Sleepy26177 - Reviews

1 to 20 of 219 - Page:
18 Seconds
18 Seconds
Author: George D. Shuman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A bit disappointing as I expected much more then a sometimes confusing plot. In the end everything ran together but I missed the excitement. I found the ability to look into the last 18 seconds of a murdered person intriguing plot wise but it doesn't really focus on the ability itself or the ability to solve the crimes. As an introduction to a series, the second book Last breath has just been published in Aug. last year, I would have expected a better introduction of the main character Sherry Moore, which played more a featured part in the novel. Few of the elements felt original to me.


30 Days of Night
30 Days of Night
Author: Tim Lebbon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


They have lived in the shawods.
They are the last of their kind and now their time has come.

Barrow, Alaska.
Preparing for the yearly 30 days of night most town residents left the town while around 120 people stay back to keep the town running or just enjoy one month without sunlight.
Some will survive while others surrender to death. The 30 days of hiding, crawling through the snow, freezing, starvation and fear have begun and there is only one person whose insticts might be able to save the last survivors until sunrise.

Finally someone wrote a book about the real nature of the vampire as a blood sucking monster. There is no mercy and who gets caught dies.

Scary, entertaining, Tim Lebon.


The 7th Victim (Karen Vail, Bk 1)
The 7th Victim (Karen Vail, Bk 1)
Author: Alan Jacobson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/5/2009


FBI Special Agent Karen Vail works the case of the Dead Eyes killer, who's on a killing spree performing grotesque killings on young brunettes. Despite her troubled private life, her divorce from an abusive husband, her worries about her son Jonathan and an old and sick mother, she doesn't seem to make any progress in finding the killer without evidence that might lead to his identity.
By accident she learns that the woman who raised her is not her biological mother she confronts her today high positioned mother with her identity only to learn a few hours later that she was the killers 7th target and "Dead Eyes" seems to be interested in Karen as well.

Desperately searching for the connection between herself, her dead mother and the killer she needs to uncover her past that seems to be buried in the mind of her aunt who raised her. Only thing is, she's got Alzheimer's.
Karen's journey into the past leads her towards the killer but nothing she could ever have imagined is about to reveal.

-

Despite all the positive reviews about The 7th Victim I found myself in a more critical spot. At times I bored myself through the book hoping to find the excitement on the next page. Sometimes the author made the cut due to on the cover mentioned 7 year study in the profiling unit but sometimes it just didn't sound reasonable to me or just common sense to come to the same conclusion as the profiler did.

The book has certain chapters about the killer and his past but ultimately they gave me nothing and I couldn't find the purpose of those except maybe as page filler.

I hated the ending which one might imagine quite interesting (especially considering the 7 year research the author did) but ultimately fell flat and predictable.

One might argue if real life studies might have influenced the ending but when writing fiction it doesn't mean the ending has to be unspectacular.


Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody Mcfadyen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/9/2009


FBI special agent Smoky Barrett celebrates her best friends wedding day when the ceremony is concluded by a woman dumped out of a car in front of the church. She was tortured and looks like her skin hasn't seen the sunlight in a very long time.

The victim is identified as homicide detective Heather Hollister who vanished years earlier. Her husband just recently had her declared dead and received a huge insurance payment.
Meeting the husband Smoky and friend and colleague Alan find his wife and one of his sons killed. Eventually the husband admits to have met a man on the internet who offered him a way out of a bad marriage by having his wife vanish and receiving half the insurance money after seven years. When the husband declined the payment heater was released.

Because Heather isn't the first case across the U.S. it seems that someone offers husbands a way out of bad marriages by kidnapping the wives and keeping them locked away for years.

The case gets very personal when the kidnapper recognizes Smoky's internet trap and kidnaps her and young computer expert Leo.

-

Cody McFadyen is one of my favorite writers. His different approach to serial killers, who are almost always out of the box in what they do to their victims, usually gets to me right in the beginning.
Unfortunately with this one my expectations were already high after I received the latest newsletter from the author's website. The plot sounded delicious but couldn't keep up with the promises that were made. It almost wasn't dark enough.

However, without thinking about the newsletter Abandoned is a nice addition to the series. It doesn't top the first two novels but still is a frightening tale.


Adrenaline
Adrenaline
Author: John Benedict
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/30/2008


Coming from a medical field myself I especially enjoy reading medical thrillers which do require a bit of a medical background which is why I enjoyed reading the book. As it comes to the story itself it could have been much better.

Doug Landry and his friend Mike Carlucci work at Mercy Hospital. They both are employed as anesthesiologist when Mike suffered a terrible loss in the operating room. Doubting himself he's taking all the guilt to himself until Doug has a similar experience in the OR.
Meanwhile news are, that Pinnacle Anesthesia wants to take over the anaestehsia department through direct contracting with the hospital for a fixed fee. They are known for employing questionable, low salary, non board-certified staff. So rumors are that if Pinnacle takes over the department the staff will be diminished.

When more strange occurrences happen Mike discovers a reason what might going on and his knowledge is killing him besides one of the nurses that accidentally discovered someone slipping outside the OR while it was unused.

All on his own Doug has to pt the pieces together to unravel what had happened to his friend and himself. Fighting for himself, his reputation and the lives of patients he finally lies in front the killer, paralyzed by a poisoned coffee.

Besides this there is a lot of private stuff going on in Doug's life. Not at all important to the plots story seeming to be invented to give a thin book a few more pages.


Alcatraz: The True End of the Line
Alcatraz: The True End of the Line
Author: Darwin E. Coon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I sort of stumbled over this book through my last visit of Alcatraz. Mr. Coon was signing his book and I thought it might be a nice addition to my other books.
First of all, it's a very thin book of 144 pages and it doesn't tell much about Coon's experiences on Alcatraz. It's focus is more on why he got there and how easy it was back then to rob a bank.
144 pages are read in no time so when I got a signed copy I read it in two hours. The book isn't boring but it isn't written well either. People looking for new information's about the life on Alcatraz won't find much except maybe a few pages about the inmates pets.

Coon himself doesn't seem to be a likeable person to me. Throughout the book he always tried to sort of justify his crimes through blaming his childhood which in the end wasn't too bad. When I gave him my book for a signature he didn't say anything except that he wrote in his name, his Alcatraz number and when and how long he's been an inmate. So either he isn't the person he says he's become after he was set free or he's just sick of people asking questions about his former life. Whatever it is, I'm not really interested to know that.

The writing style is an easy one without much fuss. Interesting and a nice addition to an Alcatraz book collection as long as you don't expect too much info's about the island itself. It's just a repetition of already known occurrences and facts. Coon's experiences on Alcatraz seem to be limited as he covers maybe 30 pages about his imprisonment.


American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 3/29/2009
Helpful Score: 3


American Wife is based on the life and decisions of Laura Bush, First Lady of the United States. If loosely based or not is to be discussed by persons that are interested in the Bushs' autobiography.
The book most definitely has its up and downs and surely at times gets downright boring.
Especially disappointing to me was that the life in the White House and the presidency fell way too short and were stuffed with unnecessary information.
The middle part of the book was the best one to me but I didn't find myself caring for the characters which has nothing to do with the whole world knowing the Bushs' but the missing personality in the characters.
What I found beautifully captured are Charlie Blackwell's (George W. Bush) missteps in language. :-)

The questions that I'm asking myself is, the book obviously is not a biography, it is fiction but feels like a biography. As for the fiction part there just isn't enough to go with except that the author is very in favor of the female character.


The Amityville Horror
The Amityville Horror
Author: Jay Anson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 11/23/2008


On the evening of 13th of November 1974 Ronald DeFeo Jr. killed his parents and 4 siblings in their home in Amityville, Long Island, NY, claiming later, during trial, that voices in his head urged him to kill the family.
Little more then a year later Kathleen and George Lutz bought the house and moved in with their three children.
From day one strange things seem to occur: it always seems to be chilly in the house. The characters of the occupants seem to change, especially in George and the boys nature, who begin to fight each other. The little girl has an imaginary friend who's a pig named Jodie, disgusting smells, a crucifix hanging upside down, doors, windows and drawers opening and closing by themselves and apparitions. A hidden room which walls are painted red is found in the basement and the Lutzes claimed it smelled like blood.

There also is a connection to Father Frank Mancuso who blessed the house and instantly has bad feelings about the house. He later in the story seems to fall ill as soon as he tries to help the family.

After 28 days and the final "horrific" night the Lutzes abandon their home to flea to Kathy's mother and never returned to their estate.

-

True or not, their have been a lot of voices stating their opinion of the story being a hoax but also a lot of voices, "acclaimed" mediums like f. e. the Warrens to be true.
The authors claimed everything has been told like George Lutz told him but but in interviews many years later he admitted that certain events portrayed in the books aren't factual.
In 2005 his than stepson, Christopher Quaratino, gave an interesting interview to the Seattle Times talking abut what really happened when he was 7 year old boy. He's pointing his finger to George Lutz being interested in the occult and having brought what happened to himself and the family. He also claims, a lot of what Lutz claimed isn't true. He's not denying paranormal occurrences but clearly sees his former stepfather as the instigator.

It is said that the family really left the house head over heels but what they left was little more then cheap stuff which lets room for the educated guess that there was a shortage of money. The Lutzes paid half of the house and myself as the mystery reader already sees a good solution to moneytrouble: Buy a house where someone has been killed in and make the best out of whatever you can do with it.
The family that bought the house later lived there for many years without supernatural occurrences and debunked a few of George Lutz's claims.

-

The first few chapters I was about to give up on the book but then found myself eager to read on and compare the book to the different movies. True or not, I found the book very entertaining and also the included research I did about the house and ultimately about the DeFeo case.


Anatomy of Fear
Anatomy of Fear
Author: Jonathan Santlofer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/4/2008


What made this book very original and revitalizing was the usage of self drawn pictures by Jonathan Santlofer. The writer didn't describe the crime scenes. He drew them in an excellent but not too graphic way. He lets Nate add to the face every now and then and the reader is automatically drawn to his way of drawing. Shades and lines forming a subjects face until it is finished. I thought the idea to include such pictures in a mystery novel is impeccable gorgeous.
The story itself has it flaws, isn't perfect but I didn't really care. I already decided to read the next Nate Rodriguez novel which will be published in May, 2008.

What Jonathan Santlofer has to say about Nate Rodriguez:
"Next it will be spring and I will have a new book out, THE MURDER NOTEBOOK. It's the second Nate Rodriguez book. When I wrote ANATOMY OF FEAR I wasn't sure I would write another, but there was more to say about Nate. Now I'm thinking there could be many Nate books. He's a man who cares about humanity, and he leads me into unexpected places."

There's more to come. :-)


Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


In this second novel starring Ellie Hatcher our heroine just finished her jump into the homicide bureau, two month after the incidents of Dead Connection, clearly feeling the disapproval of her colleagues and boss who feel like she made a career jump she didn't deserve after just five years as a cop.
Still having her brother as a roomer they take on a running routine in the morning when they stumble over a fresh corpse propped against a pile of pipes, with strangulation marks around the neck, the hair hacked off and deep stabwounds on body and face, resembling the outlines of a tic-tac-toe game.

Together with her new partner, J. J. Rogan, Ellie soon finds out who the victim is, where she was and with whom. The case seems to be solved when evidence nails a Jake Myers as the last person seen with her in public.

Ellie asks herself if solving the case wasn't too easy when she answers a call from a man who's daughter has been killed years ago. The case around Chelsea Hart reminded him so much of his own daughter that he felt he had to tell this to the investigating detectives. He tells Ellie that detective Flynn McIlroy, who died in Dead Connection mentioned a few years ago that he found cases similar to his daughters case and asked him questions.

With the seed planted Ellie begins to investigate what McIlroy investigated years ago and finds cases strangely similar to the current Chelsea Hart case. Her suspect in custody is way to young to be the possible killer of these old cases.

Someone killed three girls years ago and now was triggered to do the same again and soon in becomes very clear that Ellie is the addressee and the ultimate victim for a psychopath just awaken from hibernation.

-

What I liked in Dead Connection got lost a bit in this second novel: the character development of Ellie Hatcher. She still is ambitious and smart but ultimately we didn't learn much more of her or her life but that's probably because of the short timeframe which has just passed since Ellie lost McIlroy in the first book.

The idea of the young, smart detective getting into the killer's focus isn't exactly knew to the mystery reader and the plot development is similar to the first book.
Who the killer actually is caught me of guard for the second time but that won't happen the next time. So Mrs. Burke definitely has to come up with something new in her next book otherwise it gets really boring.

However, overall the book was entertaining and finely written.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 2/19/2008


After such a long time finally there is another court novel by Grisham. Basically the story is about the town Bowmore, where people are warned to drink the local water. Where clean water is trucked in to replace the colored, stinky and obviously life threatening water. A town where cancer is almost in every family and where the cancer rate is 15% higher than the national average.

Wes and Mary Grace Payton are lawyers and so far, the only once that sued the Krane Chemical Corporation for 30 years of relieving cancer causing chemicals into Bowmores ground. They give everything, their live savings, their house, their office in those five years it took them to get a verdict.
So in the case Janet Barker vs. Krane Chemical Corp. the jury decides against Chemical Corp in all points:

Guilty for causing the death by Chad and Pete Barker, Janet's son and husband. Liability $500.000 for Chad and $2.500.000 for Pete.
Guilty for the intentional imposition of punitive damages. Liability $38.000.000

Of course there is an appeal and Carl Trudeau, millionaire and owner of the Krane Corp. hires a suspicious firm that promises to find a good candidate for the upcoming judicial elections to replace the most liberal Judge in Mississippi's Supreme Court. Until then a decision in Krane's case isn't expected anyway. Krane pays for these services and a young, clean, ambitious and most of all conservative lawyer is found in Ron Fisk, husband and father to three children. They build him up. They collect the money for his campaign. The money comes from the big business. Companies like Krane Chemical Corporation, churches and private people.
Ron speaks for families, about the death penalty and that sexual predators and killers aren't executed, he's pro gun possession and against gay marriage.
After what seems for Ron to be an easy campaign he is elected and takes his place in the Supreme Court. Mississippis Supreme Court holds 9 people. Five of them protect corporate wrongdoers by limiting their liability and verdicts are reversed one after another.

When it is time to decide about the Krane Corp. Appeal Ron experiences his own tragic family disaster after his son got hit by a baseball that leaves him with a fractured scull and likely permanent damage to the brain. He experienced how those people whose verdicts were reversed by him must have felt when their loved once got hurt or even died.

-

A long, depressing read that kept me thinking all the time. It isn't fast paced but there is no necessity to that. The mills of justice grind slowly. So the reader is dragged into the tragedy of Bowmore and corporate behavior and the inability to vouch for their liabilities. In a world of money there is no such thing like responsibility. There is only the question how to get out of the mess with the least damage.
It was shocking to even read about settlement plans for Bowmores aggrieved party where the loss or illness of a child is worth much less than adults because they have no record of earning power. That young fathers are worth more because of the loss of future wages. Negotiations about still alive people, how long each would live, how much they will suffer, likelihood of survival and death. It was distressing to read about that.

It is also distressing to read about the ways money is risen and used to mislead the voters. The whole process of half-truths, statements taken out of contexts just to make a point for the own campaign is disgusting.

Of course the book is based on fiction but it has a lot of truth and at times like these, where Americans are about to elect their new president, it is even more something each and very voter out there wholeheartedly should consider.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 360
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Kyle McAvoy is a young, intelligent lad with all the right values inherited by his father and his small-town law office in Pennsylvania. Since early childhood he'd been dreaming of becoming a lawyer, taking his father as an example. His decision to become a community lawyer earning less money but doing good for the less fortunate has long been made and he can't wait to start as soon as he's made it through the bar. After that the same doors already open for him, will still be open.
His plans however are smashed into 1000 pieces when he is threatened to be exposed as being present at a crime scene where a young girl was raped while unconscious.
Five years ago Kyle was like many other students: he drank, he participated in parties and he had girls who were willing. The video unfortunately places him in the same room like three others and a girl. While Kyle and a friend were heavily drunk and placed and passed out in front of the TV, two other friends had some fun with a girl know as being an easy girl. When she passed out they raped her.
Now Kyle has to decide to do as he is told or endanger his whole future and decide about his friends future as well.

An alias, Bennie Wright, wants him to accept a job offer with one of the biggest law firms in the U.S., Scully and Pershing whose client Trylon Aeronauticts fights with another leading company over a multi billion dollar contract with the Air Force.
With all the technology and secrets involved, the case is handled as the biggest and highest valued case in the history and so is its protection.
While Kyle has to work himself into the trust of the litigation partners from the bottom up, the pressure on him is held by Wright. Fearing for his life when one of the two rapists is found dead with a bullet in his head Kyle knows his live is as much in danger as his dead friends life was.
Opportuniy and a way out of his misery opens when due to arguments a few of the litigation partners and associates seperate from the firm and Kyle is assigned to the Trylon case.

-

John Grisham's new thriller is just as good as his other legal thrillers except that the idea doesn't feel new to the reader. The story, the whole plotline about espionage, has already been written one way or the other by many other well known writers and probably by Grisham himself in The Firm. (I haven't read The Firm.)
However, the book is nicely written and conclusive. At some points I thought it could have been more racy or exciting but overall it kept me reading.
The ending unfortunately was uneventful and a huge bore. It leaves the reader with too much questions.


Bag of Bones
Bag of Bones
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 808
Review Date: 7/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I haven't read a King since Dreamcatcher has been published in German language in 2002.
I found a loooong ghost story which didn't leave me alone. In King's way it was a long and very descriptive plot.
We're back in Derry, the place where It, Insomnia and Dreamcatcher took place, we have a writer like in The Dark Half, The Shining or The Tommyknockers but still, Bag of Bones is nothing King has ever written before.

All allround a story that fits the friend of ghost stories. It feels a bit stretched at times but also wouldn't feel right without the stretching.


The Bell Witch : An American Haunting
The Bell Witch : An American Haunting
Author: Brent Monahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/17/2008


The Bell Witch is a tale that allegedly happened in 1817/1818. The family Bell tormented by an evil spirit causing noises, pushing, slapping and cursing the family, especially John Bell, the father, and his daughter Betsy, eventually causing John Bell's death.

The way it is with tales over time things get messed up, a lot is added or worsened and so it seems exactly that happened with the Bell Witt Haunting.
There were several reasons why I couldn't finish the book:
First and foremost it couldn't keep up my interest. Although the author tried to stay factual it pretty much stayed too factual without creating the necessary atmosphere for the reader.
The things he writes about sound all too fictitious and it is hard to really be believed.

In the end the book feels like a tale - fairy that is.


Between the Lines
Between the Lines
Author: Jodi Picoult, Samantha van Leer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/10/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I expected so much more but what I got read itself like a book written by a 12 year-old for 12 year-olds. I'd want my child to read something more substancial.

The story itself is as flat and one dimensional as the fairytale the main character is reading.

I truly believe this book would have never been published if it weren't for the mother's name (Picoult) printed on it.

I gave up half way through it.


Black Out
Black Out
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 12/12/2008


Annie was born under the name Ophelia March but now lives under her new name Annie Power. She knows about the reasons why she is wearing this new identity completely different from the live she lived before but she does not remember the details that linger in her subconscious mind only waiting for the right moment to resurface. For Annie, her family and her new life to survive she has to remember and ultimately reconnect with the girl Ophelia.

Her nemesis Marlowe Geary, the first person she fell in love with, is a gruesome killer and Annie watched him kill women. She's almost lost her mind and is his will-less puppet when she is rescued by her now husband Gray who once was paid by her father to find her.

Now Annie finds and sees disturbing clues from her past. The ultimate clue for her is a necklace she finds on the beach. The other half is hidden in a little box under her bed. Marlowe once gave it to her with the words that she belongs to him and one day he would come and get her back so that they can live together again. He'd leave the necklace in her sight for her to find.
Annie knows her existence has to die - again and that is what she does. Leaving her husband and daughter behind she faces her fear to find Marlowe and end her suffering when things turn around and Annie finds herself in a much bigger, manipulative picture.

-

I found myself not really caring for the book. The author pieces together the story, making constantly time jumps to reveal Annie's past. Nothing wrong with that but I found it annoying and too much at times. Once a chapter got interesting it was left to jump back to the past which annoyed and sort of confused me quite a bit.
I liked the crossing of reality and fiction in Annie's mind. Given a little thought about it it makes sense that Annie partly experiences things that aren't there but I figure not everyone has an existing medical background to understand how the mind works through traumatic experiences. I would have liked an introduction to that in the beginning of the book. It seems this is a major complaint of reviewers on Amazon.

However, there is a lot that could have been better, more thought through but the plot is a fine one and I give credit for that and a bit of thinking outside of the box.


Blasphemy (Wyman Ford, Bk 2)
Blasphemy (Wyman Ford, Bk 2)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 5/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Isabella is the most powerful machine ever built. She's so powerful , that when turned on the lights in Las Vegas sligthly dim, she's a secon-generation superconducting supercollider particle accelerator. She's the one to prove the Big Bang and it's energy levels, she's there to explore exotic ideas for generating power.

When Isabella has her first test-run on 100% of power scientists are puzzled about a greeting-message. Someone must have broken into the system and hid a malware program in to 40 billion project. But who and why ?
The scientists become more quizzed when Isabella answers with intelligence. When she responses to dorect questions with an direct, specific answer. Who are they talking to ? And is it possible that Isabella is who he claims to be ? Namely being God.

Things soon get out of control when Russ Eddy eavesdrop a talk between two of the non scientist members of the small Isabella team. Pastor Eddy fears Isabella is the beginning to the Armageddon and the leading scientist Gregory North Hazelius is the Antichrist. He sends out 2000 emails to 2000 Christians and releases a chain reaction of unexpected extent. The Christians arrive at the underground "hive" to ambush the project and the scientists. Lead by a maniac and heavy armed they don't stop for a single soul. Who doesnt belong to them simply dies.

-

I am not too impressed by the book. Mainly there is no main character. Or there is one but a very one-dimensional one. The idea of a machine talking as a higher intelligence isn't exactly new so I always thought I knew what is going to happen and wasn't a bit surprised when exactly happened what happened. It cleary lacks of consistence and is poor in execution.


Blind Rage (Bernadette Saint Clare, Bk 2)
Blind Rage (Bernadette Saint Clare, Bk 2)
Author: Terri Persons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/25/2008


In this second novel featuring FBI Agent Bernadette Saint Clare and Assistant Special Agent in Charge Garcia, the investigators are determined to solve the death of six young, troubled girls who presumably killed themselves through drowning. When the seventh girl is found drowned in her bathtub and filled with Lithium prescribed by her psychiatrist they feel the drownings that have occurred lately can't be a coincidence.

A vague description of the possible killer and the few leads they are following end in a blind alley with their subjects hiding behind their lawyers without any real reason.
There is young, handsome professor Wakefielder giving literature classes and seems to take advantage of his female students.
The psychiatrist Luke VanHalder isn't helpful either with not releasing the involved girls files.
Bernadette gets hunches of all of them but can't quite figure out more due to her sight. The pressure on Bernadette and Garcia rises when professor Wakefielder calls to let them know that one of his students is missing and Bernadette's sight tells her that the killer has already captured his next victim. They don't know yet the depth of the cobweb and all it's angles they are sitting in but will soon discover nothing is as it seems and past and present are ultimately connected together and shocking.

Bernadette's connection to this killer is intense and when he cuts himself with a razor she discovers the depth of her connection with her own blood dripping from her face. Facing the killer could mean to shoot herself if she tries to shoot him in self defense.

-

Bernadette's character doesn't seem to have developed much more compared to the first novel but plotwise the author certainly did. It was interesting that the crimes weren't exactly solved due to Bernadette's sight but more to her combination of the facts. She seems a bit brisk and certainly would have been more successful in her investigations without threatening each and every subject on her list.
A great addition and not at all a surprise is her dead college, Ruben Creed, who helped during her investigations.

Exciting and a good read !


Blind Sight (Bernadette St. Clare, Bk 3)
Blind Sight (Bernadette St. Clare, Bk 3)
Author: Terri Persons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/1/2009


The corpse of a young, runaway girl is found by a deer hunter. Lydia Dunton was the daughter of U. S. senator Magnus Dunton, her pregnant womb was sliced open to remove the baby she carried and on her forehead the killer left an inverted pentagram.
Bernadette Saint Clare and her supervisor and partner Anthony Garcia are pressured to solve the case asap and get the smallest victim back alive but where to begin ?

When evidence is tampered with, a suspect is killed and a whole town keeps silent about a possible satanic cult or a witches coven the investigators have to find other ways. One leads Bernadette to an old case that happened many years before in a town not far away and a town where Lydia Dunton was shortly before she was killed.
Recovering Lydia's backpack and using Bernadette's special ability, the investigators are able to bring a little light into the case, a light that puts her own parents into the spotlight.

-
Blind Sight is the third novel in a series featuring Bernadette Saint Clare and Anthony Garcia and as the two previous novels, Blind Spot and Blind Rage it keeps what it promises. Like before Bernadette's sight is mostly irrelevant but gives her hunches and the killer's surroundings that come in handy. With a not too overpowering romantic relationship deepening in this novel it offers the typical whodunit FBI procedure with very likeable characters and and introduction to a new character I got the feeling we will meet again.


Blind Spot (Bernadette Saint Clare, Bk 1)
Blind Spot (Bernadette Saint Clare, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Persons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Terri Persons introduces a new character to the mystery genre:
Special Agent Bernadette St. Clare, to most co-workers uncomfortable. With her two different colored eyes she's got an ability that makes people around her uncomfortable.
Often her ability to see through a killer's eyes helped her to solve high-profile cases but also there were times where she was totally wrong with her sights. Her ability drains her, her sight is often cloudy and flimsy and almost always leaves her with the killer's emotions - good or evil.
She's got the huge package of seeing her own twin sister's death in an car accident on her shoulders. She saw her die through the drunken drivers eyes who caused the accident.
After her husband hanged himself after 13 years of marriage she pretty much kept to herself and now, once again, got transferred to another town:

Cut off hands are found on the sandy shores of the Mississippi river. Not far away the rest of the dead bodies is found, neatly tied up with a fisherman's knot. It soon is discovered that the bodies were alive when the right hands where chopped off and thrown away.

Bernadette and her new friendly, but vary of her abilities, new boss Tony Garcia are working the case and Bernadette directly tries to sense something about the murderer. She sees him reaching with his hands to a sick women in a hospital bed. Her first lead brings her to the local hospital but it is the right lead ? Can she trust what she saw ? Is the killer a doctor, a male nurse ?

And then there is August, her new neighbor from above, who seems to know so much about her and the affections between them seem to be so much deeper than the usual one night stands Bernadette had for a while.

Meanwhile the killer gets a new "assignment" and is on his verge to his next victim but killing this men seems to be the biggest mistake he's ever done.

-

At first I thought I had, once again, grabbed a book with an agent with special abilities but there is something unique about the way Bernadette's and Garcia's relationship and their characters develop during the book.
From the beginning there seems to be a bit of a curiosity on both sites which is also overshadowed by disbelieve in the others trust. Terri Persons introduced Bernadette in a way like you've met her on the streets and you're getting to know her and her flaws which makes her and Tony Garcia very well memorable characters. Actually they both have a funny way to talk to each other which gave the book the notch to be so good. Not only because they are the *beeping* FBI. ;-)

The ending was plausible and so much surprising and suspenseful ! Finally Bernadette discovers who August is and meets her co-worker agent Creed ... . :-)

The second book in this new, inspiring novel is going to be published under the name Blind Rage on May, 20th. Enjoy !


1 to 20 of 219 - Page: