Michelle P. (plattfamily) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 38 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A cute fun and funny read. A little romance and a lot of mystery, lots of fun! Well written and witty.


After Midnight (Lords of Midnight, Bk 1)
After Midnight (Lords of Midnight, Bk 1)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 381
Review Date: 3/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book it was a fun and exciting read. It reminded me of Bewitching Season by Marissa Doyal. So if you enjoy this one you will enjoy that as well!


Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 10/10/2010


A mom review: The Immortals series is definitely a teen read. And can not be put in the same literary class as Twilight. And though none of the books contain sex it contains heavy reference to the main characters pursuits of it. I would allow my teen to read this before the Vampire Academy or House of night series which though better written contain sex in every book to include sex with adults/teachers.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3515
Review Date: 3/12/2009


I loved this book and the whole series! I couldn't put it down, I read the whole series in less than a week. It is a classic in the making. As a parent I also apprecited how moral it was since it is for young adults. The series is backed by sound morals and family values that are lacking in many YA books. Meyer promotes close family units, no drug use, safe driving, no sex before marriage, etc... Though there is sex in the last book it takes place after Belle and Edward are married which is more than I can say about many other YA vampire series. In fact it is Edward(the male main character) that encourages the abstinance throughout the series which I beleive is an excelent example for young males... one I would love to find in any boy who would date my daughters. All and all loved the books and would recommend them to anyone. They would make a great Mother/Daughter read.


Bruce Springsteen: In His Own Words ((in Their Own Words))
Bruce Springsteen: In His Own Words ((in Their Own Words))
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/17/2013


This is not an "In Their Own Words" series book. It is an adult book about Sringsteen's life.


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Good things about this book: Great plot... what mom doesn't want to read about another mom fighting crime. Unfortunately the book wasn't all that funny... though I feel like it really tried to be and was getting better at it towards the end. Maybe the next one will be better. Also I usually read paranormal lite-romances and this book had zero romance.


City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments, Bk 2)
City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments, Bk 2)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 10/13/2010


Mom Review: This is a GREAT teen trilogy. It was well written and engaging. Of all the other teen series I have read lately, I have the least reservations handing this one over to my tween/teen. It was a bit gory in the battle scenes but that is to be expected from a fantasy novel. The thing that really impressed me was the romantic elements didn't go further than kissing, in fact it didn't even discuss the desire to go further than that. All without detracting from the romantic relationships between the characters. Thank you Cassandra!


City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 644
Review Date: 10/13/2010


Mom Review: This is a GREAT teen trilogy. It was well written and engaging. Of all the other teen series I have read lately, I have the least reservations handing this one over to my tween/teen. It was a bit gory in the battle scenes but that is to be expected from a fantasy novel. The thing that really impressed me was the romantic elements didn't go further than kissing, in fact it didn't even discuss the desire to go further than that. All without detracting from the romantic relationships between the characters. Thank you Cassandra!


City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 10/13/2010


Mom Review: This is a GREAT teen trilogy. It was well written and engaging. Of all the other teen series I have read lately, I have the least reservations handing this one over to my tween/teen. It was a bit gory in the battle scenes but that is to be expected from a fantasy novel. The thing that really impressed me was the romantic elements didn't go further than kissing, in fact it didn't even discuss the desire to go further than that. All without detracting from the romantic relationships between the characters. Thank you Cassandra!


Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 4/6/2009


Yet again I love Swendson's book! Her characters are just so endearing! It was nice to see that Katie and Owen go some more alone time in this book... though it still a bit frustrating waiting for them to take the next step with this relationship. But I guess that does keep me reading.

On a side note her website (http://www.shannaswendson.com/faq.html) says the publisher won't pick up book 5 unless sales for book 3 and 4 pick-up.... so if you are due to be waiting for along time on this book why not buy it? After reading book 4 I still want more!


Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 10/10/2010


A mom review: The Immortals series is definitely a teen read. And can not be put in the same literary class as Twilight. And though none of the books contain sex it contains heavy reference to the main characters pursuits of it. I would allow my teen to read this before the Vampire Academy or House of night series which though better written contain sex in every book to include sex with adults/teachers.


Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 945
Review Date: 5/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


The Sookie Stackhouse series is one of my all time favorites; but Charline Harris' newest addition to the Sookie Series is not my favorite. Usually Harris is good for some laughs even when battles are on the menu. This book is darker than any of her others and that darkness isn't really relieved in the end. Harris is also not nearly as good as Yasmine Galnorn at describing her torture scene... she says the character is not in a happy place but as a reader I felt removed from the situation rather than terrified for the character. It was not nearly as well written as when Bill was tortured several books ago. Also, Sookie appears to be having selective amnesia about things we have learned in previous books in the series. Like the limit of vampire blood one should consume before it endangers the person of contracting vampirism... something stressed back when she was dating Bill. Though I guess this is explained away by Sookie being at her wits end from all the ordeals she has been through in the past year and a half of her life. The part that is really annoying is all this "stuff" really detracts from the romantic interludes in the book. All and all I didn't feel like the book was AS well written as all the others in the series; it lacked the detail necessary to pull me in like she has before. I will be waiting for #10 issues of this one since as another reviewer said "Sookie will never be the same again", which is kinda sad... I hope she pulls out of her funk enough to get us back to some more "fun" stories. Unfortunately it looks like that may be a year or more since the next title and release date has not been posted. :(


Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 597
Review Date: 3/16/2009


I love the Sookie Stackhouse series... it is in my to be read again and again pile! They are such easy fun reads...and this is my favorite of the series. I am so in the Sookie should hook up with Eric Camp!


Discord's Apple
Discord's Apple
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love Carrie's Kitty series so I picked this book up solely because of the author. But after reading it my reaction is of the "huh, Really?" variety. The premise of the book is good but the character development is lacking and many elements of the story just make me wonder why she put it in there. The biggest example of this is the comic book script the main character is writing. I get there is supposed to be a parallel between the female in the comic plot and the main character but I felt it just detracted from the flow of the story along with anything to do with the comic book's illustrator. Though I suppose the book had as much depth as a comic book, great scenes but just skimming the top of the story. It could have been much better if it was given more depth. That being said the book is completely teen acceptable. I didn't even feel the pull of romantic ties between the main characters enough to care if they ended up together or not in the end.


Don't Hex with Texas (Katie Chandler, Bk 4)
Don't Hex with Texas (Katie Chandler, Bk 4)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I felt like I was attached to high tension wires throughout this book I just couldn't stop turning the pages in the excitement to see if Katie and Owen would get back together. It was yet again a fun and exciting ride with Katie and this time her whole family! It was nice to see how they fit in the picture.

Though the book had a good ending I am still dieing to see what Katie and Owen will get into next... hopefully more of each other...

Unfortunately her website (http://www.shannaswendson.com/faq.html) says the publisher won't pick up book 5 unless sales for book 3 and 4 pick-up.... so if you are due to be waiting for along time on this book why not buy it? After reading book 4 I still want more!


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2871
Review Date: 3/12/2009


I loved this book and the whole series! I couldn't put it down, I read the whole series in less than a week. It is a classic in the making. As a parent I also apprecited how moral it was since it is for young adults. The series is backed by sound morals and family values that are lacking in many YA books. Meyer promotes close family units, no drug use, safe driving, no sex before marriage, etc... Though there is sex in the last book it takes place after Belle and Edward are married which is more than I can say about many other YA vampire series. In fact it is Edward(the male main character) that encourages the abstinance throughout the series which I beleive is an excelent example for young males... one I would love to find in any boy who would date my daughters. All and all loved the books and would recommend them to anyone. They would make a great Mother/Daughter read.


Enchanted, Inc. (Katie Chandler, Bk 1)
Enchanted, Inc. (Katie Chandler, Bk 1)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 3/27/2009


A really cute fun read! I throughly enjoyed it! I also appreciated the originality of the heroine being 100% magic free!


A Girl's Guide to Vampires (Dark Ones, Bk 1)
A Girl's Guide to Vampires (Dark Ones, Bk 1)
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 7/31/2009


After reading both her Ashling Grey and Silver Dragons Novels, I find myself a little disappointed in this series since the others were more fluid and engaging. Though it does occur in the same "world" as those series but you don't find that out until book 2 which really takes off into the vampires side of the story.


Goddess of the Night (Daughters of the Moon, Bk 1)
Goddess of the Night (Daughters of the Moon, Bk 1)
Author: Lynne Ewing
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/31/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Mom Review: A decent teen read about 4 girls with different powers to fight evil. Fairly clean with no more than kissing with little talk of the expectation of more. There was only one spot where the main character was accused of not having enough "sexperience" by another girl but the comment was shot down by the main characters.


Happy Giddy
Happy Giddy
Author: David Kirk
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/18/2010


This book is really cute! My 2yr old loves the googly eyes on the cover!


1 to 20 of 38 - Page: