MarchiaLuigi - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
All I Know About Animal Behavior I Learned in Loehman's Dressing Room
Review Date: 8/28/2006


I love Erma's sense of humor. Even though the book is older, her material is still funny and relevant. The world of humor is sadder because of her absence.


Babylon's Ark: The Incredible Wartime Rescue of the Baghdad Zoo
Review Date: 7/18/2009


I loved this book! It really is an incredible wartime story of the bravery, initiative, and dedication of one man to try and save the abandoned animals at the Baghdad zoo after the invasion of Iraq in 2003. Lawrence Anthony is a man of courage and his intense devotion to animals comes through in this story. I couldnt put it down.


Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Author: Jennifer Lauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 8/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent, but heartbreaking memoir. I couldn't put it down.


The Botox Diaries
The Botox Diaries
Author: Lynn Schnurnberger, Janice Kaplan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/5/2006


Laugh out loud funny in parts. A good read overall.


The Boy Who Went Away
The Boy Who Went Away
Author: Eli Gottlieb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I liked this book. It was narrated by Denny, whose older brother suffers from autism. The story takes place over a summer and we learn, from Dennys point of view, what it is like to live with an autistic sibling, a mother obsessed with that sibling and a father who drinks to hide his unhappiness. The author takes dark subjects, alcoholism and autism, and puts the reader in Dennys head so that we can see his world as it relates to his dysfunctional family.


The Cellist of Sarajevo
The Cellist of Sarajevo
Author: Steven Galloway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/6/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I was really moved by this book. Being an American, I take my freedom for granted; war is something that happens far away. 9/11 was as close as I have ever come to experiencing the fear and dread that accompanies war. This story takes the reader inside Sarajevo and makes war come alive through three main characters stories, four if you include the cellist. But his story, although woven throughout the book, doesnt take center stage; instead, it is a backdrop for Kenan, Arrow and Dragans stories.
Favorite passage: She realizes that for no particular reason she stumbled into the core of what it is to be human. Its a rare gift to understand that your life is wondrous, and that it wont last forever.


Crazy Ladies
Crazy Ladies
Author: Michael Lee West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 9/3/2006


A very good read!


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 8/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fascinating story, rich in history and suspense. It is a little slow in the beginning, but it picks up after the first few chapters. Since I am from Pittsburgh, it was interesting to me to learn about the origins of the ferris wheel.


Eva Moves the Furniture
Eva Moves the Furniture
Author: Margot Livesey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 7/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first book by Margot Livesey that I read and I really enjoyed it.


Healthy Homestyle Cooking : 200 of Your Favorite Family Recipes-With a Fraction of the Fat
Review Date: 8/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Nice selection of recipes.


Hidden
Hidden
Author: Paul Jaskunas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/20/2007


"Hidden provides both the racing pulse pleasure of a thriller and the quieter deep waters of character driven fiction." This is from the Washington Post Book World. I agree with their assessment of this book. It slowly builds to an ending, which may or may not satisfy some, but the journey was enlightening.


Into the Beautiful North
Into the Beautiful North
Author: Luis Alberto Urrea
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The main character, Nayeli, embarks on a journey to the United States to find The Magnificent Seven, to bring them back to Tres Camerones for protection and to help repopulate the town. Along with her on her journey are Yolo, Vampi, & Tacho. Tia Irma stayed behind and kept the home fires burning. What follows is a tale, at times funny and at times heartbreaking, of the quartets quest to find Nayelis father and the seven men they were convinced could save their town.
The story grew on me and about halfway through, I couldnt put it down.


The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
Author: Tiffany Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book was good from start to finish. Truly isn't your typical heroine and I think that is why I was drawn to her story. Larger than average, but with normal dreams and aspirations, Truly went through life expecting nothing and getting nothing, until she took her destiny into her own hands. The author's way with words made the story believable, from the magical parts to the unexpected parts to the surprise ending. Favorite passage: The reason that the two of us were as opposite as sewage and spring water, was that pretty can't exist without ugly.


A Long Way Down
A Long Way Down
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 10/13/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Nick Hornby has used a unique and sometimes humorous approach to a dark subject, suicide. The four main characters, J.J., Jess, Maureen and Martin share a death wish and as the story unfolds, you will see they share so much more. It could have been a dark, somber book, but instead Nick Hornby's writing style and presentation of the story in the first person make this a great read!


Mudbound
Mudbound
Author: Hillary Jordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderfully told story! The words flowed off the pages with such ease and I was drawn into the story so quickly. Having said that, I don't mean to say that the story was a happy one, just a well told one. Henry, Laura, Jamie, Ronsel, Hap, Florence and Pappy, are all characters whose lives are intertwined in rural Mississippi at a farm called Mudbound. It is the Deep South in the 1940s and racism abounds, setting up a tragic chain of events.
Favorite passage: God never gives us a task without giving us the means to see it through.


My Family and Other Animals
My Family and Other Animals
Author: Gerald Durrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I really enjoyed this book. It is a delightful story of the author's early years spent on the island of Corfu. His stories about his family and all the animals/insects on the island will keep you laughing and wanting to read more of his books.


The Piano Teacher
The Piano Teacher
Author: Janice Y. K. Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 3/3/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I started out reading the book and then switched to listening to the audio version on my MP3 player. I found when I was reading the book it seemed stilted and awkward. It seemed like the author glossed over certain parts and just assumed the reader was following her thought processes. The audio version did make the words and conversations seem more relevant, but did little to bring the characters to life, especially Claire. I never got a real sense of who Claire was and felt she was not suited to the privilege of being the title character. This was really Trudys story. And maybe even Lockets story, yet we hardly knew Locket at all. Will was easier to understand, except for his relationship with Claire. He said she was like a blank slate, but that doesnt explain it to me. In my opinion, the author missed the mark on this one.
Favorite quote: She reads about Beethoven, Chinese rice farming, biographies of English prime ministers, and finds comfort in the fact that she will never run out of books.


Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 838
Review Date: 2/25/2007


Quick easy read.


Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 10/28/2006


I was fascinated with Patricia Cornwell's take on this famous unsolved mystery. The amount of research she did was staggering. I would reccommend this if you are at all interested in the Jack the Ripper crime spree.


Promises & Prayers for Teachers
Promises & Prayers for Teachers
Author: none given
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/2/2006


Nice gift for a new teacher.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: