the ending to be very dissatisfying. If you're looking for a better dystopian, try Divergent.


A Babe in Ghostland
A Babe in Ghostland
Author: Lisa Cach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/2/2012


This was a quick read. I'm not quite sure how to categorize it, because it felt kind of like a cross between a ghost- hunters show and a soap opera. At times it was funny, at times it was a bit over the top ghost-hunting paranormal, and then at times it got quite steamy. I think the ending felt a bit too much "Ghostbusters" movie for me, but overall, it was a fun read.


Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Author: Olivia Cunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 9/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I have mixed feelings about this one. I really enjoyed the fantasy of the rockstar falling for a woman in a hotel bar. The scenes involving the band's performances and their life on tour were good. I loved the way the author humanizes the band into a bunch of messy bachelors wanting home-cooked food.
What I didn't really enjoy as much were the book's sex scenes. While the actual content of them would be "steamy" to some, they left me a bit put-off. They felt contrived, and it felt like each one was there because the author was ticking different fetishes off of a master list as she added them to the story. There were several scenes that could have been left out and the book would have been better.
I also was not a big fan of the heroine at all. She was whiny, selfish, and too sleazy. The backstory of her abusive husband did nothing to enhance the story, and it actually made part of the ending feel cheesy. At least the hero was a mostly enjoyable personality.
An entertaining read, but definitely not a keeper for me.


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/9/2011


Hmm... I'll admit that I found this book to be somewhat entertaining, but I don't think I found it to be as "laugh-out-loud" funny as some of the other reviewers did. It definitely isn't a lighthearted book.

What I found was a rather gritty, hard heroine who dishes out her homespun-style justice in interesting ways. The mystery was not that difficult to figure out, but I thought that the story was interesting in the way the events unfolded. I wasn't sure if I really liked Stella or not at the beginning of the book, but there is some good character development, and by the end, I found myself rooting for both her and Chrissy. The author had a way of making the story seem so believable that I felt I was there watching.

I'll read book 2 (A Bad Day for Pretty), because I want to see what that Stella and Chrissy will do next.


Baited Blood (Madison Rose Vampire, Bk 2)
Baited Blood (Madison Rose Vampire, Bk 2)
Author: Sue Ann Jaffarian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/27/2012


After not really caring very much for the first book in this series, I'm really glad that I decided to give the second book a try. I really enjoyed this one!
The relationships between the characters were much better developed in this installment, which is one of the things that I felt was so lacking in the first book. I really like how the tension is building between several key players in the storyline.
I also really grew to like Madison much more in this book. She is truly coming into her own, and showing quite a bit of backbone and a lot of smarts.
Even though I had the culprit figured out early on in the story, I still very much enjoyed watching how the whole book played out. I also liked reading about the vampire politics and relationships.
I will definitely be reading the third book when it comes out, especially since the ending held a bit of an unexpected surprise that really left me wanting the next one.


Banished (Hailey Tarbell, Bk 1)
Banished (Hailey Tarbell, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this. The first few chapters were rather confusing. It took a while to figure out what was happening in the story, but once more details were revealed, I was unable to put it down. There is so much potential for this to turn into an exciting series-I can't wait for the sequel.


Barefoot with a Bodyguard (Barefoot Bay Undercover, Bk 1)
Barefoot with a Bodyguard (Barefoot Bay Undercover, Bk 1)
Author: Roxanne St. Claire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/29/2016


This was just a great feel-good romance, with a touch of suspense added. (Although I use the term "suspense" very loosely.) The characters had terrific chemistry together, and the hero was my favorite part of the story. A terrific blend of tough and vulnerable that really worked. There are a few sexy scenes (not too graphic), but most of the fun comes from the great level of romantic tension built up by the author. I will definitely read the next one in the series, as I thoroughly enjoyed this one.


Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I had a hard time getting into this book. I was actually tempted to put it down for about the first 60 pages. Once the main characters actually began to relate to each other, it did get funnier. There wasn't all that much steaminess, but I did enjoy the way the hero and heroine got on each other's nerves- the dialogue was quite funny. At times I found the story to be confusing because there were just too many characters to keep track of, and the whole bunch of "hybrid shifters" were a bit strange. Not the best book I've read, but it was entertaining.


Bed of Roses (Bride Quartet, Bk 2)
Bed of Roses (Bride Quartet, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 568
Review Date: 4/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this one more than the first one in this series... even though the ending seemed a bit rushed. I also liked how the author hinted at the relationships in the upcoming two books... I can't wait to read the next one about Laurel. I enjoyed the descriptions of all the floral work in this novel.


The Better Part of Darkness (Charlie Madigan, Bk 1)
The Better Part of Darkness (Charlie Madigan, Bk 1)
Author: Kelly Gay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 12/27/2010


Wow! I really loved this book! I felt like I was watching it as it happened, like being on the inside of a good action movie. It had me right from the opening scene, where Charlie is telling her partner Hank to "Get over it" because he ended up getting punched in the nose for something she said, and he's holding napkins from the glove-box to his nose to stop the bleeding.

I found the author's characters to be different but believable, and her urban fantasy world to be incredibly interesting. There was so much variety and descriptiveness that I never got bored with the story. In fact, my family had to wait for dinner because I had such a hard time putting it down!

My one complaint with the book is that the ending doesn't really tie up anything... even the mysteries with Charlie's abilities. I'm glad that I have the sequel in my TBR, because I really want to see where the storyline goes next, and to see whether the author gives any more answers to all the questions she's left me with!


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/4/2012


The author does a good job of bringing you into the story, and you really do feel as if you know these characters by the end of the book. That said, this is a very dark and sad story. Certainly one that should be told, and definitely one that needs to be read, especially by such a privileged youth as ours. We should never forget that these events truly did occur.


Big Girl Panties
Big Girl Panties
Author: Stephanie Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/24/2013
Helpful Score: 5


Ok... I'll admit it. I got this one from the library because I was interested in the fact that the author is Janet Evanovich's niece. I wanted to like it. I did. But after choking down eight downright offensive, badly written chapters, I finally had to call out "Uncle!" and return this dreck to the library for the next unsuspecting victim to check out.
All I can say is yuck, yuck, yuck! Both the hero and the heroine are completely unlikable. The hero is also a total chauvinist with a very negative and selfish attitude.
I'm glad I did not waste a dime of my money on this one.


Bittersweet
Bittersweet
Author: Sarah Ockler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/2/2012


I enjoyed this one, although I think the ending could have been better.
When I first read the synopsis, I didn't know that Hudson would be helping the boy's hockey team at her school learn to skate better. That was one of the more fun parts of the book, and came as a complete surprise to me.
The dynamics between the characters were great. I enjoyed the relationship between Hudson and her best friend Dani. I also really liked the character of Hudson's little brother, Bug. What a cutie! (Although typical of teens- I thought she could have been a lot nicer to him.)
There were some really cute romantic moments in the book too, particularly between Hudson and Josh. Their relationship felt real and not forced, although I would have liked to see their relationship get off the ground a bit more before the end of the book. I also was not very fond of a decision that Hudson makes at the end of the story, which made a lot of her work throughout the story seem like a waste of everyone's time.
And be warned- the descriptions of her cupcakes at the beginning of each chapter will make you hungry! I wish the author would have included a few recipes for those!


1 to 20 of 210 - Page: